We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodations, Reasonable Rates, Excellent Location.”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Four day getaway to the Cape. Inquired previously to several Tripadvisor top rated selections for hotels. We were very pleased with our decision to sellect the "Inn", rather than some of the pricier, and out-of-the-way places higher on the reviews list. Good parking, and located across the street from a great bike rental shop (they have Trek road bikes, not just "grannies"). Shining Sea bike trail (10.6 miles) is located a very short ride behind the hotel.

Stayed in a very spacious one-bedroom suite. Albeit a bit noisy in the AM due to being on the end of the hotel and at the corner / intersection traffic of the main drag and road to the bus terminal. Being early risers, that didn't confound us, but need be taken into consideration for the sleep-in folks.

Overall, a very nice experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackKayPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 660 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had planned to stay on Martha's Vineyard for two days, so decided to spend the night before in Falmouth because of its proximity to the ferry. Inn on the Square's location was perfectly located, being just a couple of blocks from the ferry remote parking lot. A bus got us to Woods Hole in just a few minutes to get on the ferry. (Remote parking was $12 per day or fraction of a day.) Our room at Inn on the Square was large, very comfortable, nicely furnished, had a large, well-appointed bathroom, and a refrigerator. The indoor pool looked really great, but my wife and I didn't use it. Our room, and the hotel, were very clean, and the staff was helpful. Although there was no included breakfast, that was okay as a very nice coffee shop with bakery items was just across the street. Falmouth is a really attractive New England village, with beautiful buildings and is a pleasant place to walk. The Quarter Deck restaurant was only a few blocks walk away from Inn on the Square and had outstanding seafood in a cool atmosphere. Despite our room fronting on Highway 28, I didn't notice a problem with traffic noise at Inn on the Square. Note that traffic was very busy on that road, but the drivers stop to let you cross. Across the street is an excellent art gallery (Osborn and Rugh Gallery), and the two owners (husband and wife) do excellent work. Although it was not right near the water, I could certainly have stayed longer in Falmouth, and feel that Inn on the Square worked perfectly. (There actually isn't a "square" there, so when you come into Falmouth on 28, if you are looking for a square you may go past the hotel, which I did.) It was a very nice experience there, and I definitely recommend Inn on the Square and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had large, heavy cumbersome suitcases, so got a first-floor room to avoid having to lug them up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Memorial weekend and it was a nice hotel for the price. It was less than a mile from town and you can walk to all the shopping and restaurants easily. It was also a five minute walk to the Martha's Vineyard ferry. Across the street was a bike rental place and the bike trail was nearby. The rooms were a little dated but overall comfortable and a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inolan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Convenient to middle of village but not on the major road so it is quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived ahead of the posted checkin time but wanted to use the room to change clothing for a wedding we were attending. They accomodated us quickly. The room is generous in size with very comfortable bedding and one of the largest bathrooms in a hotel. the TV and cable are excellent and there is a free DVD player and free DVD library. The adjoining restaurant has an extensive menu, reasonably priced with unlimited coffee/tea. Although wew did not use it, the availability of an indoor pool is a plus. Inn on the Square in Falmouth is nicer than a chain hotel and reasonably priced for the Cape. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The inn provided excellent and cost-effective accommodation. It is well placed to allow easy travel to Woods Hole and the surrounding towns and coastlines. Falmouth is a very pretty town and in the Spring is filled with blossom and bird song. All the staff were efficient and polite. Taylor in particular was very helpful and provided much local knowledge and advice.

Room Tip: Seek a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I think there was a technical problem when I did check in tonight... Not only we had to wait forever in line, but there was a lot of tension and stress with the manager/clerks...

It seems that Taylor was doing some training for a new employee and she was very rude with her... Leave me some space, get out of my space... Leave me alone, etc.... Not very professional if you want my opinion!!!

Other then this weird welcome from the staff I really enjoy my stay!!!

Very nice comfortable room... Hotel next to parking for ferry... Next to many great restaurants and to a great bike path....

Thanks and I hope the managers will solve their issues ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A pleasant motel with good size rooms (ours had 2 queen beds) and facilities (coffee making, good toiletries, big TV etc.) Breakfast is in a separate restaurant attached. Well-placed for touring the area.
My only complaint is that they could use cleaning materials with a less detergent-smelling odour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granite1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.3 mi away
Admiralty Inn and Suites
Admiralty Inn and Suites
#17 of 20 in Falmouth
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#12 of 20 in Falmouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $87 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing