We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”
Review of Inn on the Sound

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Sound
Ranked #2 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I recently spent two nights with my friend at this amazing inn in Cape Cod. After reading all the reviews and experiencing it for myself I can truthfully confirm it is exactly what is written. Howard and Janet do an outstanding job of making sure each and every guest leaves feeling pampered and well rested. The rooms are decorated to perfection and the breakfasts are simply to die for (especially the cooked special of the day). We left there feeling most rested, delightfully spoilt and inspired by some of Janet's recipes she generously shared with us to take back to Australia. On the morning of our departure the weather had turned and we were heading by bus to Hyannis to catch the ferry across to Nantucket. Janet reading my apprehension of the whole idea of trying to get there with suitcases in tow in the rain kindly offered to drive us there herself. A very gracious host indeed. Howard also picked us up from the bus stop when we arrived which was gratefully appreciated as well. The hosts and staff of this inn do it in exceptional style, you will leave feeling very well treated indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreams64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 452 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

What more can we say, other than outstanding. We arrived for a three night stay on Monday 26th September and received a very warm welcome from co-owner Howard who kindly helped with our bags and showed us to our room Sippewissett Lake The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a great stay including beach towels.

After a very comfortable night, we met second co-owner Jan at breakfast who was equally helpful and welcoming. The breakfasts each morning were outstanding with plenty on offer. The cooked specialty is a must and if you've room left, try try some of the homemade baking, especially the banana and nut bread - delicious.

As well as being able to help yourself to tea and coffee, there is also a well stocked fridge containing a wide selection of soft drinks and water which guests can help themselves to.

Following each breakfast, we were provided with maps and plenty of ideas/hints on what to do during the day. Jan and Howard could not have been more helpful and their local knowledge invaluable.

The Inn also has a selection of menus for a number of local restaurants for guests to browse.

Overall, we could not have picked a better location to spend our time in Cape Cod and we hope to return soon. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending the Inn on the Sound to other Tripadvisor readers.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Recently booked a weekend at the Inn on the Sound with my girlfriend and it was absolutely amazing. Every little detail of this property is not overlooked and the owners, Jan and Howard, were wonderful hosts.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were greeted by Jan and their dog. Jan was very accommodating and gave us a thorough tour of the property and was extremely helpful in recommending local dining establishments and attractions. We stayed in the Green Room which had a private deck overlooking the ocean which was quite breathtaking. The room itself was beautifully laid out and has a unique New England charm to it. It was very cozy and after a long day of sightseeing, it's a relaxing place to return to. Everything is available to you on the property including use of a refrigerator, wine glasses, bottle openers, ice buckets, mugs, board games, etc. There's a very homely feel to things and Jan was great at making you feel welcome.

They serve breakfast daily from 830-1100 and everything was delicious. Howard, Jan's husband, cooked breakfast both mornings and wow. The first morning we were served potato pancakes and the second morning it was poached eggs over a savory waffle. Very tasty food that was presented excellently. Howard even cooked fried eggs for my girlfriend who does not like poached eggs. They also offer a mini breakfast bar with various fruits and pastries, all delicious.

We could have not been more grateful to the owners and their establishment and we were very sad to leave. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend Inn on the Sound to anyone looking for a great getaway on Cape Cod.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private balcony for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I highly recommend the Inn on the Sound. The Inn is beautifully decorated, pristinely clean and feels comfortable and homey. I had a room on the front of the inn with a sea view and balcony. It was wonderful to wake up, roll over and be able to see the ocean from bed.

Jan and Howard are wonderful innkeepers. They're very sweet and friendly, nice to chat with and provide great information on the area; including beautiful scenic drives and reliable restaurant recommendations. Also, they clearly understand that the devil is in the details. Nothing is overlooked here.

Lastly, the Inn provides delicious, huge breakfasts, which include a hot entree that's beautifully presented.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in Silver Harbor Point, which was a very pretty, comfortable room, but may feel a bit tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This inn will exceed all your expectations. I am huge huge fan. We travel from London to Boston and take the bus from South Station to Falmouth and then on to the Islands.
This was our 3rd stay at the Inn on the Sound, we design our main holiday around 4 days at this most superb of places. Nowhere you stay will ever come as close to this Inn, for the level of hospitality and the immense attention to detail that ensures the standard of cleaniness is so high (its hard to comprehend how Jan and her army of helpers do it ).The delightful buffet breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurts,cakes and muffins are just for starters, so leave room for one of Jan's fab hot entree. Cake and coffee are available during the day and there are lots of little touches that help make your holiday so special . There are beach towels in your room all folded in a neat beach bag just ready for that lazy day on the beach .
We book Fiddlers Cove a large room with natural light and an amazing view from the balcony over the water to Martha's Vineyard and all the delights this little Island holds.
It is a little walk in to Falmouth ( 25mins) but who cares when you return to such a wonderful place to rest and recuperate. Some good dining options in Falmouth, great Lobster roll at the Quarterdeck
The attention to detail makes this Inn stand out . It is in a class of its own.

Helen and John

Room Tip: Fiddlers Cove with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I cannot think of a singe thing that Janet and Howard have forgotten when planning their B&B. The bathrooms are well equipt and the bedrooms modern. The location is right across the road from the water and within easy walking distance to the Island Queen ferry and about a 25 minute walk in to Falmouth town centre. The breakfast is gourmet with fresh fruits, croissants, cereal and the home made dish of the day as well as coffee and home made biscotti available throughout the day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My Mom, sister and I stayed here 2 nights in August during a week's stay on Cape Cod. We used this B&B to sandwich a day trip to Marthas Vineyard. What a mistake. After the fact, we all would rather have skipped the Vineyard and spent more time here.

What does this B&B offer?. Location First, what a delight to be able to walk out the front door and stroll along the beach and cliff looking out over the water. There is a decent restaurant and British pub just along the coast and walking distance if you don't want to use your car. If you want to catch the Island Queen (pedestrian ferrry to the Vineyard) we walked 7 minutes to the landing from the B&B. We stayed in the Oyster Pond Suite (queen and twin), perfect from me, my twin sister and my mom. There was plenty of room, the room was very stylish, very clean and excellently appointed. The bathroom even had lip gloss along with high quality standard bathroom toiletries.

As other reviewers note, the breakfasts are to die for. Since we woke up early to catch the ferry the first morning, we were not able to get the full deal the first morning, but the hosts kindly set out a continental with fantastic home made granola, fruit, yogurt etc.
With respect to advice about what to do etc, the hosts were excellent in recommending drives, directions, activities, restaurants etc.

I have stayed at over 200 B&B's around the world and this is one of best. If you are staying in the Falmouth area, this B&B is pricey, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
657 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
393 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Sound

Address: 313 Grand Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $174 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique oceanfront bed & breakfast offering 11 well-appointed guest rooms, comfortable common areas, spectacular ocean views and gourmet breakfasts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Sound Hotel Falmouth
Inn On The Sound Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing