We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for summer family fun; warm, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great for summer family fun; warm, friendly service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for several days with our two boys (ages 6 and under a year) and had a great amount of fun. The facilities were well-kept and accommodated what looked to be a good number of guests. The beach tends get crowded (so stake your claim on a spot by mid-morning at least), but easy access to lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, towels and beach toys were a big plus. Rentals of kayaks and other watersports equipment was pretty cool, but I personally didn't get to try any of the rentals out.

A seasonal ice cream shop and bar were convenient, as they delivered food to dining areas by the indoor and outdoor pools, as well as on the beach.

The in-house restaurant was of average quality, but was convenient for us as we had two small children. The service was warm and extremely responsive.

The morning breakfast buffet is well put-together, with an omelette and waffle station, pastries (muffins, danishes, croissants), fruits, and hot dishes (eggs, french toast, sausages, bacon), as well as juice and coffee.

Our standard room with two double beds was comfortable (the mattress toppers were great!). It was clean, but you could tell that the building itself was old. Not necessarily a bad thing since the fixtures and furnishings were clean and well-maintained.

The staff certainly went out of their way to be thoughtful and warm, from the front desk (they called our room minutes after check-in to offer us a pack-and-play, which we used) to the cleaners (they cleaned our room well, every single day), to the staff at the beach and pools, and to the restaurant and bar staff.

The indoor and outdoor pools were great. They go as deep as 9 feet. They also had a hot tub for those over 16, and a toddler pool (water just past your ankles), which our baby absolutely loved. The indoor pool was staffed, so they did their best to keep kids cannonballing into the pools. They provided towel service by the indoor pool and by the entrance to the beach. We look forward to staying here again soon, even if the weather turns a little colder, as the indoor pool is great!

Room Tip: Non-oceanfront rooms are quite fine if you don't mind a short walk to the beach. No elevators, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_T_Zarraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    321
    161
    53
    51
See reviews for
397
259
12
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came for a week long conference and were pleasantly surprised. While the accommodations were not luxurious, they were clean, had updated decor and were comfortable for our family of 4. The location was the best part. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and reasonably priced in a lovely room overlooking the ocean. The staff was phenomenal, mainly young college students from abroad who were very friendly and attentive, chatting with my kids about where they were from. The hotel must treat them well as they appeared happy to be here and enjoying their experience in this country. I loved how it was only a few steps to the beach with a very attentive staff ready to set as many chairs and umbrellas as you needed. It was a great beach for a morning walk. The bay made for a gentle swimming beach though no much for body surfing. Their were convenient amenities for jet skiing, wind surfing and paddle boarding. The hotel had bikes for rent but the staff wasn't too knowledgable about how to get to the bike trail. FYI it is a 2.5 mile ride from the hotel on narrow winding roads with some moderate or climbs. This would be fine for experienced adult riders but it would be great to transport them from the hotel to the trail and back again if you could. There is a rental service next to the path but you have to drive to that location. Loved exploring the town of Falmouth from this location. Finally, the sunsets were beautiful. It was unanimous, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4DaytonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was very happy to find this hotel at the last minute. It is on the beach and has all the things needed at a resort and for a reasonable price.

Positives:
- outdoor bar and waitress service on the beach
- Reds: a bar to go to in the evening, great food, great spot for lunch overlooking the ocean (recommend the lobster pizza and the fries)
- Lots to do for water sports (extra cost)
- Breakfast restaurant was GREAT! - great service, excellent fruit, and options. (there is a café in the lobby - we found it more relaxing and cost effective to go to the restaurant)
- indoor and outdoor pool
- Excellent view of the sunset.
- about 15 minutes from Main Street Falmouth
- ice cream parlor on site
- Service was excellent all round with people willing to help at any time.

Things the hotel could work on:
- Several people "reserve" spaces early in the morning on the beach. Once the tide starts to go out - people sit in front of them and block the view of the ocean which the guests got up early to get. To me, this is a guest problem (and rude) and the hotel could help by not allowing people to select where they are sitting and just select for them.
- gift store - very touristy - could benefit more as a "convenience" store with books, magazines, snacks, etc.
- Stayed in section 6 - rooms were not exactly what was in the pictures. However they were clean and acceptable. Room could have used a paint touch up or two.

Would definitely return here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a room in building 5. The room was nice, with mini-fridge, iron and free wi-fi (no safe though). “ocean front view”, however means a view of the very crowded outdoor pool (with the ocean in background). The room was also above the indoor pool and there was sometimes a strong chlorine smell. The beach is nice but also very crowded and there is a weird system to reserve beach chairs in advance without actually having to put your towel on a chair, which we never quite figured out (although we didn’t have a problem getting a chair or umbrella).

There is a pretty good breakfast buffet, but we only found out on the last day that there were 2 different options: full buffet for 18$ or cold buffet for 13$. No one from the restaurant ever bothered to inform us of this. Had I known I would not have had those 2 slices of bacon for an extra 5$. When I mentioned this upon check-out, the person at reception was not even aware that there were different prices for the breakfast. Also, the service at breakfast was very uneven, very good on some days and non-existent on others.

This resort is more of a place for families with kids, I would not recommend it for couples with no kids. FYI, there is a 15$/day resort fee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARK-K6, General Manager at Sea Crest Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Although our guest rooms do not have in-room safes, we do offers safes located at our Front Desk.
The resort fee is charged during the summer months only as it includes beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and daily activities. We are closely evaluating our pricing structure for our breakfast buffet to offer a fair product at a fair cost.

We do hope you will return to stay with us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clark Guinn has been the manager here since new ownership took over and a bunch of renovations happened. This is our family's third or fourth summer coming here for a visit and each year the service is great, the amenities are great, the staff is friendly, it's clean, I could go on and on. But the manager is truly the best part. He remembers the visitors and greets them; speaks with them and does everything he can to make sure their stay is wonderful.

Just today I ran into him on our first day and casually mentioned it was my daughters "half" birthday...chuckling that no one really celebrates that but her. He immediately asked one of his staffers to send some goodies to our room for her. Soon a small dessert arrived on a plate with "Happy Birthday" written on it in chocolate as well as some chips and juices, all on the house. If you want a great vacation in Falmouth on beautiful old silver beach (Sea Crest has a private area on the beach) by a;; means book your stay at Sea Crest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBeckhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Seacrest from Friday 8/16 to Sunday 8/18. Upon check in at 3:15 PM, our reserved room was not available so the front desk associate re-assigned us to a different room which was fine. The room was spacious with a fireplace and large bathroom and was clean except for the 3 spiders making webs in the bathroom. The biggest complaint we have with the room is that the pillows and mattress were terrible. The website boasts "Sealy® Pillow Top Mattresses" but our mattress was rock hard with not even a mattress cover on it/ It definitely was not a pillow top. The King bed had 3 standard sized pillows that were flat as pancakes. The resort was completely booked for the entire weekend as so we were unable to change rooms.

Saturday morning, we enjoyed breakfast at the Oceanview Room. It was high quality food with a large variety and worth the $18/pp as it included all non-alcoholic drinks.

After breakfast we spent the day searching for chairs at the private beach. People were packed in like sardines and there were no chairs to be found. We were offered mats to lay on the sand. One of the biggest draws for us for this report was the fact that it was a private beach with chairs and umbrellas. There were clusters of chairs reserved by towels with no patrons using them. That was a little frustrating, but if I reserved a seat, I would want it to be there when I got back so I can't complain about that part. The annoying part is that they have a completely booked hotel and there aren't enough chairs to accomodate their guests paying over $399/night plus taxes and $15/day resort fee.

The available water sports were wonderful and reasonably priced. My step-daughter loved the paddle-boarding.

We headed off resort for dinner on Saturday night. (Chart Room - Great place for drinks/sunset; food was pretty good, but reservations highly recommended for dinner) We returned well after 1 AM to our same uncomfortable bed. Housekeeping started banging (not knocking, but banging) on our door at 9:00 AM without leaving 1 minute for me to wake up, get out of bed and open the door before he started to enter the room. I was like "can I help you"? and he said they were seeing if the room was occupied as they have no rooms available. I said we are still here and haven't checked out (they should work on automating this process) and would check out at check out time. 35 minutes later, he was back banging down the door.I realize it's summer on Cape Cod, but the fact that housekeeping is making you feel like you need to hurry up and check out doesn't make you feel very welcome or important given how much money we spent for 2 nights. I did mention this to the front desk upon check out. They refunded $15/day resort fee ($30 total) for our inconvenience.

Not sure the hotel is worth the hype. Might be a more pleasurable experience off season, but then again the weather wouldn't be as warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephanieClark630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARK-K6, General Manager at Sea Crest Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are making a concerted effort to increase the outfitting of all of our rooms with the Sealy Pillow Top Mattresses as stated on our website.
It’s difficult to predict how many people are going occupying each room, sometimes it’s a couple and other times families cram as many as 5 people in a room, which effects the chair count as well as how much space we have on the beach. We do however; anticipate buying additional chairs for beach use in the future. We do apologize for your dissatisfaction and hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unbelievable location paired with an amazing staff make for a perfect vacation. Servers are phenomenal and extremely attentive. Matthew Barber in particular made our experience top notch. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbvikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
583 reviews
22.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
246 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
4.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
643 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Beach Hotel

Property: Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Quaker Road, Falmouth, MA 02556-2943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Crest Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Beach Hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Cape Cod. Just 70 miles from Boston, Sea Crest Beach Hotel is perfect for a wedding, reunion, corporate event, or just that perfect Cape Cod vacation, Sea Crest Beach Hotel on Old Sliver Beach will make your time on Cape Cod memorable. Sit by our outdoor saline pool, lie on our pristine, white sand, beach overlooking Buzzards Bay, go windsurfing, swimming, or just relax with a good book. The Sea Crest Beach Hotel is Cape Cod’s finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sea Crest Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Falmouth Ma
Sea Crest Beach Hotel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing