We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back --- summer update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a brief follow up review that we did back on February 15th. We had a couple of unexpected vacation days and saw that the Sea Crest still had a couple of ocean view rooms available so we made reservations for a Saturday and Sunday stay.

As indicated on our initial review we prefer off season stay’s but we were curious as to what the Sea Crest Resort would be like at the peak summer season.

When we pulled into the parking lot we had a moment or two of concern as we could see a large wedding party forming outside the hotel. We have been in hotels where a large wedding party can literally overwhelm the place and end up pushing regular hotel guests out of the restaurant or lounge when these areas are reserved for a private function. This did not happen as they now have Red’s which is a full service restaurant and bar as well as a pool bar and take out restaurant. You can even sit out on the beach and be served drinks and snacks.

There are a couple of features that we enjoyed that were not available back in February.

The indoor pool and fitness center is now complete. Very impressive. The pool was large and appeared to be very clean. As an older person it is very important to get to the gym every day. The exercise room is of health club quality and they have excellent new high tech treadmills.

The other feature was the breakfast buffet. Very good selections and well prepared. If you are an early riser it opens a 7 am and you can have the place practically to yourself.

One thing to be aware of, for regular working class folks like ourselves The Sea Crest Resort at peak season is not a cheap date. We booked at the last minute and didn’t skimp on food and drinks. We also spent a good amount of money on tips because service was excellent and the staff knows how to let you know that they appreciate your business. But as expensive as it was we feel it was worth it. We had a great time.

This is a well-managed resort that is still evolving and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book your room in advance and get the second floor rooms with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPeterMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Perfect hotel for the family! The kids have the ocean, indoor and outdoor pools, daily crafts and activities. For the grown ups, there's a great restaurant, bar, music and beach attendants to serve you drinks, get towels and place your loungers. The room was clean and every member of staff we met were curtious and helpful. Great stay!

Room Tip: You save a lot of money by not having the beach/pool facing rooms but ones to the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I have been going to the Sea Crest Hotel since I was 7 years old (1968). You can't beat the location--and if you're an able-bodied person--and either well-off financially or you scrimp and save your money all year long to get there--it's a paradise!

However, it's become increasingly clear to me over the years--the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in North Falmouth, MA-- is insensitive to its handicapped patrons. My mom who needs the aid of a wheelchair stays in an Oceanside Room--a very expensive ($450+/night and climbing) room. There is not one grab bar in the bath. These rooms are barely big enough for two healthy people--let alone two people and a wheelchair. There is no elevator for the luxury deluxe rooms. There is not one automatic door in the entire hotel for a person in a wheelchair to use. The doors and hallways are incredibly narrow. The boardwalk from the outdoor bar to the Oceanside Rooms is great until you come to a step where the Ocean view rooms meet the Oceanside Rooms--how do you manipulate a wheelchair down a step? I realize that the Sea Crest provides handicapped rooms and an elevator in the main building, but a handicapped person should be able to enjoy a luxury room with that amazing ocean view--just like anyone else. It would be nice to be able to access the beach in a wheelchair as well. Everyday of our stay, her room wasn't cleaned and the beds weren't made until 4PM.

Separate Incident: While exiting the bathroom of the Oceanside Room, the top hinge pin popped out of the door causing the door to lunge forward, hitting my mom just above her eye. Maintenance came quickly to fix it--but the front desk didn't offer a word of concern for her-- (i.e., how is she, is she alright?). I had to suggest filling out an accident report because my mom experienced dizziness and discomfort after the incident. After we submitted the form (around noon time), we expected a call or for someone from the hotel to check on Mom--see how she was doing--nothing. We had to ask for the hotel manager that evening so we could explain to him what happened. He was a very nice man--but he didn't get it. He didn't get why we would want a representative from the hotel to care that a defective door in their hotel hit my mom in the head. He offered us a complimentary breakfast--but we were leaving the hotel the next morning and traditionally have breakfast off site the day we leave. This place has so much potential. My family and I just love Old Silver Beach. It holds so many wonderful memories for us. It would be such a shame if we weren't able to vacation there anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and were attracted by the beachfront location. While pricey, once we got there we were not disappointed. We had a first floor room in the 'courtyard' area with a door that led out to a small patio and was steps to the sandy beach. The beach attendants were great setting up chairs, umbrellas and even getting towels for us. The onsite water sports were a treat for our teens and we never had to leave the beach. Our room was spacious, the bedding was comfortable and clean and there was a small refrigerator and coffeemaker. We ate in Red's the first night and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food....especially the chowder. Overall the beachfront location was just fabulous and we left there feeling we had truly 'escaped' for a few days....and that made it worth the $$$.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dijon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I recently went for a wedding at the Sea Crest and enjoyed the place but it way over priced, Ive stayed at several Ritz's that where less expensive. If you are willing to spend the money there is a nice bar overlooking the beach and you can get served drinks on the beach which is always a plus. I would recommend going on a catamaran ride also.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rayn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent $$$ on two Oceanside rooms. We were only there for one night. We were told that while they could not promise early check-in, they would certainly try to accommodate it, given our short stay and purchase of 2 expensive rooms. Not only did we NOT get early check-in, but we had LATE check-in, 47 minutes past the "guaranteed" time. Both rooms had a musty smell and were not at all what I expected for the high end price tag. We looked forward to sitting on our patio after a long hot day at the beach, but there was a full on wedding taking place right outside our door. We had wedding guests standing a few feet from our window looking in. We wanted to eat at the more formal restaurant, but it was closed for the wedding! When I tried to discuss this with the front desk they were rude. Apparently they routinely double dip by charging guests high fees for rooms with patios and a partial ocean view and then plan big expensive weddings in this same space, so the hotel guest pays to use the same space the wedding is paying to use, the problem is we can't both use the space at the same time, even though we are both paying for it. They argued over the late check in stating the room was cleaned 14 minutes late, but we didn't get notified by the staff that it was ready right away, which apparently was some how our fault. We over paid for what we got and had to deal with rude front guest staff. I will say the beach is great and the beach staff was very friendly and helpful. But still not worth the money............... Oh, and watch out for that $15.00 summer program fee they try to add to your bill and hope you don't notice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARK-K6, General Manager at Sea Crest Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for posting about your recent to stay at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel. Please accept my apologies that your expectations were not met, from start to finish. I’m pleased that you found the beach staff to be friendly; I agree that we have a great bunch of young adults working out there who are focused on guest service and helping our guests.

We were a bit challenged on the day of your arrival with getting rooms completed by our 4PM check in time; when I last checked at the desk at 4:15, I was informed that all guests waiting for their rooms were notified that their rooms were ready and that these few guests would receive complimentary breakfast. My apologies if you did not receive the coupons for breakfast.

I’m sorry that the wedding event that took place, and was booked for over a year, impacted your last minute stay experience. We are in the business to provide wonderful experiences to our guests, including wedding guests, and while the bride and groom had a terrific event, you clearly didn’t.

We do charge a $15 per room per night summer program fee, which is explained at the point of reservation and on the confirmation letters that we send out via email. This fee is used to help defray costs associated with the beach staff assistance, wireless internet, fitness classes, and special programming. I see that we did remove the fee from your account per your request at checkout.

I would love for you to return to give us another opportunity to serve you and demonstrate our willingness to provide all guests with great memories.

Sincerely,
Clark Guinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first trip to the cape and did not know where to stay. After researching on the internet I found Sea Crest. The location was great...right on the beach. The staff was excellent ...friendly and helpful! The room was clean and updated ...would recommend the rooms facing the beach,, originally booked the standard room in main building and asked to switch because the room was very dark and kind of creepy. Had no problem switching room and even got a better rate. we would definately return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
22.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
19.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Quaker Road, Falmouth, MA 02556-2943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $127 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Crest Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Beach Hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Cape Cod. Just 70 miles from Boston, Sea Crest Beach Hotel is perfect for a wedding, reunion, corporate event, or just that perfect Cape Cod vacation, Sea Crest Beach Hotel on Old Sliver Beach will make your time on Cape Cod memorable. Sit by our outdoor saline pool, lie on our pristine, white sand, beach overlooking Buzzards Bay, go windsurfing, swimming, or just relax with a good book. The Sea Crest Beach Hotel is Cape Cod’s finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sea Crest Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Falmouth Ma
Sea Crest Beach Hotel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing