We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok....”
Review of Island Queen Ferry

Island Queen Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.50*
and up
Day Trip to Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fun Way to Martha's Vineyard! Sail away on the Island Queen from Falmouth, Cape Cod and you will experience Martha's Vineyard within just 35-minutes. Convenient parking just 200 yards from the dock. Enjoy our enclosed lounge, outside decks, full-service snack bar and our friendly crew! Daily sailings beginning at 9:00am from late May to mid October. Children ages 4 & under travel free! Group discounts for 20 or more passenger available.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The ferry seating could be better. And when we bought our tickets, we discussed in front of the ticket clerk whether we should 'pick' a return time or just buy a one way ticket and then get another one way depending on what time we wanted to return.....because the day before, we had to choose a time for return when we bought our tickets on another ferry line. We decided to leave the return time open and buy a one way which cost more money....only to find out from hearing another couple buy tickets that their ferry line did not require a return time so we could have paid for a round trip ticket and saved money. It would have been nice for the ticket clerk to speak up when we discussed it and tell us that our return time didn't matter........

3  Thank cindylou57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear CindyLou. Thank you for your review, although I wish we had done a better job explaining how are tickets work. All of our crew tries to do our best in communicating with passengers that our tickets are "open-ended" and are valid for any day / any sailing. We do not take reservations for any specific boats. Obviously we fell short of communicating this with you and for this I apologize. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family for a return sailing aboard the Island Queen and know that we will continue to improve on our communications with all of our passengers. Thank you again for sharing this with us. (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"oak bluffs"
in 107 reviews
"martha's vineyard"
in 331 reviews
"day trip"
in 64 reviews
"nice ride"
in 35 reviews
"waiting area"
in 10 reviews
"quick trip"
in 18 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 8 reviews
"snack bar"
in 38 reviews
"great trip"
in 26 reviews
"minute ride"
in 18 reviews
"within walking distance"
in 10 reviews
"easy trip"
in 11 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 9 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 15 reviews
"top deck"
in 11 reviews
"return trip"
in 16 reviews
"falmouth heights"
in 9 reviews
Filter

652 - 656 of 741 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

The crew member at the. Oak bluffs dock was unproffessional and mean. Ill will never advice any one to take this boat again. And I'm a martha's vineyard resident

Thank Nikisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hello Nakisha. We take the critique we receive, both positive and negative, with great concern. As you can imagine, it is difficult for us to improve our service without details about your particular experience. I hope you will contact me directly at 508-548-4800. Thank you. (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wanted to spend a couple days on the Vineyard in Mid-July. Went over on Monday and came back on Tuesday. Wanted to avoid the most popular times so caught the 9am leaving Falmouth Harbor since the website said the 10:30am was the most popular (boat was only about half full for the 9am). Came back on Tuesday at 3:45pm and again the boat was a little more than half full. It's only $20 for a round-trip ticket and the 35 minute "cruise" is a nice way to cross the sound and feel like you're going someplace special. The snack bar has food and beverages too (water was $2/bottle). Beer is $4/can. Taking a car would be much more expensive and not always needed for Martha's Vineyard since they have a great bus system, taxis, rentals, etc. Will definitely go again.

1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandQueenCapeCod, General Manager at Island Queen Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hi Peter -

Thank you so much for your review and we are very heppy that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Your review truly captured the essence of a day trip or overnight to Martha's Vineyard. Thank you and I hope we may welcome you aboard again in the future. (Todd Bidwell, General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Island Queen is a solid ride over to MV, at a reasonable price. It gets there quickly, and returns smoothly. The parking lot was only a block or so away, and at $15 was a fair price for a tourist attraction.

The boat is a simple 3-level tour boat with two levels of seating up top, and then the bottom level is storage (bikes), the bar, and a bit of room for passengers. One warning - the sun exposure increases as you go up in levels. If you are on the top level, you will be in the sun for over a half an hour. On a hot day, this can be quite a lot (to be frank, I left with a healthy sunburn - my fault, forgetting the sunscreen). Oh, and if you get shut out of the top level on the Falmouth leg, you will have another shot - by the time everyone boards in Oak Bluffs, many people are overheated and head for the shade.

The docks were a bit of a drawback. In Falmouth, everyone gets crammed inside a pretty cramped dock area, with a stampede as the boat docks. And you have to get there early to any shot at the covered area. In Oak Bluffs, you are segmented into tour and nontour groups. You are funneled into a chute with some seating (the early birds get the seats, everyone else stands) and no shade. It's understandable, but it is a drawback. Don't worry though - it may seem like they give a benefit to the tour groups over the rest of us, but both chutes are funneled onto the boat at the same time.

All in all, the Island Queen was a solid choice to get to MV. I'm very pleased that we used the Queen over the more expensive and lengthy rides in Hyannis.

Thank KJE1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Awesome! only 35 minutes to Martha's Vineyard. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Comfortable boat ride

Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Queen Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Island Queen Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing