We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Seaside”
Review of The Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Seaside Inn
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

My husband and I chose to stay here to visit Martha's Vineyard, rather than staying directly on the island and having to park our car and carry our luggage over to the island. (I stayed on the island during my last visit, and off-island is much more convenient.) We loved the Seaside because it was clean and close to the ocean. While we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it was nice to come back to a cozy room after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms were decorated to match the sea, and this made for a pleasant stay. Our room did not have a balcony and was on the back side, but the room was still very nice. The room had a compact kitchen area which was very handy. The location was great and within walking distance to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. The walk into town was a little longer, so we chose to drive. Parking in town wasn't bad at all, but we were there on a Sunday and Monday night, so the weekend may be more congested. We were away from the noise of the town and had a few evenings of just walking the beach or walking through the neighborhoods admiring the homes. I would definitely recommend staying at the Seaside.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank LynnKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed in room 310 and did not have any problems with noise from the ballfield or restaurant. The room had a cute decor, and was very clean. Staff was friendly.

We liked having the pub on the property, we had dinner there one night and while it wasn't outstanding, it was okay for the price. Stopped in and saw a live band there another night, and that was fun...it was nice to just walk across the parking lot to your room.

While the hotel has a great location across from Falmouth Heights beach, we found the beach disappointing because it was dirty, there were lots of seaweed and rocks coming in from the ocean which made it unpleasant. We ended up going to other beaches during our stay (Martha's Vineyard and the Cape Cod National Seashore) because they were nicer.

While you can walk from the hotel to the Martha's Vineyard ferry, it takes about an hour to walk to downtown Falmouth, and on the weekends it was difficult to find parking downtown.

Overall, the hotel property was quite nice, the biggest disappointments were in the surrounding area, the dirty beach and the long walk to Falmouth downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rdr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed at the Seaside Inn during the week prior to Memorial Day weekend. The innkeeper staff were all very friendly. After arriving on a red eye into Boston we were able to check in early, around lunchtime. Our room, 201 was on the second floor directly facing the beach, with a private patio. The room was right over the pub (very good food - the pasties are huge but quite tasty, try the chicken with rosemary). We noticed the pub noise at night, especially when there were birthday celebrants, but it wasn't overwhelming or too raucous. I don't know how it would be at the height of the season.

The room was Very Large, with two queen beds and a separate room for the kitchenette. The bathroom was comparatively small with a very small corner sink, but completely adequate. The room was clean and bright and quite comfortable. We would stay here again next time we visit and recommend it to our relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-and-J-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

This was our second trip to Cape Cod. This Inn is right on the ocean and has balconies. We like this place A LOT. It is better than the Red Horse Inn, where we stayed last time. The Red horse was nice, but it was not on the ocean and had no balcony.

The Sea Side Inn was WONDERFUL in location. It is a half mile walk to the Island Queen ferry to get to marthas vineyard. You could walk it, but we drove and paid $15 to park at the dock. In retrospect, we should have walked.

We had a private balcony and stayed in room 311. It was perfect for us, it has two separate bedrooms. Which was great for us having our 7 year old daughter in tow. If it had been just me and my husband, i would have wanted a room with a better view. Most of our view was obstructed by the pub in front of the hotel. The hotel has rooms with better views, so if views are important to you, make SURE you tell them you want FULL OCEAN front. Our room was considered ocean front, but i considered it ocean view. You can see the view from our candid shots.

For a great lunch visit the pub down stairs. For a superb dinner, dress nice and dine on the ocean at Casino Warf FX, it was the best dinner i have had in a LONG time. You can easily walk to it, it is right there on the beach accross the street from the inn.

PROS:
*Staff was great. Super nice people.
*Room was spacious and spotless with nice bright decor.
*Fridge in room.
*Jacuzzi tub (very nice)
*Location was great. On the beach, yet VERY close to walmart and shops on Main St.
*Private balcony was great and had a nice sitting area

CONS:
*Pillows were not comfortable.
*View was obstructed by pub.
*LOTS of street noise during the day. Lots of loud, obnoxious punks walking around. But not bad enough that i wouldnt stay there again, it gets quiet at night. Thankfully these punks just stay in the street and the pub, they dont stay at the inn. So they didnt really bother me.
*No microwave in the room
*Ice machine was not close to our room. We had to go up 3 flights of stairs to get to our room, not fun with luggage and not fun when you just want to "run down" to get some ice. (Its a hike)
*No breakfast provided. We just bought cereal and milk at Walmart and ate this for bkf each morning on the balcony, worked out very nice. There was no toaster in our room, so dont get bagels that need to be toasted. That is why we stuck with cereal.

To sum it up, i would definately stay here again. I LOVED this place and i wouldnt look anywhere else if i were to revisit Falmouth.

Martha's vineyard was disappointing. VERY run down. Maybe we just saw the wrong parts, but if you take the ferry over, be sure you have planned how you will get around. Nothing in walking distance worth seeing, if you ask me. Rent a scooter, car, or bike. But I would go to Nantucket instead.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ycats1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed over for one night---a Sunday night, which we thought should be quiet. Here's the good and the bad of what we got for $194/night.

Good: Room was clean and looked like it was recently updated---very nice. The bathroom was larger and newer than the ones we remember from the Seacrest Hotel in Falmouth. Location was great---across the street from the beach. No bugs. We had a nice balcony that despite the fact that it looked at the back of the restaurant, it had a partial ocean view. The hotel is no smoking (they charge you if they smell smoke in your room), which was great since at hotels we often request non-smoking rooms that smell like a hibachi was in it.

Bad:
*Beds/pillows were firm, not really comfy, but we were only there for one night. There was a large stain on the side of the box spring.

*Noise was a problem at night and in the morning. We were in room 307 (building 3), which was right behind the restaurant and next to the ball field. Some reviewers have said that the restaurant didn't bother them, but I would not recommend it---the smell of the restaurant during the day, lots of carousing into the night (a bunch of singing at 1:30 AM in the ball field), trucks making deliveries to the restaurant in the early morning, and kids playing baseball in the park in the morning. I would recommend building 1 as it was far away from all that, and I was told that the rooms are just as nice. We also had quite a bit of noise from the folks walking around in the room above us. So if you want to sleep in, this is not the place for you.

*The A/C was huge and right in front of one of the beds, so it was blowing right on the bed---uncomfortable. The refrigerator in the mini kitchen were very noisy. I used ear plugs to go to sleep.

*Parking is a pain as you get one spot per room and there is no other parking for folks visiting you or if you want to go to the beach for the rest of the day after checking out. There are metered spots near the park, but on Sunday they were completely filled.

Overall: Clean and newly remodeled rooms, but try Building 1 on the top floor for more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Goldrusswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Just got back from Memorial Day Weekend.

Seaside Inn is in a good location, but here's a few other things to consider:

- Not all balconies have sea views, if this is really important to you then you should double check with the Inn
- The rooms are very basic. If style is important to you then this wouldn't be your cup of tea.
- They guarantee one parking space per room. This is a huge bonus as parking in Falmouth is $15 per day and hard to find.
- They have a pub right next door. This is handy to grab a bite to eat or go for a drink, but we had no problems with the noise levels at night.
- The kitchenettes can also come in handy if you're on a budget or don't want to go out to eat every night.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GingerGrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2006

This is the best place we have stayed at in the US. The rooms were spacious, lovely views over 'the Sound', clean and the staff freindly. We used it as a base to explore Cape Cod and the islands. The convenience of the pub next door for good food and great beer, perfectly placed a stones throw from the beach makes it the ideal for couples and families. It also represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
6.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
11.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
544 reviews
11.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaside Inn

Address: 263 Grand Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3785
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Seaside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn on Falmouth Heights Beach adjacent to Marthas Vineyard Sound is the place for your next family vacation or romantic get away. Just across the street from the ocean, your newly appointed room offers beautiful views of the Falmouth Heights Beach. Most rooms offer private decks with ocean views, kitchenettes, in room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. The world famouns British Beer Compay is located on the property for your dining pleasure, serving traditional British food and Ales. Shopping and restaurants are all a pleasant walk from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seaside Hotel Falmouth
Seaside Hotel Falmouth
The Seaside Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing