We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family beach in Falmouth!”
Review of Old Silver Beach

Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The best family beach in Falmouth!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We liked this beach because it had lots of good soft sand, no rocks,or broken shells to walk on. You can walk quite a ways out because of a sandbar and is safe for children. There are lifeguards, a snack bar and bathrooms. Parking costs $20 unless you buy a pass from a hotel for $10. We went around 1pm and had to wait in line for a parking space, but it didn't take long. If you go after 3:30 there is no charge. The only drawback for me was that there was no place to rent an umbrella or chairs. There are also no big waves, but the water is warm.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    86
    25
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for couples”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We parked at the church up the road and rode our bikes down to the beach so we didn't pay the $20 fee. We went to the non resident side of the beach and although great for families with young children, it was very loud for us who just wanted to relax. Nice facilities to change or use the bathroom with an outdoor shower

Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Our favorite Falmouth beach!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Old Silver is one of the best beaches in Falmouth, MA! The sand is soft and when the tide is right, the sandbar is huge! The surf is not huge and it's great fun to be able to go out really far, walking along the soft wavy bottom. Now that our eldest daughter has daughters of her own, it's great fun to bring the grand kids there along with our 15 year old. The beach has a snack shack, bathrooms and showers. I believe it is one of the only beaches that you can pay to park if you don't have a residents beach sticker. Old Silver is a wonderful beach!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank miyasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely family beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great beach with lovely shallow water for kids. Get there early as car park fills up by 10:00am. Toilets, showers, lifeguards and snack bar available. Take a parasol as little shade. Would definitely revisit and recommend to others.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank shill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best sand bar is at Old Silver Beach”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Get there early... by 10:30 if you are driving because if you wait till noon you'll be sitting in the car waiting in line for someone to leave so you can park in the lot. A beautiful beach, great for young kids because of the sand bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Silver Beach also viewed

 

Been to Old Silver Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing