We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, but has shortcomings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tides Motel of Falmouth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location, but has shortcomings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We could walk onto the beach from our backdoor & the off season rate of $120 was great. The kitchinette feature was handy & free WiFi was a nice feature if at bit slow (0.7Mbps). The Island Princess ferry & British Beer Company are an easy walk. However, it's an older property with poor insulation and we could practically hear our neighbors breathing. Avoid room #7 if you can. We were right by the ice machine and the stairway to the second level which made for a noisy location. The sheets were low quality. No shampoo or hair dryer in the bathroom. They provided a ironing board but no iron

Room Tip: avoid room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This motel gets a five rating from me because of the fabulous location and the cleanliness of the rooms. In fact it looked as though the rooms were updated recently. If you were any closer to the water it would be in your room! There is nothing like falling to sleep by hearing the waves hit the beach. Our room had a small refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker and some plates/utensils. Great for breakfasts and lunches. There are no amenities such as an iron (although there is a small board) hair dryer or shampoo, etc. The room rates are VERY reasonable. The view of the water, boats and Martha's Vineyard is such a treat. Only comment about the beach: bring water shoes and beach chairs as the shore is rocky.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at the Tides Motel. Polite, friendly staff greeted us, and helped us find a restaurant to eat at that evening. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The view was beautiful. The price was great!
All in all, a perfect stop-over for our trip back to Canada from Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Na51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This motel is perhaps the most amazing hotel on the whole Cape – the location is unbeatable, you literally walk to the beach and the sea from your room, if you are on the first floor. The magic of the sound of waves is indescribable, and it is so enchanting to fall asleep lulled by it…

The sea water quality is very good yet not the best, since right next to the pier on the side there is quay from Falmouth marina. It provides its own romance and entertainment, though, as it is pleasant to watch the boats. Still the swimming from the motel beach is very good, the water in Falmouth is warmest in the whole Cape, it was about 80 at our stay on Sep 1, 2010. I would advise to wear swimming shoes as the sea bottom has some rocks and shells - it is not entirely sandy.

Tides is so marvelously decorated with flower baskets, and the lawn with flowers and bushes is immaculate. I was amazed at the most courteous and welcoming reception at the front desk – something that is rather seldom met at the Cape as well, as in most places the hospitality leaves a lot to be desired; normally you are looked at suspiciously, since you are a newcomer, and treated rather with cautious indifference. However Tides is operated by the motel’s owners, hence the most pleasant difference.

Everything on this property is squeaky clean – which is a TRUE rarity on the Cape, where in just about every hotel you will find rust, mold, etc; the only comparable place in cleanliness is Midway Motel in Eastham, but that one is not at the sea.

Our room#9 had a kitchenette with stove and coffeemaker (no microwave); it also had a fridge, which in hot weather is so indispensable. If you cook , you are expected to wash your own dishes on departure. The bathroom was also very comfortable and immaculate, although it had a shower only, no bathtub. Naturally, only soap was provided, no additional frills., as it is customary on the Cape. Yet additional pair of towels was on the bath rack, which was a generously nice touch.

Tides Motel seem to cater to rather quiet clientele; there was no sound of loud talking, music, TV, etc., which is fantastic, since you can truly enjoy what you came here for – the music of the sea and the songs of seagulls. It is so delightful to feed these birds, too!

There are a few potential drawbacks, depending on your taste and requirements:

All rooms except for one have two double beds, and only one room #5 has a queen bed. Also, the reading light is right above each bed, lighting the whole room, while it would be less disturbing if it lights more discreetly. In addition, the quality of the linen and blanket is average, which is, “virgin polyester”; unfortunately, it is a problem of the whole Cape – if you want a New-York or European quality bed, you will not get it. Since I live only an hour drive away, I always bring my own down comforter and pillows with me, but for those who can’t these polyester covers could be a disappointment.

There is no air conditioner in any room. We were there when outside temperature was 95 degrees, and yet because of the sea breeze it was very cool in the room. But for those who can’t live without the A/C its absence could be a problem. The motel provides fans and hairdryers at the front desk.

The quiet location also means that there aren’t any restaurants right at the spot; but it is a 2-5 min drive to Falmouth center or just over the hill along Grand Avenue to the next public beach, where there are a few eateries – Bailey’s by the Sea, etc. We have not eaten anywhere but in our sea-front room, since it is the BEST possible view and open-air place.

This place is a gem and a great find on the Cape.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My family and i have stayed here 2 yrs in a row. It is so convient,especially with little kids.You don't have to pack a cooler, and not to mention finding a parking space to go to the beach!! It is a little musty and everything feels damp.They do not have a microwave,or a hairdryer!!! If your looking for a reasonable price and don't want to waste the day packing up stuff,this is a great place!! A little tip? Make sure you drive far enough to go out to eat. Very expensive eateries near the pier.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella22Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We spent a week driving all over the Cape and stayed at the Tides Motel for the last two nights of our trip. It was by far the best place we stayed at. We had an unbelievably clean room that walked right out onto the beach! We slept with the window open listening to the waves both nights. With Martha's Vineyard out the back window and Falmouth Harbor out the front, you can't find a more beautiful place. We will be back there soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamwesthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

rooms are clean, staff is friendly and the sliding glass door opened right out onto the beach. An easy drive to many things in falmouth and plenty of parking. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebbie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.6 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Property: Tides Motel of Falmouth
Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing