We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get to know bob and karen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariner Motel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“get to know bob and karen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

location,location,location.Perfectly located on main t in historic falmouth.Walking up and down Main St features shopping for all and restaurants to satisy any appetite.A nice summer stroll to the ferry to the vineyard offers vacationers many options.Rooms were very clean featuring new carpeting,nice flat screen tv and a little mini fridge (uncommon on motels on cape).Prices are extremely reasonable and afforded us the opportunity to extend our stay on more than 1 occasion.Owners,Bob and Karen,bring their warm charming personality to work each morning to make you feel right at home.For this traveler there is no other place I will stay In Falmouth.

Mike and Kim

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    78
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
82
85
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

we were not familiar with this property, so failed to include it in our recommendations to guests coming for the weekend in june for our celebration. That is too bad, because a few parties chose this place and were VERY happy with the accommodations...one couple even choosing to leave their very pricey resort at old silver beach to stay their extra nights here. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and great location for exploring our main street village.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nananina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

A motel, like a diner, is a trip back to the 1960's. That's the impression we had when we first went the bathroom of this motel. Walls covered with turquoise tiles and the sink that goes with it. But everything was clean and the shower water pressure was strong enough.

Nothing especially vintage about the main room thought. True, it shows signs of tiredness, especially the rug. But it was big enough, with two double beds, a mini fridge, a flat screen TV and a fast Wi-Fi connection (no need to ask for password at the office). It was very quiet too, so we slept very well.

As many other motels, this one is family owned and we had a warm welcome when we arrived. The motel is a walking distance to city centre and the price we paid was reasonable for what we got ($89).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night here and that was plenty. The rooms are very tired and old fashioned, and and blankets didn't seem like they'd been washed for a while so it wasn't a very good nights sleep. The bathroom is very dated, with tiny towels, manky products and generally very poor fittings. I thought for $150 a night you'd at least get a clean room.

The lady at the front desk was very helpful though.

The rooms were advertised as offering free wifi, but neither my husband nor I could make it work at all.

The carpets seemed old and sticky too, and there was no coffee facilities (just a flask in reception!!), no safe and the door/window didn't seem very secure.

Falmouth is a nice little place though, but it is all a bit twee, so it depends if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hospitalitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a homey family owned and run motel. The rooms are clean. They have wi-fi and flat screen TVs and the most wonderful towels. Karen and Bob are the best. I think Karen knows where everything is in Falmouth. Stop in the lobby in the morning for coffee. Everyone that works at the Mariner are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booklady615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

It's a motel. The kind of place you stay overnight before catching the ferry to or from the islands. It's not a place you stay for days on end as a home base. If you just want a clean room to stay in I think my experience here indicates that this motel will fit the bill. It's right on main street, close to ferry, and even has some extras like heated pool and flat screen tv. The room smelled clean ( a little like bleach) but it looked like your average motel in decor. The bathroom was surprisingly clean. I paid 79 bucks for the night. I feel like that was reasonable. You can easily find worse for more money in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onacona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Very clean and roomy. Karen and John are great hosts and very helpful regarding places to eat and visit during our stay. Ww would definately stay again. Susan and Chris, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMF751965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.4 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motel

Property: Mariner Motel
Address: 555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you Falmouth's best value and its first 100% smoke-free motel. Located within a short stroll to Falmouth harbor and the Martha's Vineyard ferry, shops, outstanding restaurants, and entertainment. All our smoke-free, tastefully decorated, immaculate guest rooms include refrigerators, direct-dial telephones, free wi-fi internet access, cable TV, heat and air conditioning. Two children 18 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod
Mariner Hotel Falmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing