We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Fine Dining”
Review of Glass Onion

Glass Onion
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Falmouth, MA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently Fine Dining”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

"No Reservations"...not just Tony Bourdain's show but also the hallmark of the Glass Onion. Guess what, if I owned a restaurant this good, I wouldn't hassle with reservations either! The patrons wait! Worth waiting for, locally sourced vittles exquisitely prepared and served with flourishes by helpful servers. Not cheap and somewhat in the special occasion category for me but I always feel I had an absolutely excellent meal and relaxed dining experience. Try to catch off season or count on having a glass of wine while waiting in the lounge. The food you get here will have you saying, "wow, that is great, never had that before.".

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    82
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Dining in Falmouth, MA (Cape Cod)”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is something of a "well-kept secret". The owners don't advertise in Cape Cod listings because they don't want crowds. They want diners who appreciate terrific food and a relaxing ambiance. The menu changes with the seasons, is built on local foods where possible and focuses on great execution and presentation as well as taste. Regrettably they don't take reservations, but you call ahead to check on wait times. During the summer/tourist season, you will probably have to go on a week day, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sippiwisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb food and service...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is such a pleasure to visit this restaurant. The husband and wife owners are so welcoming and they have hired an excellent chef and waitstaff. The food is always well prepared using many local purveyors when possible. I've tried just about everything on the menu (all very good) but have to say that their seafood risotto is my favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Two years later the food is here is still the best I've had anywhere, including Manhattan. Great service too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Glass Onion this past weekend with my boyfriend. So glad we chose this spot! After a short wait we were seated. Great wine list and menu. Both of us were very pleased with our selections. We then split the creme brûlée to top off the great meal. Very nice atmosphere and excellent service made for a very enjoyable meal. We will be back, for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NycCapegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion also viewed

 

Been to Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing