We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School New England”
Review of Oysters Too

Oysters Too
Ranked #31 of 166 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1992 Oysters Too has been serving fresh seafood along with a nice selection of steaks, chicken, salads and pasta dishes. We make our own stocks and soups and you can taste the difference. Most of our entrees include a salad, fresh vegetable and choice of potato. Our atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing, casual dress is fine. In cooler months we have fireplaces in two dining rooms. On weekends enjoy the piano music of our talented players while dining or simply with your favorite beverage in the lounge.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old School New England”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It took me 2 days to ponder this review. Firstly, you need to set your expectations as to what the Oyster Too is about. They try to be upscale casual and need to be to justify the prices. This is an old school New England restaurant before fine dining became a "thing." 30 years ago this was exactly the style of restaurant you would go to, to celebrate special occasions. Realize too that the clientele is primarily the local retired set that like a value and that plays into how the meals are prepared. The list of positives are numerous. Service was great, piano player is a nice touch, the bread rolls were warm, the salads were of the field greens variety, simple, but crisp. I opted for the soup special, a shrimp and corn chowder and was happy with it. Someone in my party ordered a steak with mashed and it was well cooked and nice quality. My wife enjoyed her salad topped with grilled chicken very much. In fact, where the menu shined was in the cooking of the meats and the seafood, shrimp, scallops and lobster were spot on. Whomever was on meat and fish that night was talented. I think the key to this place is to order whole items, that stand up well on their own like a steak and a potato, when they try to mix ingredients, like in the Seafood Scampi I ordered, that is where the menu falls apart. When we went out for dinner the following night on Main St. Falmouth, I had to order Seafood Scampi at another restaurant just because this one fell so short. Julienned fall vegetables like squash and zucchini, as well as root vegetables like carrots just don't belong in a scampi in any way. The good news? With the garlic overload, vampires will avoid you for a good 2 weeks. There are ways to build flavor in a dish without just throwing garlic and odd tasteless vegetable pairings at it. In all fairness though, the lobster was generous as were the scallops and large shrimp and so perfectly cooked as mentioned. The price is a little steep but not too far out of whack for the Cape. Stick to the meat and don't be adventurous, and I think you can walk away satisfied with the Oyster Too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    57
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Home Run at Oysters Too!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are on our annual Cape Cod vacation and made our trip to Oysters Too. Once again, it was a fabulous evening. There was a good crowd there, yet we were seated immediately, our server Norma, who has been there for years, is a professional at what she does and did a great job. We both had seafood dishes that were cooked perfectly and were very fresh. The portion size is plentiful, but not overwhelming. Once again, I will give them a 100% for the night and can't wait to return next year!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Deliscious and welcoming”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The variety of seafood and other items is amazing! The specials were wonderful, including Shrimp Risotto with mushrooms and Seafood Ambrosia (scallops, shrimp, muscles over pasta). If seafood isn't your thing, there's always duck, chicken or beef. All entrees come with a side salad. The service was welcoming, helpful and VERY accommodating for our party of 16! That included several different checks. Our waitress was eager to sort out who was with whom and making sure the checks were set up correctly, despite folks sitting at opposite ends of the table. (She even agreed to a prank we asked of her regarding a "fake" bill.) Before leaving I asked the manager (possibly the owner?) to take a photo of our group. He obliged by climbing into a booth and standing up to get the best shot! Couldn't ask for better service, food or atmosphere. Our group has been coming here once per year for a few years now. I don't see us seeking an alternate location any time soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Really Nice Atmosphere, Decent Prices”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Lazy Man's Lobster is terrific. Good duckling, too, for anyone who goes to Cape Cod but does not go for the seafood. We've gone there at least twice in a week every year during our annual trip to Cape Cod. Not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QualityMatters2Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food-great employees!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Oysters Too is a great restaurant that has been around for many years. When passing by you see a parking lot full of cars. The restaurant is huge and can seat many patrons. So do not worry about getting a seat. It is a comfy older interior reminding me of an old Inn restaurant. The menu was varied with many choices and specials. The average price is 22-27 dollars and includes a salad or soup. My husband had the seafood casserole which he was concerned that it would be overcooked and soaked in butter on the bottom. Our waitress assured us this would not be the case and it was the best he ever had!! It contained lobster scallops,fish shrimp and more and was delicious. and cooked to perfection. I had a 12 oz prime rib which was also cooked to my liking , tender and spiced perfectly. There was no room for dessert and we both had leftovers. Our waitress was attentive ,professional and had a wonderful personality. We definitely will be back. Our bill was 70 dollars for 2 total including drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WhoFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oysters Too also viewed

Falmouth, Cape Cod
Falmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Oysters Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing