We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and best chowder in town”
Review of Moonakis Cafe

Moonakis Cafe
Ranked #9 of 164 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Moonakis is a locally-owned breakfast and lunch restaurant with a loyal following. Our servers love getting to know you and look forward to you joining "the Moonakis family". People rave about our homemade hash, light and airy pancakes, waffles and omelettes. You'll see that we offer some kinds not found elsewhere. Breakfast is served all day. Try our lunches! We serve an interesting menu with some local choices we hope you will enjoy... and tell your friends! One thing to know... we operate on a cash-only basis, no credit cards. Please stop by soon and give us a try! See menus and directions on our website.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
265 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great spot and best chowder in town”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The clam chowder sells out quickly so get here way before 1:30 when it closes (check times ). It is very good as is all the food here. You can get breakfast anytime too and their breakfasts are great from omeletes to pancakes to incredible hash . Or stick with the soups and sandwiches or salads but try to save room for dessert... Love this place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti4709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    72
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are staying in falmouth cape cod , and this morning we went for breakfast at moonakis cafe, let me tell you it was excellent . The food was great and the corn beef hash was the best that my husband has had.
Also the waitress was extremely pleasant , my husband said to her that we would be back this week to try their famous pancakes, and when our order came she brought us some pancakes for us to taste, she can't let you leave without you tasting them. That was so sweet of her. I asked her if she was the owner , she said no, that simply she has been working there for 25 years. Wow she really looked like the owner un top of everything , and greeting everyone that came in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amparo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best breakfast down the cape”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were introduced to Moonakis many years ago. Whenever I feel the need for their cranberry nut pancakes, we drive the hour down to the cape for breakfast. There is usually a wait, but it is well worth it. The food never disappoints. I think they make the best pancakes around, but there are also many other great items to try on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSeas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast on the Cape!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our friends and we ate here for breakfast all seven days while on Cape Cod. Enjoyed everything we ordered! From pancakes to waffles to omelets and the incredible quiche it was all great! Staff was super and we even got to know the owner! All care about their guests!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great start to the day!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have driven past this restaurant many times over the years but never went there. We decided to try it today and what a good call. It is a small, but very clean and cheerful place.It was very busy, and we had to wait, which to me is a good sign that it must be good. We were seated in about 10 minutes and the service was excellent. Our meal was served in an appropriate time considering how busy it was, and they constantly offered to refill our coffee. Both of our meals were terrific. It was a great experience and I would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a nice breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonakis Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Moonakis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing