We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food and the service”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 203 Restaurants in Framingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: No one wants to get lost at sea, but those who have a taste for fun do enjoy long visits in our Natick/Framingham restaurant. Beach yourself in our dining room for seafood, rock the boat in our lounge or reel in some fresh catch in our drive-by takeout window. For the home chef, we sell live lobsters to go.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Love the food and the service”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Legal is a favorite every time we visit the Boston area. They are consistently excellent. No matter what dish you choose you can't go wrong.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    222
    87
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Timer”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

While my boyfriend and I were staying in Framingham, we decided to try out Legal Sea Foods since we enjoy, well, seafood! We reserved online which is highly recommended on a weekend. Once we arrived we were immediately seated and they were ready to take our orders. The servers were very knowledgeable about the foods that were served since my boyfriend suffers from dairy and egg allergies. They were very cooperative and patient with us. The best dish that we ordered was the Blackened Tuna Sashimi. The rest of my dishes, which was the assorted fish, was quite bland and not really full of flavor. It is a very expensive restaurant so if you are expecting to pay 50$$ or higher you can definitely try this place out. Even though the servers were nice the food wasn't really up to par. I am not sure if I would visit here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Legal has gone downhill”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I used to enjoy Legal, but they seem to have cut corners over time. I would consider this a general sentiment about Legal and not just regarding this location.

I used to eat there semi-often but started noticing I would get migraines after eating there, so one day I asked the waitress about some of their ingredients and was informed that they use MSG in their batter, so all of their fried food has MSG in it (presumably causing my headaches). I emailed customer service with some questions and concerns about this, since I don't think of MSG as something that better restaurants use, and they never replied. I went back again last night and the waitress was very helpful at making sure I avoided food with MSG - her service was wonderful. However, last night I was informed that even the rolls have MSG in them!

Aside from their rampant use of preservative laden flavor enhancers, my experience last night was mixed on the food. My $29 entree came out cold (and before the rest of my family's); it was a mixed platter, with some of the fish tasting wonderful (the shrimp and scallops) but the crab cake was bad -- it tasted fishy -- making me believe it was not the freshest of crabmeat. The soup of course, is always wonderful. I'm sad to say that I used to enjoy Legal as a go-to place to get a bowl of chowder and a consistent bite to eat but no longer -- they are officially off of my list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinanicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced seafood restaurant”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went here as a group, the food was okay, the portions very small for the prices charged, and the service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BC-Eagle-70-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder was incredible, Rest was just Average”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The clam chowder was incredible, but the entree with the scallops, shrimp and crab cakes was not very tasty. it was just lukewarm and did not really have a distinct taste. It was one of those OK meals - nothing special just OK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing