We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place”

Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We tend to stop a lot for ice cream when on vacation and this was one of the best we have ever had. The hot fudge sundae -- WITH HOMEMADE WHIPPED CREAM -- should not be missed. Friendly staff let us sample several flavors and made a great recommendation. There were tables inside and out., and plenty of grass for the kids to run around. This is a not to miss...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CityPlanningProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    25
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In The Top Three”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Three great ice creams on the Cape. Each is a little different that the others: more or less cream, "truer" flavors and more or less variety. Smitty's is just about in the middle for me. Not too much cream, more variety but not as a deep flavor. But all that only counts if you are a true ice cream freak. I you are are "normal freak" you'll love it and they do have wacky flavors for the kids. Like a lot of summer time places, the service can be quite uneven but at least at Smitty's you won't have the long and longer line.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as great as the reviews state”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I thought this ice cream was just okay. I am not sure what everyone else is ordering and may try again next time I am in town but a root beer float was not great, a hot fudge sundae was lacking in the hot fudge and overflowing with the ice cream which I am not a fan of (hot fudge sundaes should not have a few drips of hot fudge on them, they are expensive, be generous). Our kids give you 5 stars as they are not as picky and love any ice cream that they are given. I really was excited to go here after seeing the reviews and was really disappointed since it was quite a hike on the opposite side of town to get there (not a big deal if the experience had been better). One plus despite not the best experience, the staff is super friendly and were out cleaning tables as they were cleared. i loved that!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank heater5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tasty ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

ice cream was very good...although a bit expensive ($8 for 2 dishes). Smitty himself was there serving.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmariemadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best ice cream on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

That's a strong statement to make but year after year, Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream does not disappoint. The coffee oreo is just the best. Plenty of picnic tables for enjoying time outside with family and friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suecitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing