We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rock solid seafood”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 204 Restaurants in Framingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: No one wants to get lost at sea, but those who have a taste for fun do enjoy long visits in our Natick/Framingham restaurant. Beach yourself in our dining room for seafood, rock the boat in our lounge or reel in some fresh catch in our drive-by takeout window. For the home chef, we sell live lobsters to go.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“rock solid seafood”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Framingham location is not quite the flagship downtown, but it is solid seafood. I have been at least 30 times in the last ten years. Great chowder, but I really like the the lobster bisque. My preference is the swordfish with jalapeno polenta and onion straws. Mixed grill is sometimes mixed. oysters are always fresh and delightful. reservations should be considered for the dinner hour and weekends, or you may have a bit of a wait.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mondetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    224
    89
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“SCRUMPTIOUS”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Simply a superb seafood dinner! The service was very good and the food was simply delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edieungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seafood Great, Vegetables Good, Coffee Not So Good”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love seafood and I was looking for something different. We chose Legal because it is close by and we were on a time budget.

We were seated promptly and given a choice of tables.

Our order consisted of raw Cotuit oysters (out of Welfleet!), a crab dip appetizer, Fire Grilled Haddock and Blackened Ahi Tuna. The appetizers and fish were perfectly prepared. The steamed vegetables were a tad over cooked, but still very good.

Our waitress was attentive, but not bothersome.

The coffee, however was not very good. If we had time, we would have asked for a fresh pot.

The seafood is excellent, and a bit pricey. We spent $110 with a tip. For two entrees, two appetizers and two soft drinks.

I would go to Legal again, but our favorite in the area is still the Dolphin in Natick. It's just that the parking is not always easy there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 005Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Metrowest”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Service-near perfect
Ambience-near perfect, we sat in the lounge and not the dining room-NCAA on tele, and it wasn't as noisy as some restaurants, perfect lighting so you could read the menu and still feel like you're in a fancy restaurant (been to some where the lighting is dim to create ambience, so much so that you can't read the menu).
Decor-near perfect
Food-perfectly yummy sea food, always fresh, never smelly, always prepared to your liking, portions are large so be prepared to share.
Drinks-deeply varied and wonderful wine list, so take your time when you chose and use their recommendations if you can't decide. They don't steer you wrong.
Very creative cocktails, Signature Sangria is a bit sweet for my taste but many love it, I love that their bar staff are willing to make anything you want and also make suggestions to what might be to your taste.... with a smile
Location-very convenient (near the Natick Mall and Jordans furniture
Timings-open later than many restaurants, great when our IMAX movie at Jordan's got out at 10pm
Prices-about the same as most restaurants in their class, BUT....the food here is way better and so is the service. You don't mind shelling out $80 (w/out tip) for three people when you have a restaurant experience like this. Worth every penny!!
Overall-we couldn't find anything we didn't love and will definitely continue to eat at Legal Sea Food in Framingham.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kavitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A little on the pricey side, but worth it! The atmosphere is interesting and the food can't be beat.

Helpful?
Thank REDSOXFANTASTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing