We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on the road in stinks - literally”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inn on the road in stinks - literally”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Do not stay here, Apart from the fact there is NO BAR the carpet is old and the whole place stinks of some spray they must use to mask the filth of 30 years of complacent neglect. It is time warp central. And when you complain to the desk staff it is as if they know. The stench of the room spray is overpowering, Chintz is one thing, but the smell here is another thing entirely. Also, their web carousel suggests they are near the 'square'. They are close, but actually not that close. The walls are thin, but the smell is something else. If you come to Cape Cod with a dream in your heart, the Inn on the Square will shatter those dreams. Stay away. Btw, IF they invested $100k in new carpets and dumping the room spray they might get somewhere near, but until then, tragic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54Martini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    194
    161
    65
    50
See reviews for
163
271
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Manitoba
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found this jewel easily on our return from Martha's Vineyard. It is close to businesses and restaurants. We found the service to be excellent, room to be nicely decorated, clean, comfortable with a king bed, large bathroom and quiet. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Air conditioner under window was only issue. It worked very well but was noisier than centall air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The fact that the beds are extremely comfortable is completely offset by the paper-thin walls which meant we could hear every word spoken by the person in the adjacent room, and above us, every step, as they walked around the room on a very creaky floor. A good night's sleep ended way too prematurely, as both neighbours rose at 6.30am which signalled the end of our slumber.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redcitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not sure why this hotel is called the 'Inn on the Square' when it's on a busy road, nevertheless it's pretty convenient for the main town and restaurants and just a short walk into town.
The hotel itself is quite attractive from the outside and is split over two accommodation blocks.
My wife and I stayed in the annex, the room was clean and tidy but pretty average. There's a great restaurant just across the road called The Glass Onion, which is well worth a visit.
Five minutes walk to the free shuttle bus to the ferry port.

Room Tip: Any room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed six nights. Good location as just a short walk to main street. Upon arrival we found male receptionist to be rather cold and unforthcoming with information (eg that 2nd floor was really 1st floor, any details re swimming pool and restaurant). However, our room was spacious, comfortable and kept clean at all times during our stay). Our room (at front) did face road that was busy in the morning. Other staff helpful. Coffee making facility plus fridge and microwave. Air-conditioning good. Indoor pool top notch and made frequent use of. Hotel is just a short walk to free shuttle-bus service to Woods Hole, where you can catch the ferry to Marth's Vineyard.
Falmouth is great and hotel a short drive to beach.
Restaurant used for one breakfast as so many choices nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Agree with most of the reviews. Comfortable friendly inn. There is no restaurant in the hotel but small breakfast restaurant next door which serves a wide variety of foods and coffee bar across the street. The rooms are fairly spacious with fridge freezer and microwave. Also a coffee maker. The beds are super comfortable. Good sized bathroom and lots of soft luxe thick towels. Ideally placed for stroll into town or walking biking trails. There are many restaurants in main area to choose from and the three we tried were good quality. Wifi is free in the hotel. Falmouth is a pretty quaint town with a very relaxing atmosphere Better to ask for a room away from the main road which I imagine can get quite noisy at times. This is not a five star hotel but a very comfortable place to stay I. Falmouth and we would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Away from main road and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Falmouth is quaint and beautiful, our choice instead of the busier areas. This hotel was just perfect to go along with that. Easy to access, plenty of parking, friendly staff and amazingly comfortable bedding! It is just minutes from Woods Hole where a shuttle bus takes you to ride the ferry to Martha's Vinyard. You can actually walk to the shuttle bus area and not drive your car and save yourself a $12.00 parking fee. (Wish someone had told us about the fee!). You are only about an hour's drive from here to the farthest point of Cape Cod. Provincetown if you take the freeway. So very convenient and yet peaceful setting!

Room Tip: quieter rooms on second floor, however there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patregan39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
953 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
616 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing