We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disgusting!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had booked a long weekend and had to find another place to stay because the place was so filthy.
There was dust on top of the fridge,TV and phone books. There was pubic hairs inside the fridge and in the jaccuzzi. The jets in the jaccuzzi had obviously never been cleaned, and there was hairs in the jaccuzzi. The sheets were stained, and there was hairs on the pillows. One of the kitchen fabric chairs had some dried on slime. The toilet was not clean.
It was late and the receptionist allowed us to cheek another unit, and that one was also not clean. So we ended up having to find another place to stay at 11pm.
The receptionist said the mananger would contact us, and they never did.
Stay Away!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cjs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Hello,

I was disappointed to read this review. Cleanliness is a top priority for Captain's Quarters, we take pride in our housekeeping and apologize for any inconvenience suffered by this guest. The issues mentioned above were never brought to the attention of management, if they were they would have been taken care of immediately.

All of our rooms are inspected twice after cleaning. First by the Executive Housekeeper and then by the General Manager, we would never release a room in that condition. I only wish that the guest followed up with the Resort as opposed to opening a Tripadvisor account and deciding that would be the best forum for their frustration. We would encourage all of our future guests to allow us an opportunity to examine the process that led to their unhappiness.

I have sent a private message to this reviewer in the hopes that we can have a second opportunity to make a positive first impression!

Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at Captain's Quarters, and I think that we enjoy it more each time. To be clear, the facility itself will never be confused with a Four Seasons, and the beach is nothing like one in the Caribbean, but it is clean, the service is great, and the location is hard to beat. My grandaughter loves the pool, the beach right across the street, the grassy area where you can fly a kite, and the many ice cream, mini golf, etc. places within a short drive. My son loved fishing with his friend on a boat located just a mile or so away and using the jacuzzin in the room. My daughter likes the pool, beach, and going to have a few drinks and watching a ball game at the British Beer Works just 2 blocks away. My wife and I like the beautiful Shining Sea bike path that is just a few miles away, the ferry to Martha's Vineyard about 1/2 mile away, as well as going to Cape Cod baseball league games at night. We soon will be booking a week next summer at Captains Quarters.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EandG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
We at Captain's Quarters appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Loved our stay Captain's Quarters. Very clean, quiet rooms with plenty of space. 2nd & 3rd floor rooms have balconies overlooking salt water pool & also unobstructed view of ocean across the street. (Hint: the lower the room number, the closer to ocean.) Having the kitchenette was great. Jacuzzi tub & gas fireplace in master bedroom was heaven. Easy parking on site. Short walk to 2 great restaurants w/live entertainment. Close to downtown, marina, ferry to the islands. You can get anywhere on the Cape from here. Knowledgeable and helpful staff (they even compile a weekly sheet of local events - try Jamaican night with live music on Wednesday!). They go out of their way to accommodate. I highly recommend Captain's Quarters @ Surfside Resort and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nhdancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading 2 of the latest reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. First, the location is fantastic being across the street from the ocean and less than 2 miles from the main street of Falmouth. Room was adequate and clean, housekeeping did a great job. Staff at the front desk were very accommodating and friendly; really could not be more helpful. Everything was very well maintained, lobby, rooms, etc. We would absolutely stay there again :)

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoduck5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We have shared your thoughts with the staff and it is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Cheesy. Motel grade. Not worth the money. Full size bed was HARD, no mattress pad, flat pillows, and the bedding felt like burlap wrapped cardboard. 2 Full bathrooms with no shower pressure and if you are over 5'5 you must kneel to be under the shower head. Sub-standard soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. The "lovely" jacuzzi tub in the bedroom looked fabulous with its marble and mirror surround. The tub jets were intermittent, the water smelled like dirt and the water drained from the tub no matter how hard we tried to stop it. The tub was also extremely loud and not at all relaxing. The gas fireplace was a nice touch as long as you didnt mind the ticking time bomb noise coming from the timer. There was no real climate control as the room varied from hot as hell to freeze your butt off in a matter of hours. The fridge smelled horrific and I refused to put food in it. Bring your binoculars if you plan on watching tv as it is tiny. Plan on hearing every noise from the neighboring rooms and remember, they can hear you too. Even the front desk girl admitted that she didnt like staying there either. We toured 2 other "resorts" owned by these people and they were just as bad. Dont waste your time. The extreme high-pressure sales tactics are ridiculous as well. We would have bought just to travel elsewhere but the sales people were far too pushy and in-your-face. Alas, one can only polish a turd so much and its still a turd.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gailypooh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
I was surprised to read this review. We at the Captain's Quarters take hospitality very seriously. We are proud of our Resort, I have never heard anyone complain about the shower head. It is a standard size shower' I thought the remark about being over 5'5" was humorous but far from the truth. In regards to the linen they were recently upgraded, we provide shampoo conditioner and soap. People that travel often usually bring their own toiletries if they prefer a certain brand, I am sorry it was not agreeable to this particular guest. Climate control is always going to be different for each guest, they have the ability to set the temperature to their desire. If they were having trouble I wish they would have informed our Front Desk and we could have assisted right away. As for the Front Desk agent who said she does not stay at the Resort...I would hope so! I have never heard of a Hotel or Resort that would allow it's employees to stay in the rooms, I had to read it twice to make sure I read it correctly. I guess the bottom line is everyone has different expectations, we STRIVE to make sure everyone enjoys their time with us to the fullest. We have very few reviews on Tripadvisor, for the most part people have enjoyed themselves. I understand this reviewer stayed for their complimentary night and were unhappy with the sales aspect. I do not think it is fair for the reviewer to take out their frustration on the Resort by exagerating their perceived issues to justify their complimentary evening or their issues with the tour program. Our owners and guests are our number one priority, we have a long tenured staff willing to help in any way possible. I would hope that our future guests would look at our whole body of work and not rely on one reviewer when making their decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Gas fireplace did not work, light bulbs out, could hear showers and jacuzzis from nearby rooms loud enough to drown out TV in our room. Kitchenette supplies of poor quality and several items missing. Heat supplied at one end of unit only, so people could not sleep in both bedroom and on sofa bed in living room- Sweltering in bedroom and cold in living room. More motel-like. No winter activities. We feel other local places offer more- both in and off season.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jian9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
I am so sorry you had issues with your stay, I have sent a private message to you and hope you would give us a second chance to make a first impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Just bought into Innseason Resorts program , first time staying at their properties, was a bit skeptical but pleaseantly surprised. Small property, but awesome location right on Falmouth Heights beach. Of course a bit quieter in Sept,probably quite different during summer. Staff were fine, we had no issues so can't comment on prblm resolution. Unit(we were in 705,second floor 2 bdrm) was nice/clean/plenty of space. Stovetop&microwave but no oven, if you plan to cook. Deck looked over pool and ocean, seems like this is one of the best units for view. Pool heated but not quite warm enough for Sept (nice) weather for me, and I love to swim. Perfect area for walking/biking..about 5 min bike ride to harbor or downtown...Only complaints were bed-related: no king size beds there at all, "fitted" sheets were terrible, came off corners w/in 10 min of being in bed, and the blankets were those weird polyester ones you find in lesser hotels.Uck. But overall we were very pleased with our first Cape Cod Inn season stay and are eagerly waiting to book same time next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanandDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us! We are delighted to serve and value all feedback both positive and negative. Please know the staff at Captain's Quarters appreciate our owners and guests and strive to make their stay a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Surfside
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Falmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort

Property: Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
Address: 241 Grand Avenue, Falmouth, MA
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Falmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters At Surfside Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Quarters At Surfside Resort Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing