We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Glass Onion

Glass Onion
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
2 reviews
“AMAZING”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We celebrated our 1st anniversary last Saturday at the Glass Onion. Service and food are well worth the wait!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    82
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance - average food for decerning palates”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

First visit to this generally highly valued restaurant. The atmosphere is superb. Our first impression was excellent. The tables were well set and spaced comfortably. We were greeted by the restaurant owner, a somewhat stunted conversationalist. Our waiter who was also the bartender was terrific. Prompt, thorough and entertaining. We shared a Potato Leek bisque that was tasty but too salty. We then had swordfish and a hanger steak. The swordfish was overcooked and the steak filled with gristle. Unfortunate and disappointing. Based on all the positive reviews maybe this was just an off night. We'll try once more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elgortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but flawed...”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Many reviewers rate the Glass Onion 5 stars but comment on the long wait and poor service...how is that 5 stars? The food is good: dishes range from 3 stars to 5 stars, which is terrific for Falmouth and the Cape in general (but not "unbelievable" as in some reviews). However, the owners make a large mistake by not having a reservation system. It's not that hard to do, and done properly they would still serve just as many covers (or more) as they do now. The fact that people will wait wait an hour or more is NOT a good reason to not properly pace the workload for the dining room and (especially!) the kitchen. Every time we've visited the place fills up, the kitchen gets bombed, everything slows down, food finally comes out, the tables turn, the place fills up, the kitchen gets bombed, etc. The service suffers and the food suffers. If they fixed this problem the Glass Onion would truly be a restaurant worth seeking out when on the Cape.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peachon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievable dining experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed only one night in Falmouth but received this restaurant as a recommendation from the place we were staying. We had no reservation but were seated immediatley. We loved the quaint and quiet atmosphere. Very likely the best swordfish I have had in any restaurant. Details in the food and presentation were wonderful. I have seen reviews on long waits - I would go back and I would wait; well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katbmkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food outside of an urban culinary mecca!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were trying out this place for the first time. It was clear from the reviews, which we had scanned, that people were enthusiastic about the place. Having been forewarned, we arrived at 5PM when the place opened, and there were already several tables filled. The food was absolutely superb. Even small details, like the butter in the miniature tubs was first class, and it was accompanied by texturally perfect french bread. I had the divine duck liver pate as an appetizer. My lobster main course was equally wonderful. When we left at about 6:30 PM there was a one and a half hour wait to be seated. It was a Saturday night, but not high season on Cape Cod. There is a side of me which should have been inclined to restrain my rave review, as it may only make a seating at this great restaurant even more difficult in the future. Report from an enthusiast!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion also viewed

 

Been to Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing