We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but we will be back”
Review of Red Pepper - CLOSED

Red Pepper
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time but we will be back”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been huge fans of The Sichuan Gourmet in Framingham and though we moved to New Hampshire, we have been driving back 70 miles, just to enjoy their food.
This time we went to the Red Pepper as we heard about it from other foodies and wanted to give it a try. It was mid afternoon, so there was nobody else. We had a royal treatment.
The dan-dan noodles were excellent, though we prefer the thinner noodles at The Sichuan Gourmet (personal preference). The Cumin Flavored Beef with Chili Sauce was outstanding. We had Sauteed Potatoes with Green Pepper, again a delight. It was different, never had it before. Great dish. Diced Fish with pinenuts - hard to find the perfect words for it. Full of flavor, the pinenuts were perfect compliments to the fish. When we learned Chinese cooking we were always told, look for white sauce. That is elegant and can only be used with good quality ingredients. Sure, the fish had white sauce. There was nothing the chef wanted to hide. I also had to have Chow Fun with Beef. Exceptional! We have been savoring the flavors, talking again and again about the different dishes.
The only problem we face: how can we go to both the Red Pepper and to the Sichuan Gourmet when we are in the area? It will be a tough choice every time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zsebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Definitely look like a dive, but the food is excellent.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best around. The food is so good and maybe the best wonton soup I've ever had. Freshly cooked meals to order, but service is quick. Cash only, so come prepared. Plenty of parking. Every meal we've tried has been excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D2andM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As authentic as a Chinese restaurant can be around Boston”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

First of all, even the best Chinese restaurants are just average compared to those you can find in Flushing, New York. But then, if you happen to be around Boston, this is one of your best choices if you do not want to get inside downtown.

I am a Chinese and I always go there with a group of Chinese friends, so this review reflects the opinion of the whole group.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonicwithtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“low on atmosphere but excellent in quality”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I have been going to the Red Pepper since it first opened in 2006. (One of us is native-born Chinese, and cooks Chinese, so we do know something about Chinese food.) The restaurant boasts almost nothing in the way of decor and ambience, but makes up for it all with the quality of the food, which is excellent. The type of cuisine served here comes from the mountainous region of Chongqing (aka Chungking), best known for a mixture of spices called "mala" that gives the food a distinctive spicy heat that is also slightly numbing to the tongue. Of course, there are also many dishes on the menu that are not spicy-hot in this way, but the "mala" offerings are what keep us coming back. Chungking style cuisine seems to be "in" right now, with a lot of restaurants opening up in the greater Boston area; but, after sampling some of the rivals, we still swear by the Red Pepper for range and variety. The wait-staff are friendly, and prices are quite reasonable too. And Chef Zhang-- we love you!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GracefulUnderFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Cuisine - Tremendous Surprise”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Five of us went out for dinner in this very unassuming restaurant. It's located in a strip mall off of Rte 9 in Framingham. Very "unglamorous" inside and out. We entered to see the day's specials listed on a white board - in Chinese only. Clearly, this restaurant appeals to the cognoscenti!

The food is truly a blessing. The menu is varied and offers dishes we have never seen in the US. Everything comes out when it's ready. Delicate and interesting seasoning. The vegetarian noodle dish was a total shocker. What a great dish. The curried lamb dish was a "find". The five of us gave 5 stars to each dish.

Our friends travel to China annually for business and were swooning. They agreed that this is a unique find. Go with a big group so you can try lots of different dishes!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing