We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on the busy road ?”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Inn on the busy road ?”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not sure why this hotel is called the 'Inn on the Square' when it's on a busy road, nevertheless it's pretty convenient for the main town and restaurants and just a short walk into town.
The hotel itself is quite attractive from the outside and is split over two accommodation blocks.
My wife and I stayed in the annex, the room was clean and tidy but pretty average. There's a great restaurant just across the road called The Glass Onion, which is well worth a visit.
Five minutes walk to the free shuttle bus to the ferry port.

Room Tip: Any room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    194
    161
    65
    50
See reviews for
163
271
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed six nights. Good location as just a short walk to main street. Upon arrival we found male receptionist to be rather cold and unforthcoming with information (eg that 2nd floor was really 1st floor, any details re swimming pool and restaurant). However, our room was spacious, comfortable and kept clean at all times during our stay). Our room (at front) did face road that was busy in the morning. Other staff helpful. Coffee making facility plus fridge and microwave. Air-conditioning good. Indoor pool top notch and made frequent use of. Hotel is just a short walk to free shuttle-bus service to Woods Hole, where you can catch the ferry to Marth's Vineyard.
Falmouth is great and hotel a short drive to beach.
Restaurant used for one breakfast as so many choices nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Agree with most of the reviews. Comfortable friendly inn. There is no restaurant in the hotel but small breakfast restaurant next door which serves a wide variety of foods and coffee bar across the street. The rooms are fairly spacious with fridge freezer and microwave. Also a coffee maker. The beds are super comfortable. Good sized bathroom and lots of soft luxe thick towels. Ideally placed for stroll into town or walking biking trails. There are many restaurants in main area to choose from and the three we tried were good quality. Wifi is free in the hotel. Falmouth is a pretty quaint town with a very relaxing atmosphere Better to ask for a room away from the main road which I imagine can get quite noisy at times. This is not a five star hotel but a very comfortable place to stay I. Falmouth and we would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Away from main road and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Falmouth is quaint and beautiful, our choice instead of the busier areas. This hotel was just perfect to go along with that. Easy to access, plenty of parking, friendly staff and amazingly comfortable bedding! It is just minutes from Woods Hole where a shuttle bus takes you to ride the ferry to Martha's Vinyard. You can actually walk to the shuttle bus area and not drive your car and save yourself a $12.00 parking fee. (Wish someone had told us about the fee!). You are only about an hour's drive from here to the farthest point of Cape Cod. Provincetown if you take the freeway. So very convenient and yet peaceful setting!

Room Tip: quieter rooms on second floor, however there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patregan39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for Labor Day Weekend. It was a good choice because of the proximity to everything nearby. We walked into town and drove to the beach. The room was clean and everything worked. The indoor pool was very nice as was the garden courtyard off the main lobby. The air conditioning was working but was aimed at the bed nearby which was uncomfortable. All in all an average accommodation for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have easy access to the parking lot through the side entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegangof4inNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I think the location is great. You can walk to town and there are a couple of beachs close by. Our room was supposed to have been recently renovated but I don't think they completed the job. The bathroom was new and nice and the bed was comfy but the air conditioner was so noisy it was hard to sleep. On the 2nd day I asked if they had the screensw for our windows so we could open the window at night since the AC was so noisy (I think our windows were the only ones in the hotel without screens). They said the windows were new they were going to check with someone else would let me know right away. After about a half hour I went back down to the front desk and was told it would be tomorrow since the maintenance person had left for the day. That did me no good for a decent sleep that night and why did I have to seek out that information. Why didn't the staff get back to me? Since I asked for the screens at no later than 4pm I feel as though someone decided they would rather leave work on time than make a guest comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wesford
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

WE stayed at the Inn on the square because of a nearby wedding. While the price was high by our standards, it was comparable to other Cape hotels for the same time frame. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with one sink. We stayed two nights because it was required. We had a relaxing weekend and found the hotel to be quiet even though it appeared to be full by the number of cars in the parking lot. This was not our first time staying here and would definitely come back. We ate breakfast at the onsite restaurant and it was reasonably priced and the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opal_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
954 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
617 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing