We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End to End Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shining Sea Bikeway

Shining Sea Bikeway
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“End to End Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We rode the bikeway from north to south early Saturday morning and then stopped in at Pie In the Sky for breakfast. We rode it back north to our car and notices the southbound bike and walker traffic was much greater than we experienced. The message? Go early! It is a great ride - flat and paved all the way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    104
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a great way to get out and get some needed exercise. Great views of the ocean and a great link between Woods Hole and the cape. Nice stops along the way also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Glorious, fun day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you love to ride bikes, you love fresh air, and you are visiting the Cape try the Shining Sea Bikeway. It's a restored old railway path right along the ocean from Falmouth to Woods Hole. There are places to pull over and have a snack or a picnic lunch, or you can wait until you arrive in Woods Hole and eat at one of the establishments in the town. Just lock up your bike and stroll the streets and art shops. There are lots to park your car in Falmouth and along the bike path in case you do not wish to ride the entire length. At the end of the bike path in Woods Hole you can hop on the ferry and take a ride to Martha's Vineyard as the boat leaves from right there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bike path along the Ocean...YES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a great bike path. Leads you along the ocean and into Woods Hole. Paved and very scenic. You get the fresh ocean air to breath and the sun shine to enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lobstahicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to Cape Cod!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I hired a tandem and rode on the shining bike trail. Most beautiful part of the ride is the trail leading to Woods hole village as the path is by the sea. If you have lesser time to spare, I recommend biking towards Woodshole village end as the trail is more scenic as compared to the path towards the other end ( west falmouth ).

Helpful?
1 Thank Raindrops10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shining Sea Bikeway also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Shining Sea Bikeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing