We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn on the Square - Falmouth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Dorking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inn on the Square - Falmouth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

After a 4 hour drive to Falmouth we arrived at 3.30 and had hoped to be able to go to our room but check-in is at 4pm and our room was still not ready so we had to wander around the town for a while.
Inn on the Square is conveniently located for walking to the town for shops, restaurants and museums and particularly the cycle path with bike rental opposite.
The room was adequately clean and the bed very comfortable.The jacuzzi was welcomed after a 22 mile cycle! The 'fridge was also very handy but noisy.The pool was beautiful and breakfast at Persy's Place was overwhelming for choice and delicious!
As we were in the furthest room from reception area our internet access was not strong and intermittent.

This hotel is pleasant and recommended but slightly overpriced. We were originally going to stay on Saturday night but the price rocketed by $100 to $319 so we changed our plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

Issues sometimes arise that are out of our control which may cause a delay in checking in. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as our restaurant at the Inn on the Square. Other hotel amenities include a newly refurbished swimming pool, a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    190
    159
    64
    49
See reviews for
159
266
41
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late Thursday night and was leaving early for an am ferry to MV. We noticed in the morning that there was significant water damage in the ceilings accompanied by peeling paint. Moreover, the toilet was running and several spider webs. If we did not get in so late, close to midnight, and did not have to be on a 6 am ferry, I would have demanded another room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ibrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

We have strict standard operating procedures for housekeeping at our hotel and we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our property. Please let our front desk know if you are experiencing issues with your guest room so that the issues can be addressed immediately.

The hotel is in an ideal location, close proximity to the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard as well as downtown. Additionally, it is just a few blocks from Falmouth’s Main Street filled with shops and restaurants.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

wilmington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We specifically asked for a 2nd floor room due to reviews on this site about noise.
I did notice when arriving that a crying baby some room away could have easily kept us up all night. Thankfully she slept. Anyway,The room was clean, the tub could use some new grout. The amenities were fine, coffee maker, fridge, The beds were comfy- which is HUGE for me. The location is very good. The staff was polite and friendly. I think depending on what you pay, that is why some people get very upset. We didn't pay a huge sum- so all was well. Had we paid $300- I would not have been happy. It's a $100-$200 a night room imho.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of the many hotel amenities available to all our guests including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, wireless internet through the hotel, and free parking.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We usually stay at a different hotel when we visit Falmouth, but were very pleased with The Inn on the Square. The location is great if you like to walk down town. Its close to all the shops. This is a 3 star hotel so if you need fancy this is not it. We dont need fancy and we happy with are stay. The staff was great, The grounds were pretty and it had the New England feel.
Percy's is attached to the hotel and was a great Breakfast place .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for being our guests at the Inn on the Square and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff, our amenities, and the hotel itself met/exceeded your expectations.

The hotel proximity to the Martha’s Vineyard ferry makes us the ideal choice for your stay in Falmouth. Additionally, we are at the beginning of Falmouth’s popular Main Street, filled with quaint shops and area restaurants

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowman11
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night so we could catch an early ferry to the Vineyard in the monring and it was terrific. Not only was the price fantastic (for the Cape in the month of July), but the staff was super nice and the rooms were VERY clean. I would highly recommend it. Even if you are not traveling to the Vineyard there is plenty to do in Falmouth and the beaches are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that offers some average conveniences but maximum convenience to everything, this is the place for your next stay when visiting Falmouth. The rooms are predictably small hotel, average room size, good sized bathroom and vanity counter, tv, air-conditioning. One highlight is the bed, very comfortable and rejuvenating. I rented a room with a king bed and Jacuzzi in the room. Nice convenience and relaxing after a day sightseeing. A pool, clean and away from the rooms, is well kept. But it is truly the location to downtown Falmouth that's beyond convenient. A bicycle shop just across the street, great coffee shops, historical museums, village green which is quintessential New England, shops, restaurants and less than a mile to Surf Drive Beach and a trolley ride to the Island Queen for a jaunt over to the Vineyard or Woods Hole. Rates tend to spike on the weekend so be flexible and you'll get a better deal. All in all, an acceptable stay with outstanding possibilities nearby.

Room Tip: Get the king room if you can with or without the Jacuzzi. Well worth the slight additional cost if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
307 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nites with 2 children. Rooms were well appointed. Bathroom ceiling had paint chipping off and the same in the main room. Pool area was nice but lots of dirt built up on the sliding glass door tracks. Bathroom was falling apart in the pool area. Front desk staff was friendly as were cleaning staff. Great location but hotel needs more TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
19.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing