We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant”
Review of La Cucina Sul Mare

La Cucina Sul Mare
Ranked #14 of 165 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Outstanding food. Great attentive smiling staff. I've had nothing but great meals and experiences at this restaurant. They also have a decent wine selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    129
    87
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is the best Italian food I have found on the Cape. Not quite the north end of Boston, but very good. Have been going there for years, and find the wait staff to be pleasant and friendly, and the same faces year after year. There is a long bar on one side, with some tables - a very nice pub like atmosphere. On the other side (the original side before they expanded a couple years ago) they have a large seating area which I find to be more cozy for a pleasant dinner atmosphere. My only complaint is one hostess, a younger pudgy blond girl, who is not always as accommodating and friendly as you would expect to encounter - after a rood encounter this past weekend I may not return. It's a shame, I am a year rounder, with lots of friends and we all talk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JusWannaCleanRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delish Italian on the Cape”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I have eaten here twice: once for dinner and once for lunch. Skip lunch and just dine here for dinner. Lunch was kind of lackluster for us and you'll get more bang for your buck at dinner. Their bread and garlic spread is yummy. Definitely try the lobster ravioli. It's beyond amazing. And don't forget the tiramisu!! Great service and atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThatOmahaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but don't go on a Saturday night unless you're a local.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great time on our first visit, so went back on our last night. This was a Saturday. We went in the afternoon to put our name down. However, when we came back (early) we had to wait for 55 minutes. Lots of locals, who had clearly not booked, came along while we were waiting and were given tables before us. This spoiled our memories a little.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LancashireTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“poor food - worse atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ate here on the 16th April and were seated in the bar area of the restaurant.The televisions above the bar were all playing differing sports - not conducive to an Italian atmosphere !.We had to send the minestrone soup back as it was cold and the entrees were very bland and the portions were enormous .We were a party of four visiting Boston and Cape Cod and were unanimous that this was the worst meal we had all trip. I had the Chicken Alfredo and it was very bland and stodgy.It was very disappointing as every other meal we had in Falmouth was very good..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nipper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Sul Mare also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to La Cucina Sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing