We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utter Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Sound

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn on the Sound
Ranked #3 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Utter Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is amazing and we didn't want to leave after 3 nights! Howard and the entire team provide a beautiful B&B by the sea with everything you could possibly ask for. Hot and cold drinks and gorgeous home-made cakes available all the time. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea with a different hot breakfast each day. We were made very welcome and felt immediately at home. All the staff had local knowledge of the best places to eat and were able to recommend great days out. They even loaned us books and maps for the day. The attention to detail was fantastic and the rooms are spotless and finished perfectly with everything you need thought of. Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tescocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
309
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Inn on the Sound was absolutely spectacular! Not only were we warmly welcomed by Howie (the inn keeper--the nicest!!), but every part of the experience was quaint, cozy and tailored to make us feel special.

From the homemade biscottis (which were the best we have ever had) to Howie helping us rent bikes to the most amazing aesthetically pleasing cottage (the pics on their website do not begin to do it justice), the whole experience was more than what we had been looking for--we just wanted a relaxing weekend getaway. At the end of the weekend, we did not want to leave and have been longing to go back ever since.

We highly recommend Inn on the Sound to anyone looking for rejuvenation--and especially during the slower season before the Cape is booming--it's so restful and peaceful and...well perfect...but that doesn't begin to describe it :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinksquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. Lovely room with water view. Beautiful linens, towels and accessories. They think of everything. Staff was wonderful, attentive and most helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, both in taste and presentation. Hot dish changes daily and some are unusual . Muffins, croissants and breads were yummy. Always coffee, tea and snacks available. Howard is the best host you could ask for. Highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hildaandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What's your ideal B&B? Right on the beach? Incredible breakfasts? Immaculate rooms? Unlimited supplies of everything you could want whether it be drinks, umbrellas, beach chairs or towels? Wonderful host with wonderful advice? It's all here!
In all the years we've been staying at B&B's, we've never seen a cleaner room or cleaner house. Attention to details is the mantra here. Gorgeous fruit arrangements at breakfast. Rotating snacks at night (but always Peppermint Patties available). Even a night light for the bathroom!
Howard, the owner, is there to help you work out plans for the day, providing tips and even coupons. Welcoming conversations and food to die for. A 'typical' breakfast might be a salmon quiche, or a puff-pastry like French toast...plus the buffet with fruits, cereals, yogurts, fresh baked cakes, etc. is there for you as well as wonderful fresh squeezed juices.
Your room's closet contains iron and board, heater for the winter, a beach basket already stocked with fresh beach towels, and yes, robes.
Falmouth is a great destination on the Cape with lots to see and do. We can't think of a better place to call 'home' while you're there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came across the Inn on the Sound by pure luck and we were so glad we did. We were after an overnight getaway to relax for the weekend and managed to get the last room available. Everything exceeded our expectations, from the friendly host to the beautiful views, amazingly comfortable bed and incredible home cooked breakfast. The price is on the upper end of the scale but in my opinion it's worth every cent. Luxury at it's best.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, it's unobstructed and just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Inn on the Sound based the fantastic reviews here on TripAdvisor! We had done ALLOT of research prior and was excited for our stay here. I was thrilled to find that every positive review I read was true!

This was my first time staying at a B&B and loved it! Of course I am aware that many b&b are not up to the Inn on Sound standards.

Like the name implies, the Inn is right on the Sound. The view of the sound is absolutely breathtaking! We had 3 rooms and each one was so special, tastefully decorated and unique. Each room also had a private view of the sound from our rooms. The center of town is only a few minute drive away and Martha's Vineyard ferry is only a 5min drive or 10 min walk away.

Every corner of this b&b is super clean and even though we are almost right on the water nothing smelled mildewy! Everything is absolutely luxurious and fresh which helps since I have severe allergies.

I even loved all the bathroom toiletries and that even the bathmat was wrapped in a pretty brown ribbon. These special touches make a big difference!

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Howard and his team. You can't help but to feel welcomed and just at home! Him and his team are just great! The Inn provides such a tranquil environment.

The food is delicious. Our first night they had fresh baked pound cake with berry sauce and the breakfast was so delicious! They had such a lovely spread of yogurts, granolas, boiled eggs, pastries... they also have a special hot food which was french toast!

The high cost of this b&b is well worth every penny!!! We can't wait for our return visit to the Inn on the Sound!

Thanks Howard and his team for making our our visit wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The peace and tranquility found at Inn on the Sound reminds me of why I return. Tasteful flower arrangements abound in this gem of an inn, and to learn that they were prepared by the Inn’s own Whitney was quite impressive. Her arrangements strategically placed in the Inn abound with color and texture contributing to the elegance of this lovely hideaway. While I have preferred to keep this place a little secret, I am compelled to brag on its consistency. I primarily stay at Inns when traveling local and abroad and have done so at a number of them in the New England area; this is by far the best, hands down. You will feel very pampered.

Whitney is quite an asset assisting with logistics, restaurant suggestions and she is ready to offer alternatives for vegetarians, romantic venues and the like – trust her suggestions. You will find respectful and busy staff contributing to the comfort and pristine atmosphere. Howard has an over-sized map, local maps to take with you and great navigating skills. He will honestly let you know the best time to visit daily excursions. Whitney will suggest beaches, shopping and lovely hideaway cafes. A dynamic duo! Oh, and never skip breakfast! Whitney is in the kitchen and ready to serve you at your convenience. Sleep in; dine inside, outside or in your room. Her cheerful disposition will make you feel warm and welcome no matter your desire.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and a great value. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
11.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Sound

Property: Inn on the Sound
Address: 313 Grand Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique oceanfront bed & breakfast offering 11 well-appointed guest rooms, comfortable common areas, spectacular ocean views and gourmet breakfasts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Sound Hotel Falmouth
Inn On The Sound Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing