We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made reservation, arrived at 10pm, no room at the Inn...”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made reservation, arrived at 10pm, no room at the Inn...”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Called from an Amtrack train, made reservation, gave credit card, told arrive any time. Arrived at 10pm, then told "computer mistake", so sorry. Staff called for different hotel, but I had to pay for taxie to get there. The hotel they picked had only one room left, smoking. Taxie took me to still another hotel... after 10pm in a small town, there are no good hotels available... only creepy ones. Next day spent another $25 taxie to get to the MV ferry.

I was told by the hotel that gave me a room, that this happens all the time with Inn on the Square... instead of giving a Martha's Vineyard Island discount... they bump you, with "plumbing problems" etc...or other problems.. Don't consider a reservation, a reservation... especially when arriving later at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggyvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry for the inconvenience surrounding your reservation. I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel manager and apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We were upgrading our computer system which is the reason this issue occurred, and it is certainly not a regular occurrence. Please contact the hotel manager directly on your next visit for a complimentary upgrade in recognition of your inconvenience.

The hotel is in an ideal location, close proximity to the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard as well as downtown. Additionally, it is just a few blocks from Falmouth’s Main Street filled with shops and restaurants.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as the new restaurant at our hotel. In addition to the new restaurant, the Inn on the Square has many amenities that our guests appreciate, including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    198
    161
    66
    51
See reviews for
166
274
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Great hotel overall, however we were at the front of the hotel right my the main road, and there were buses, and trucks flowing through most of the time.

If they had a little more sound proofing in these front rooms i am sure it would make a huge difference....

reception were so helpful, however Persy's restaurant within the hotel was a disgrace on service. just trying to get a refill was if your were asking for gold... - could do a lot better there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefiveyeargang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the noise issues you experienced. If you are noise sensitive and prefer a very quiet room, please let our staff know at the time you make your reservation. We will make an effort to put you in a room that will meet your needs. We hope, however, you found our accommodations pleasing as our rooms are larger than average with high thread count linens, granite vanities in the bathrooms, and a refrigerator, microwave and safe, among other features.

In addition, there are many hotel amenities to take advantage of during your stay including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, and wireless internet through the hotel.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as the new restaurant at our hotel and we apologize for any service issues that you experienced. However, the restaurant employees are not trained by the hotel, nor are they employees of the hotel. Nonetheless, we work closely with Persy’s management to insure that the food quality and service meet our own high standards. Rest assured, we will certainly share your feedback.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Clean, comfortable place with very courteous staff.
Great location. 5 minute walk into town center and many dining options. Very close to Woods Hole as well. Noticed that there was a great bike path right behind the property. One of the town's best breakfast places.

Will definitely come back with kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for being our guests at the Inn on the Square and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff, our amenities, and the hotel itself met/exceeded your expectations.

The hotel proximity to the Martha’s Vineyard ferry makes us the ideal choice for your stay in Falmouth. Additionally, we are at the beginning of Falmouth’s popular Main Street, filled with quaint shops and area restaurants.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as our new restaurant at the Inn on the Square. Other hotel amenities include a newly refurbished swimming pool, a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We read reviews that this inn could be noisy, so we requested a quiet room and was given one in the cottage, not the main inn. The room was very quiet, the toiletries top quality, and the beds/bedding very, very comfortable. We had breakfast at Percy's, which is right in the main building and the breakfast selection and quality was excellent. We will return to this inn when our travels take us back to the cape. Special kudos to the hospitality of manager Brenden.

Btw, we booked via name-your-price at Priceline and feel that we won the lottery by being placed at the inn on the Square.

Room Tip: Manager Brenden will do his best to meet your nee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner,Me.
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at Inn on the Square and had a wonderful time.We had a couple of issues with a bathroom pipe leaking and a bad faucet on the jacuzzi and they were fixed right away.Everyone on staff was very friendly.We would stay here again in a heartbeat.The only change I would make is maybe switch the rooms around or more insulation in the walls to block the sound from the next room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for being our guests at the Inn on the Square and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff, our amenities, and the hotel itself met your expectations.

The hotel proximity to the Martha’s Vineyard ferry makes us the ideal choice for your stay in Falmouth. Additionally, we are at the beginning of Falmouth’s popular Main Street, filled with quaint shops and area restaurants.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as our new restaurant at the Inn on the Square. Other hotel amenities include a newly refurbished swimming pool, a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I guess you get what you pay for! We booked on Priceline for a little weekend getaway and took a chance with a hotel not in the Hyannis/Yarmouth area with our kids. It turned out alright in terms of having enough area restaurants and things to do but the hotel itself was another story.
The location is ideal, it is right near downtown and especially in the summer it is close to the beach. When we arrived, the front desk staff was very nice to get us in a day early. The room itself was very disappointing and nothing like the pictures shown online. The heater in the room was either too hot or too cool. Really no way of regulating it. The furnishings were old (best guess 1990) and not dirty but well past their prime. There was a refrigerator in the room but it didn't work. The indoor corridors were run down as well and not really that clean. Then there was the pool. It was supposedly a heated pool but it was cold. Nothing worse than getting away for a winter weekend in New England looking to relax in an indoor pool and it is cold. Very disappointing! The front desk had nothing to say about it when asked. What was worse is the pool deck was dirty and was not cleaned overnight. The same disgusting food was smeared into the floor for the three days we were there. They have a restaurant called Persey's adjacent the hotel. We ate there for breakfast. It was convenient and decent. I would highly recommend staying in the Hyannis/Yarmouth area if you are going with kids but if you stay in Falmouth do not stay at the Inn on the Square.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtlmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We want to exceed the expectations of all our guests. We apologize if we did not do so in your case.

As you noted, the hotel is in an ideal location, close proximity to the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard as well as downtown. Additionally, it is just a few blocks from Falmouth’s Main Street, filled with shops and restaurants.

We have very rigorous standards for cleaning in our hotel. In the future, if you are not entirely satisfied with your room, please let our front desk know immediately and we will try to relocate you to a different room or find a way to fix any issue you are experiencing such as the problems that you described.

We have brought your issues with the pool to the attention of our Engineering Supervisor. He will be investigating this further. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as the new restaurant at our hotel. In addition to the new restaurant, the Inn on the Square has many amenities that our guests appreciate, including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My wife and I like to stay at hotels with an indoor pool. We decided to stay at the Inn on the Square in Falmouth, MA. On Friday(2/18/2011), we went to use the pool and found that the water temp was in the low seventies and the air temperature was 74 degrees. A number of guests came to use the pool, but said it was too cold. After reading by the pool for a while, we went to the main desk and told the staff person that the pool wasn't as warm as it should be. He said that he would contact the maintenance supervisor. The next day we attempted to use the pool again, hoping that they would have fixed the problem, but the water and air temperature was the same as the day before. I again went to the desk to complain, but nothing was done. That night I wrote an e mail the to hotel manager to explain the problem we had and asked him/her to contact me to confirm receipt of my e mail. It is now five days later and I have had no response from the manager.
We liked Inn, but were not happy with the unresponsiveness of the staff. I you decide to stay at the Inn on the Square in Falmouth and want to use the pool, check before you go to make sure it is heated properly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We want to exceed the expectations of all our guests. We apologize if we did not do so in your case.

We have brought your issues with the pool to the attention of our Engineering Supervisor. He will be investigating this further. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We apologize for the delay in hearing back from our Inn Manager. Customer service is our number one priority.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of our other guest amenities during your stay including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, wireless internet through the hotel and the new restaurant, Persy’s Place.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
18.6 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
979 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
635 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing