We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”
Review of Beach Breeze Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Breeze Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
croissy
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We left the BBI with mixed feelings: the house is absolutely charming, delightfully furnished, well kept and looks out onto the sea; we were warmly welcomed by Don, who carried our luggage up to our room, and both he and Walt, the innkeeper gave us a lot of suggestions and local information. Although breakfast is not provided, what may be termed the breakfast room is a pleasant area where coffee and tea are freely available as well as a table where guests can eat breakfast if they decide to bring it in. The town centre with a good choice of restaurants and shops is within walkable distance (about 10 minutes) – but take a torch if you do it after dusk: the street lighting is very "intimate"…
We had found the bed pillows a little "high" and a request for slightly "lower" ones was met immediately and efficiently.
The pool looked very nice, but given that we were only end of May and that, as Don said, it is just heated by Mother Nature, we decided to give it a miss.
So given all these positive aspects, why did we leave with mixed feelings?
The first was that we got the impression, rightly or wrongly, that we had been subject to a "switch sell". Let me explain: we booked in early February for our stay at the end of May and we booked Room 9, based on the photos on the website, the description of the room and the price. The booking confirmation indeed specified Room 9. When we arrived, we were informed that the people occupying Room 9 had decided to extend their stay and therefore we were being "upgraded" to the Vineyard Room. This may well have been an upgrade, although we obviously had no way of comparing the Vineyard Room with the one booked and judging the benefit of this indicated upgrade. We were told that the Vineyard Room had just been redecorated, but that would not in itself, I feel, be sufficient to justify the term of "upgrade". In fact, a check on the website after our return showed that for comparable periods / length of stay, the rates for Room 9 and the Vineyard Room are identical, which would not tend to confirm the upgrade. Contrary to a hotel, where rooms are not substantially different, in an establishment such as the BBI which rightly stresses the characteristics of each room, to be allocated a room which was not the one originally booked instils a sense of disappointment right from the outset. The BBI was not full at the time of our visit, as witnessed by the "Vacancy" sign outside, and if "our" original room could not be provided, perhaps we should have been given a choice of an alternative room, rather than just being told which one we were allocated to. The website specifies very clearly that the BBI adheres strictly to its cancellation policy if guests decide to change their plans. Perhaps the same should apply to the benefit of guests in the reverse situation?
The second reason for our mixed feelings was one that only became apparent during our first night: the bed in our room creaked terribly and any movement by my wife or I was enough to produce a noise sufficient to impact our night's rest. Once again, when we mentioned the problem to Walt the following morning, he reacted sympathetically and said he would see what he could do to solve the problem – but as I suspected, such a problem is not easily resolved and our second night was similar to the first. Whether the creaking was due to the wickerwork bed-head or something else, I do not know, but it was a real bind – and perhaps the bed in the room we had originally booked would have been silent, who knows?
So on balance, despite the lovely house, situation and warm welcome, only an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    49
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
216
198
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My new husband and I stayed in the Nobska Room at the Beach Breeze Inn for our week long honeymoon. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is quintessential New England- cozy, roomy, homey, pretty, beachy, extremely clean... I could go on and on. We were just SO happy there!!! The manager, Walt, was absolutely wonderful. He made delicious coffee every morning and he is so incredibly friendly that we just felt right at home in the kitchen chatting with him. Walt was also a wealth of knowledge about Cape Cod and was more than helpful in telling us what to see, where to go, etc... He also lent us maps, books, umbrellas and anything else we needed. I would go back to Beach Breeze Inn in a heartbeat. It was the best place I've ever stayed at. SO ready to pack my bags again! :)

Room Tip: Nobska Room- 3rd (top) floor, roomy, comfortable bed, ocean view, super cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights here and had a great time. The inn is a short walk from the beach and a slightly longer wander up to the centre of Falmouth to take advantage of all its lovely restaurants and bars. There is a great patio for whiling away an afternoon in the sun and a pool on site (which some of our party did actually use - even though everyone else thought it was too cold - guess that's because we're Brits!)

Walt was a fantastic host, making us feel at home from the minute we arrived. Full of excellent local knowledge, sharing hints and tips for places to visit/eat/drink.

Having visited several "chain" hotels over the past few years on the Cape, we will certainly be booking in at the Beach Breeze again the next time we're in the area - it's nice to have finally found a hotel that embodies all that Cape Cod is about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 year old son & I stayed here only a night ago. Beach Breeze is a lovely Inn! Walt your host makes you feel immediately at home & is a wealth of knowledge on things to see & do in the beautiful Cape Cod area. Finding accommodation with a young child can be difficult but this Inn is very child friendly! Our son made a bee line for the sand pit out front almost immediately. There is a pool & wifi so adults can enjoy some down time too. We stayed in one of the apartments/suites which slept four. It had everything we needed including kitchenette, bath & ample room. The beach is just a 2 minute walk away & Falmouth's gorgeous village centre is only 10 minutes walk. It has a wide variety of restaurants & shops - everything you need for a relaxing time away. We will definitely be returning to Beach Breeze Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Beach Breeze Inn for 3 nights in May. It's ideally situated, just up from the beach, but not far from the centre of Falmouth with all its restaurants. There's a very nice pool - unfortunately it wasn't quite warm enough weather for us to take advantage of that!
The room we had booked was in the throes of being redecorated, so we were invited to stay in another room facing out towards Martha's Vineyard. This was up in the eaves, very nicely appointed, with a decent sized bathroom and good shower. Once we got used to bending our heads around the eaves, it was great! Walt was very helpful, and keen to point out interesting places to visit throughout Cape Cod.
Falmouth is a very pretty little town, and a great place to be based slightly out of season, as you can easily drive to all the other places in Cape Cod, where less inns and restaurants are open. It also has some very good restaurants and bars.
We'd definitely stay here again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms are charming, clean and comfortable. The location is half a block from a popular Falmouth beach but also quite close to the center of Falmouth. When the weather is hot, the breeze (hence the name) makes the Inn and area surrounding very comfortable. The staff is very responsive and friendly - we've mostly spoken with Walt who is a great host. Our twins (aged 8) love it - love the pool, love the beach "supplies", love the room and love sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch. I've been coming to Falmouth for 40 years (yikes) and it is the best Inn I've visited in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Breeze for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in room 4, small but perfect for a couple. The grounds are beautiful, with a short walk to the beach and about a 20 minute walk to the Island Queen Ferry, so you can save the parking fee. Walt and Don are as nice as everyone says! Don recommended the Anejo Mexican restaurant and he was right, it was amazing. Falmouth has everything to offer, many nice restaurants,the Shining Sea Bike path and be sure to take the back road to Woods Hole. The only negative about this Inn would be that they do close down the kitchen so you many leave too early for coffee and tea. My husband thought they should have the small bottles of lotion and refill the tiny shampoo bottle but just bring your own! You can use beach chairs, towels and suntan lotion which is provided. Also great pool and barbecue grill. We will go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
3.2 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
20.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Beach Breeze Inn

Property: Beach Breeze Inn
Address: 321 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Breeze Inn is an 1858 traditional Cape Cod style Inn that has been restored to it's original beauty while adding the modern amenities expected by today's travelers. We are located just 100 yards from the warm waters of Vineyard Sound and feature ocean views in most of our rooms and air conditioning in all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Breeze Hotel Falmouth
Beach Breeze Falmouth
Beach Breeze Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing