We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were delighted with the choice of this motel, and enjoyed it more than any other on our tour of New England, because of its perfect location, right on the beach by Falmouth Harbor. Regrettably we only had two nights, but could have spent a week there, relaxing by the ocean. Room 5 was on the ground floor, with a patio right on the beach. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and recently decorated to a good standard. A clock and glasses would have been nice (plastic cups not great for sipping wine!), but all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We checked into this motel for my brothers wedding weekend, the place is on a great spot, however the room was so musty smelling and my son was sitting in the bed and told us there was a bug! we googled the picture and it was exactly what a bed bug is! We then tore apart the bed and found a couple more. We told the office and they swore they were not bed bugs. That night we were so discusted and slept fully clothed and got new blankets (on our own) for our kids to sleep in. The next morning my husband took a shower and found another bug on him! That was it.... we packed up and stayed somewhere else! The office never resolved anything and told us again it was not bed bugs and if it were they would have to fumigate the whole entire place and it would be costly. My guess.......THEY WONT DO IT! beware!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kiwikellbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidesMotel, Owner at Tides Motel of Falmouth, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
My family has owned The Tides Motel since 1968 and has never had an incident with bed bugs. I understand that bed bug infestation has grown to epidemic levels across the country in recent years and we do everything possible to prevent and protect ourselves from such issues. Having said that, knowing how easily bed bugs are spread we would never conduct ourselves in the manor presented by the reviewer. This review is completely fictitious and unfortunately TripAdvisor will not allow us to respond to the review with the truth of what happened. This review is nothing more than an attempt to extort money from our business and we are amazed that TripAdvisor is allowing it to happen. We ask that you look at our reviews from the past years and you can easily see the glaring contrast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Tides Motel and loved it. The motel is very basic but very clean. The cleaning staff was busy cleaning windows, sweeping, etc. the entire time we were there. The location is great. The beach is private but rocky. The public beach is about a half mile up the hill. We enjoyed both. A ferry to Matha's Vinyard is only a half mile away (walk so you don't have to pay $15 to park). The motel is about 2-3 miles from the tourist shops and restaurants. We would definately go back! Two stories, no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjn752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The room is very clean...the view is amazing! Love hearing the sound of the waves! The staff is super friendly and helpful...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We actually were invited to stay by friends.They had found hotel on line,we all are familar with area usually rent a home in heights.Loved the private beach! Rooms are very clean and ground well kept.Maid service very prompt and thorough each day.Only complaint is beds are a bit to hard and pillows not so plush. Quite for sleeping and nice ocean breeze.This is a annual weekend trip for our freinds and family we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 days. What a treat to sleep on the beach (figuritively speaking). Opening the window and slider - we felt safe and at home. Truly the sound of the surf is something you only hear on CDs - but it was real! Our room was beyond clean! Immaculate! The service was friendly and caring. Young couple own and run it and are on premises at all times - and you can tell. The decks and beach are swept every morning. The cleaning staff are polite and sincerely interested in our comforts. View of Martha's Vineyard and the boats leaving the harbor - picture perfect. Wear water shoes - shore is rocky but surprisingly, you get used to it. Once you get in the water and see how clean and clear the water is - it was worth the purchase of the shoes.
ONLY downside is privacy - Easy solution: build 1/2 walls on the patio between rooms and label the room numbers from the beach side (we had a guest poke his head in our screen door and a few young guests liked to walk down the patio peeking in rooms. The 1/2 walls would give the senseof more privacy and discourage peekers.
We hope to make this a tradition and hope to see this one and only improvement we could see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capevacationer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We could walk onto the beach from our backdoor & the off season rate of $120 was great. The kitchinette feature was handy & free WiFi was a nice feature if at bit slow (0.7Mbps). The Island Princess ferry & British Beer Company are an easy walk. However, it's an older property with poor insulation and we could practically hear our neighbors breathing. Avoid room #7 if you can. We were right by the ice machine and the stairway to the second level which made for a noisy location. The sheets were low quality. No shampoo or hair dryer in the bathroom. They provided a ironing board but no iron

Room Tip: avoid room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Property: Tides Motel of Falmouth
Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing