We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitchburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howarth House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitchburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My brother and I were attending a wedding nearby and stayed here for 2 nights in the North and South rooms. We both loved it here. The hosts were friendly and welcoming; the rooms were spotless and very comfortable; and the home cooked breakfasts were delicious. If you're coming to this area I would highly recommend staying at this lovely B&B - definitely better than staying at an impersonal hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Howarth House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were visiting Townsend and needed to find a place nearby that we could retire to for a quiet evening. Frankly, it is surprising that such a great choice exists just down the road in Fitchburg. The gorgeous grounds are surprisingly close to downtown, but you wouldn't know it because it is up on a hill near the college. The rooms were spotless and beautiful, the owners especially nice and accommodating and the house has a perfect combination of modern amenities (wireless connection, jet tub, and cable) while retaining it's ivy-covered charm. We will be staying here anytime we have to travel to this area, without even considering another spot. The value of this stay is enhanced by the top notch home cooked breakfast and multiple indoor and outdoor seating areas. Just go, you'll love it. As a side note, the stay includes a friendly dog and cat and a room of fireman related collectibles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in town for an unexpected death in the family. With little time to plan, we stayed at a local hotel. Looking back, it was to our advantage that the hotel could not accommodate us for our entire stay. We remembered reading about Howarth House a year earlier and called to see if they could help us for our last 2 nights in town. We had never stayed at a B&B before, and were a bit reluctant to try it, thinking that it would be uncomfortable staying at a strangers' house. How we wished we had stayed there the entire week! What an amazing home! Brian, Linda, and Tucker (the canine member of the family), felt like old friends as soon as we walked in the door! It was like staying in our dream home! The room was beautifully decorated. The gardens and wooded area surrounding the house made for a peaceful place to relax, complete with a babbling brook! The breakfasts were amazing, with yogurt, fresh fruit, sweet coffee cakes baked by Linda, and a large menu of eggs, pancakes, and French toast with every side dish you can imagine. The blueberry cream cheese cake was delicious. The blueberry pancakes and omelette were perfection! We will never stay any place else again when we are in Fitchburg visiting family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Room, but the others were equally beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina and Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful, private grounds to relax in. It was charming but so comfortable with an amazing breakfast! Everything was perfect and relaxing. The owners are very accommodating and made us feel right at home. We would have enjoyed the outside areas including a pool and several patios if the weather was better.
Definitely be back!



  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful bed and breakfast Howarth House in Fitchburg MA. After reading the stellar reviews on Tripadvisor we were anxious to see what everyone was talking about! We soon found out!
We were met by Brian who immediately showed us around the property. The reviews were right on! It was beautiful! The house was built in 1911 and Brian and Linda have restored it with attention to detail. Our room, The South Guest Room in the back corner of the house was tastefully decorated with unique pieces. Linda really has a knack for interior design! I was so impressed that I took photos of the room to inspire me with my own decorating. The bathroom was newly remodeled with a beautiful tiled jetted tub and heated tile floor which I appreciated on a cold spring morning.
Unfortunately we were only there for one night so we didn't have much opportunity to enjoy the beautiful livingroom. But in the morning Brian had a roaring fire in the fireplace and the fragrance of the logs burning was the first thing I noticed as I walked downstairs for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast....all I can say is INCREDIBLE! We were given quite a choice of options, very unusual for a B and B. It was served to us in a sundrenched porch overlooking their gardens, which I'm sure must be spectacular in the summer! Also in the summer, guest can relax by their pool situated right outside their door. (We'll have to come back!)
Howarth House is a great destination in itself. You don't have to leave; just relax with a good book, take in the ambiance, and indulge in a fabulous gourmet breakfast!
I highly recommend visiting when you want to get away from it al! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My daughter and I spent the February school vacation visiting colleges. After much driving between colleges and information filled sessions, I knew I would want a more homey atmosphere than what we would experience in cookie cutter hotels those first nights. Howarth House exceeded my expectations. I was first struck by the high gloss floors as well as very clean and well kept interior; there was a sense of quiet elegance about each room. We stayed in the South Room. The bed was comfortable and the linens were just the right weight and warmth. We loved the heated floor in the bathroom. Being able to make choices for breakfast was a great way to begin the day. The owners Linda & Brian as well as their dog Tucker helped to make our 2 night stay so pleasant. We need to find another excuse to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a wonderful weekend (Jan. 11-13) at the Howarth House B & B. What a lovely place. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay pleasant & special. Breakfast was plentiful, custom made and delicious. Nice little extra touches as well...homemade baked goods for afternoon snacking & lots of extra toiletries in the bathrooms for guests to use. The dining and living rooms were very comfortable and there was a fireplace as well. Our bedrooms were clean, comfy and very a nice size. The place was wonderful in every way. Linda & Brian were very gracious and even helped us with suggestions for dining options and places to go hiking. Dog friendly too which was wonderful. Even our daughter's dog had a great time! Their dog,Tucker, is a sweet and gentle dog and really friendly. We have stayed at many B & B's and would definitely give it the very highest rating. We hope to go back ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachPit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitchburg
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Leominster
8.3 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gardner
192 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Devens Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Devens Common Center
4.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge New England
9.8 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#2 of 2 in Gardner
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howarth House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howarth House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 81 Ross St, Fitchburg, MA 01420-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Fitchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitchburg
Price Range: $135 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howarth House Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located above Fitchburg State University on Ross Street. It is a minutes walk to campus and a five minute walk to the train station to Boston. Located near museums, theater and other cultural offerings, it also sits at a cross roads to New Hampshire and Vermont. If you like antiquing there is a large circuit of antique shops in an easy driving loop and there are a number of artists shops that have popped up along Main Street near the common. The B&B offers en-suite modern bathrooms with heated tile floors, a jetted tub in the South Room or a two person glassed shower with the North Room which also has a fireplace. The rooms each have individual controlled air conditioning and heating, tea stations, large closets and sitting and work areas. There is a fireplaced living room, fireplaced outbuilding with a pool table and collection of firefighting memorabilia from over 30 years in the fire service, a swimming pool and a number of indoor or outdoor dining and relaxing areas. If you like skiing or hiking we are close to Mount Wachusett Ski area as well as large tracts of conservation land, Cross Country skiing at Saima Park, Kayaking, cycling and other outdoor events. One of the nations oldest and largest cycling events takes place in Fitchburg every July with the Art Longsjo Memorial races. Antique and collectible car owners meet at a local pub just down the street weekly and show off their prized possessions in the good weather. Rates are $155.00 To $175.00 Per night and we offer weekly or extended stay discounts. Check out our menu of breakfast offerings which can be clicked on from our web site. Cheers, Linda and Brian ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing