We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Crest Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

It has been many years since we last visited the Sea Crest. My first trip to the hotel was way back in the early 1970”s. At the time it was owned by the Boston Celtics coach Red Auerbach and a gentleman by the name of Steve Hill. As I recall Steve was also the onsite manager who was a professional entertainer himself and well known in the area for bringing in top flight entertainment. It wasn’t luxurious back then but clean and well maintained, sort of an oddly shaped motel with several sections sitting on Old Silver beach. The staff was friendly and when you went into the lobby there was a large bulletin board loaded with photographs of the guests, staff, hotel activities as well as numerous local celebrities. It was fun back then. It was as we used to say “a cool and happening kind of place”.

In just a few years the ownership and management changed but we continued to go back and especially enjoyed the off season. Unfortunately as the years progressed we could see a slow but steady decline. By the mid 1990’s (our last visit till now) it was very disappointing. Despite the beautiful location, the lack of up keep and the disillusioned and sometimes rude staff no longer made this a desirable destination for us. Later and when we discovered Trip advisor I would periodically check the Sea Crest reviews and read story after story of guests experiencing much of the same.

Now this seems to have changed. The number of positive reviews has increased dramatically so we decided to find out for ourselves.

We made reservations for the Valentine’s weekend and signed up for their package deal which included dinner and breakfast. In addition, much to our surprise, there was a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we got to our room. The room itself was very nice. It was on the second floor in building #4 which provided us with a full ocean view and our own private balcony.

Check in was easy and welcoming. The lobby is very impressive and we could see that there have been extensive renovations throughout the hotel. Keep in mind that there is still a good deal of construction going on as they renovate the indoor pool and fitness center. This should be completed before the summer season so the hotel will once again have those options to offer.

After we settled into our room we decided to go back to the main building and try out Reds Restaurant and Lounge. We found Reds to be stylish but also warm and friendly with a definite Pub like feel. As this was the second Saturday of February there were just a few guests staying at the hotel and we found ourselves alone at the bar chatting with the bar tender and several of the staff who came over to greet us and talk about the resort. We had great time.

After we went back to our room to rest up we came back about 7 PM to the main dining room for our evening dinner. We were seated right next to the glass walled widow overlooking the beach which was illuminated by spotlights and added a nice touch to the charming atmosphere. The food was very good but the service was outstanding. You might have thought you were at some posh five star hotel in Boston or New York. After dinner we decided to turn in for the night. It had been a long day for us and we are early risers. The beds were very comfortable and we both got a good night’s sleep. We had breakfast at Reds the next morning which was well prepared and included several refills of coffee.

To sum it all up --- we had a great time. Our impression was that everyone starting with reservations all the way to our Sunday morning check out went out of their way to let us know how much they appreciated our business and that they want us to come back. In our honest opinion, The Sea Crest Beach Hotel is once again that cool and happening kind of place.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RPeterMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    282
    143
    49
    45
See reviews for
357
230
12
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Mass
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I typically like to write a review immediately after our stay but it has been about 5 months since we stayed here for a wedding. I had stayed here once before prior to their renovation and let me just say that the renovation came out great. Lobby, room and hallways were spotless and even though this is a beachfront hotel there was not a spec of sand anywhere inside the hotel. The location is awesome with a very nice beach and beachfront bar. The outdoor pool seemed a little old and the water was very cloudy even during the late morning prior to all the lotioned up bathers entering. Getting a towel for the beach was a bit strange as you had to walk inside the indoor pool area and they were very strict with the towels. They would only give me 2 towels even though we had 4 staying in our room. My wife had to leave the beach to go get hers and my daughters. My problem with the service was at the restaurant Reds. During the end of the summer and it being a very busy weekend they were "admittedly" very short staffed and could not sit people at empty tables due to not having enough staff. How could mgt not have the restaurant appropriately staffed during a late August weekend? There were a ton of very upset guests. The hostess told us that we could sit inside the bar at a cocktail table which we did and had a decent meal. Overall a nice weekend though!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklesmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I got stuck in Falmouth due to ferry cancellations to Martha's Vineyard. Based on reviews I chose the Sea Crest at the last minute and got a standard room. The front desk generously moved us to a King without asking. I thought the room was updated,clean and comfortable. Too windy and cold to enjoy the view however. I would recommend this hotel to vacationers and would definitely stay here again if the occasion happened again.

Room Tip: We were in room 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We loved it so much we are coming back, but this time with more people!

I am hoping that some of the recommendations I've made in the past have been taken care of (high latches and better security on the doors). Can't wait to see the new renovations!

We can't wait for our vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie41077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel, located right on old Silver Beach in N. Falmouth,Ma was recently renovated and is beyond fantastic. Beautiful rooms, fantastic view, spectacular beach, great food and great service. Their helps really cares about making sure that your stay with them could not be better. It is one of the few hotels, located right on the beach where you get a magnificent sunset over the ocean on the east coast.!. High Recommend! Great place

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean, due west..However, most rooms have a view of the water the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have been to the Seacrest several times. I love the breakfast buffet! There is a scenic view from the dining room. The beach is litterly a step away from the hotel. It is a very nice PRIVATE beach! You can rent a little water trampoline for a few hours! (the trampolines cost extra) The staff is very friendly! I would deffinatly r eccomend the Seacrest hotel!!!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the third floor. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel over the last few years. Each stay was over the Dec/Jan quiet period. First, the good part. You can't beat the hotel's location on the beach. Second, the renovations are showing progress. The rooms used to be dumps. Under the new owner, the rooms are not too bad. My only concern is whether the renovations will hold up over a busy summer season. From what I can see, the renovations were not well supervised. Rooms are newly painted but there are still spots you can see that were not painted. Bathroom faucets are new but not bolted down to the sink firmly. Bathtubs are new but water does not go down fast enough and pools up when you take a shower. By the way, also make sure the TV works in your room, I asked to be moved since the TV did not get a good signal in my first room. A nice big flat screen TV does not do you much good without a good signal.

Still not completed is the indoor gym and pool. You can use the facility in a Holiday Inn around 15 minutes drive away for free. Definitely an inconvenience. Front desk support is a friendly but a little inconsistent. A pet peeve is that they said they had a policy of not matching available rates from sites like Hotels.com. I called them up to see if they had a better deal than Hotels.com and they quoted a rate that was higher and said they don't match rates. This does not seem to make good business sense. They want me to book from a third party rather than from them?

I wish this place all the luck in the world. They certainly have a great location. I just don't know whether its worth the hundreds of bucks a night they charge over the summer months to stay here. I paid around $100 a night (low season) without breakfast and thought my rate, with what the facility currently offers, a little high.

Room Tip: Make sure the TV in room works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
21.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
#16 of 22 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
18.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Beach Hotel

Property: Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Quaker Road, Falmouth, MA 02556-2943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Crest Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Beach Hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Cape Cod. Just 70 miles from Boston, Sea Crest Beach Hotel is perfect for a wedding, reunion, corporate event, or just that perfect Cape Cod vacation, Sea Crest Beach Hotel on Old Sliver Beach will make your time on Cape Cod memorable. Sit by our outdoor saline pool, lie on our pristine, white sand, beach overlooking Buzzards Bay, go windsurfing, swimming, or just relax with a good book. The Sea Crest Beach Hotel is Cape Cod’s finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Crest Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Falmouth Ma
Sea Crest Beach Hotel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing