We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde
1 review
“First Class Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

This Motel was exceptional in all areas. The Friendly and competent staff were the first introduction to the Motel. This set the scene for the rest of our 10 days stay. The clean comfortable rooms and fluffy towels were kept at a high standard. We highly recommend the Motel. Thank you to Joanne and Holly for making our stay so memorable.

Cheers

Jane and Donald Parkinson
Launceston Tasmania

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
89
162
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Horse Inn. We booked last minute after being turned down by other motels in the area who insisted on more than a one-night stay. The location was convenient to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard and to a good local pizzeria. Front desk staff were friendly and offered discounted ferry tickets and tourist info. The room was decorated in white wicker with a seashore theme and Cape Cod chips (yum). The bathroom had Bath & Body Works products which I love! The air-conditioning was a bit noisy but didn't detract from our stay. The breakfast was light but adequate.

  • Liked — Location to ferry
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

We made last minute plans to visit the cape and the Red horse inn in falmouth was able to fit us in! we were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to the hotel. very cute property. the best part is that its a very short walk to the ferry to martha's vineyard which is a great day trip from falmouth. our room was very clean--we stayed in #5 which was the luxury suite. it had a fireplace and a tub which were nice features during a rainy weekend. the rooms are small but if you're not planning on spending too much time in your room i don't think this is an issue. compared with other hotels in the area i think you get a lot for your money. they are great at the front desk with suggestions and restaurant recommendations! i would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location, clean
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sullivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We should have taken less notice of the glowing reviews of this motel.

As only one previous reviewer had noted this is basically a roadside motel that has been redecorated and the prices increased.

Plus points: The room was clean, welcome was friendly, the location is very convenient for the 'Island Queen' ferry to Martha's Vineyard

Minus points: The hotel is close to a busy and noisy road. If you want to leave windows closed to reduce the road noise the old fashioned AC units create a lot of noise in the room. Curtains in the room have to be kept closed as the room is overlooked from the road so it was quite claustrophobic. The 'award winning' gardens are largely expanses of gravel extending from the parking lot. The breakfast items offered are meant to be consumed either in the room or in 'the barn' - actually a large shed next to the parking lot. The location is far from the town (approx. 1 mile along a dreary commercial strip) so not really practical to walk, and also over 1 mile from beaches.

This would not be a bad place for a convenient overnight stay prior to catching the ferry but is definitely over-hyped on the web site and the suspiciously favorable reviews.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Newton978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happytobeinfalmouth, Owners at Red Horse Inn - Falmouth, responded to this review, June 29, 2008
We would like to thank the reviewers for sharing their thoughts about their stay at our location.

We consistently evaluate the quality of our property and the service we are providing in comparison to the local area when setting our prices. Time and time again we have been told that we should charge more but because of our loyal following we would rather be able to continously welcome them back than extend ourselves to a segment of the market that might be less enthusiastic with what we have to offer. Our guests choose to stay with us year after year because of our great location, friendly service and comitment to continous improvements. Some of these guests have become friends over the years and this is evident in their supportive and gracious reviews on Tripadvisor.

Our location is close to Falmouth Heights Road which is exactly some of the reasons why people choose our hotel. It is the closest hotel to the Island Queen ferry, it is under 1 mile to Falmouth Heights Beach and 1 mile to the Village Green on Main Street in downtown Falmouth. The location of the hotel is ideal for people looking for easy access to and from the Vineyard and for a nice walk to the harbor, beaches and restaurants.

I will agree that the "award winning" flower gardens were not in bloom when you arrived since they were just planted 2 weeks earlier and with the wet weather in May they are not in full bloom yet.

We strive to provide a clean, comfortable place that is welcoming to all who enjoy an independently owned property with owners who make a commitment to helping their guests enjoy all that Falmouth and Cape Cod have to offer.

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and hope that you enjoyed some time in our town. We would love to be able to welcome you back to enjoy the flowers in full bloom and maybe even to take advantage of one of our repeat guest specials.

Our goal is to provide the cleanest rooms and the friendliest service and we will continue to strive to do so. Thank you, Eleacia and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstead NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

An excellent, clean spacious room with friendly & knowledgeable staff. We would highly recommend The Red Horse Inn.

  • Liked — The large clean room!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Blown away! I am not kidding. My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights away from our kids. What we did not expect was a sizable Nor Easter to blow in and catch us off guard. It turned out to be a lot of fun. Our room was very clean and nice. It finally gave us the excuse to sleep in. The staff armed us with flashlights and a nice welcome bucket to survive a power outage if necessary. It turns out that the power went out for a couple of hours, just enough to make us feel like we were roughing it. When we fianally got up there was a great breakfast ready for us. This place was as nice as it sounded when we were researching for our stay. We would love to go back again.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We are a family of 4 that decided to book a long weekend last minute. The motel was able to accomodate us 2 of the 3 requested nights since the Cape Wind could only accomodate us 1 night. We got the AAA discount rate.

Pluses
-Clean comfortable bright large room with refrigerator and welcome pail and shovel w/Cape Cod booklets, chips and waters.
-Wireless internet
-Delicious muffins, pastries, coffee and juices for AM
-Across the street from the Vineyard ferry and reduced prices on ferry
-Family friendly with books/blocks, toy box in barn (including TV, games, plenty of outside seating)

Minus
-no pool

We would definitely stay again! Much nicer than Cape Wind.

  • Liked — clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dolansm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
19.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Inn - Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Inn - Falmouth

Property: Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Address: 28 Falmouth Heights Rd, Falmouth, MA 02540-3673
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Horse Inn - Falmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best of Falmouth. The Red Horse Inn is ideally located on Falmouth Heights Road next to Falmouth Harbor. We are the closest hotel to the Island Queen ferry which makes day trips to Martha's Vineyard a breeze. Falmouth Heights Beach is at the end of our street and wonderful shopping and dining are also a short walk away. Come stay with us for your Cape Cod Vacation. Let us be your hosts on beautiful Cape Cod! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Red Horse Inn - Falmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Red Horse Hotel Falmouth
Red Horse Motel Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing