We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Island Queen Ferry

Island Queen Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.50*
and up
Day Trip to Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fun Way to Martha's Vineyard! Sail away on the Island Queen from Falmouth, Cape Cod and you will experience Martha's Vineyard within just 35-minutes. Convenient parking just 200 yards from the dock. Enjoy our enclosed lounge, outside decks, full-service snack bar and our friendly crew! Daily sailings beginning at 9:00am from late May to mid October. Children ages 4 & under travel free! Group discounts for 20 or more passenger available.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first time on the popular ferry. It was raining when we arrived and thought that we would be the only passengers on this over cast day to Martha Vineyard. The ferry was right on schedule leaving the dock and we were able to catch the 2:15 boat back in the afternoon. I would sure this ferry again in a heart beat. It also had the best prices.

1  Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"oak bluffs"
in 107 reviews
"martha's vineyard"
in 331 reviews
"day trip"
in 64 reviews
"nice ride"
in 35 reviews
"waiting area"
in 10 reviews
"quick trip"
in 18 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 8 reviews
"snack bar"
in 38 reviews
"great trip"
in 26 reviews
"minute ride"
in 18 reviews
"within walking distance"
in 10 reviews
"easy trip"
in 11 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 9 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 15 reviews
"top deck"
in 11 reviews
"return trip"
in 16 reviews
"falmouth heights"
in 9 reviews
Filter

516 - 520 of 741 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

It was easy to purchased tickets and get on the boat. The boat is always well maintained. The crew is at your service and very pleasant and helpful. Snacks and a bar as you get on boat.
We had a great ride back and forth.

1  Thank RJYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

So why Island Queen and not the Steamship Authority?
I wanted a ferry ride that was bit more quaint.
Didn't want to be packed in with cars, and other cargo, just wanted to kind of sail into MV.
Also, I wanted to sail directly to Oak Bluff's. This was the best ferry for that.
I also wanted the shortest trip (35 mins) to MV.

I got all that.

1  Thank KnitsbyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you Knitsbyconnie for your review and I'm happy to hear that you selected us for your trip to Martha's Vineyard. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were in New Bedford for a wedding, and decided to get away to Martha's Vineyard on Sunday for the day. We called the ferry that was left from New Bedford, SeaStreak, but found that the $80 rountrip per adult and $40 for children was outrageous . So we drove to Falmouth, and found 2 ferry lines available The Steamship Authority and the Island Queen. The biggest difference between these two is the size of the ship. The Steampship Authority had free parking, and allows you to bring your car on board for a fee. There fees were also the least priced ($16 roundtrip adults and $8.50 roundtrip 12 year old child) We decided to take the Island Queen($20 roundtrip for adults & $10 for our 12 year old ) because we were not taking our car, and they have a secure lot. But they charge $15.00 for that secure lot, and they have a sign saying that after the ferry arrives, you have 15 minutes to get your car. After the 15 minutes they shut the gate, and you have to pay them $20 for their "emergency opening of their gate". The ferry ride was pleasant. The staff was friendly, and the snack bar was decently priced which was nice, since most places will gouge you. Since we traveled on June 8th, it was still considered "off season" so the last ferry back to Falmouth was at 5:15 p.m. which did not allow us to get dinner on the island. When I come back in June, I would take the Steamship Authority because the crowds are not there, and the parking is free, and they have the best prices. Also the THANK GOD I happend to have cash on me, as we didn't know and we tried to pay with our visa card. We arrived about 10 minutes before the 12 p.m. sailing, only to find out that they don't take credit or debit cards.

4  Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hello Rose. We appreciate every review we receive and try our best to respond to our passengers' concerns in a timely manner. A couple of corrections to your review for future travelers to be aware of. The parking at Steamship Authority is not free and costs $13.00 from May through October as you will see on their website at https://www.steamshipauthority.com/visitors/parking. We are $2.00 more for parking per day, however our parking lots are a convenient 150 yard walk to our boat dock. Steamship Authority parking does require you to park in one of several satellite lots and then take a shuttle bus to their dock in Woods Hole. We believe our convenience of parking adjacent to our location is of value for $15.00. Our parking lot gate is only closed after the last ferry boat of the day, not after each ferry boat arrives. This is to ensure that people remove their vehicle at night prior to making dinner plans as our lot is not staffed once the boat closes for the evening. Rarely is an emergency let-out required and the parking system has worked extremely well for our passengers for over 50 years. We accept cash or travelers checks only, with an ATM machine on premise, for this reason. We are a seasonal business and like many seasonal business, this is to avoid increasing our passenger fares to account for bank credit card fees. Additionally, we can avoid the risk and liability associated with collecting credit card data and card holder information for the protection of our passengers. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome your return to the Island Queen in the future. (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I were staying at a local B & B in Falmouth and they had tickets for the Ferry. It was a great experience. The crew were all polite and were very friendly and joked when I asked a question about a return trip. The ride was great and the perfect length.

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you Donna B for joining us aboard the Island Queen. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our friendly crew. Our 50 crew members love their work and love the company and it's because of them that the Island Queen is celebrating 54 years this season! We hope we may welcome you for another sailing in the future. (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Queen Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Island Queen Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing