We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful start to our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful start to our Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

When we returned to the UK we were astonished to see an Average on trip Advisor for this lovely Inn. Trish and Kevin are wonderful hosts, keen to please and accomodate your every need for an enjoyable stay. The breakfasts were superb and the lovely touch of a delicious afternoon tea with home made cakes was a reason to get back early every afternoon!! Yes, the room is not huge but it is luxuriously appointed (those soft sheets were like sleping on a fluffy cloud!) and an open window with fresh Falmouth air blowing in is better than air con anytime! We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HethEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
255
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our five nights in the Cape and specifically in the Captain's Manor Inn were very enjoyable. Our friendly hosts gave guidance to places and events of interest and with their help we really began to feel like we belonged in the village.

The rooms and facilities were exactly as described and to a very high standard. The breakfasts were delicious and never failed to delight. For a lunchtime or evening meal there are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance of the Inn.

I have no hesitation in commending both the Inn and it's hosts to anyone wanting to stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I (both in our forties) stayed at the Captain's Manor Inn for 2 nights. Trish and Kevin made us more than welcome and we have to say that Kevin's home cooked breakfasts were wonderful. The room was exactly as we had imagined from the website. When we arrived I moved a small side table to my side of the bed as there was no bedside table and when we came back in after our niight out we found that an extra side table had been placed in the room for us to use. Trish was great at providing tips and ideas on what to do in the local area and was even able to provide us with our ferry ticjkets for the trip to Martha's Vineyard to save us having to queue at the ferry terminal. We arrived in Falmouth by bus from New York and the Inn was just a five minute walk from the bus station and a 10 minute walk from the free shuttle bus to the ferry terminal. We asked for a recommendation for somewhere to eat at night and Trish recommended The Glass Onion. We were so impressed that we went there on both nights of our stay. Unlimited free coffee and tea was always available in the hallway and home cooked goodies were available each afternoon. We have no hesitation in recommending a stay at The Captain's Manor Inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor room need shutters closed for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandWendy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Mike and Wendy it was wonderful to have you as guests. Our staff works hard to pay attention to the details and we are happy that upon noticing that you could use an additional side table one was provided that very night for you. We feel fortunate to have a property that is so close to everything that you really do not even need a car to have access to so many shops, activities and restaurants. We hope the rest of your holiday was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were greated with a smile and cookies - what's better than that? Honestly, Trish + Kevin were fantastic hosts. My fiance and I were down in Falmouth to attend a friend's wedding. Most of the wedding party was complaing about their choice of where to stay, we were recommending ours. The room was pristine and the bed was comfortable. All the luxuries that you need, from cozy robes to soft sheets and cup cakes when you come in late night. Each morning we woke to a fantastic breakfast. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for being our guests while in town for your friends wedding. The weather certainly cooperated for the outdoor wedding thank goodness! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for being kind enough to recommend our Inn to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We've stayed many places on the cape..but the Captain's Manor is tops. Walk to Falmouth Center for dinner..many great restaurants, walk or ride to the bikeway,
stroll down to the beach after dinner..it's great. The Inn itself is beautiful, breakfasts
on the veranda overlooking the beautiful grounds. Who knew there was such a
thing as a gourmet breakfast! The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated.
and exceptionally clean. There were cases full of books for great summer reading. Kevin and Trish were wonderful hosts...attentive to every need. You feel like you are at home..
it's so comfortable..I definitely would recommend ..especially if this is your first time to the Cape!! It will be a great experience! Debbie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were invited to a Wedding on the Cape & decided to make a weekend of it. This Historic Inn was recently renovated, so it was fresh, clean, & very comfortable. The breakfasts were creative, delicious and very relaxed, and the location could not have been better, (right on a quiet part of main street, & within walking distance of a lot of attractions). Kevin & Trish (the Inn Keepers) were the best yet (very engaging, friendly & full of excellent recommendations for sights & restaurants in the area). Trish seems to have thought of every possible amenity to enhance her quest's stay. The room was stocked with water bottles, chocolates, makeup wipes, etc and there was always a nice afternoon snack accompanied by ice tea & lemonade. I would go back every summer if it were not so far from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilaguild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Trish and Kevin were warm and welcoming! The room was beautiful and comfortable, and Trish did a wonderful job with our roses, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and our wine and cheese platter. It was great to relax in the gazebo overlooking the beautifully landscaped back yard.

The food, as always, was incredible. We've never had creme brulee french toast, but we'll be back for more!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tag1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
19.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Manor Inn

Property: Captain's Manor Inn
Address: 27 W Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2685
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast offers a splendid retreat in the heart of Falmouth Village's historic district. This stately 1849 home has been lovingly restored to feature modern amenities in each of its 8 guestrooms with en suite bathrooms. On the National Historic Register of Historic Places, this unique estate features an elegant living area with original black marble fireplace and expansive plantation style windows that open onto the vast wrap around veranda. Take a short stroll to visit Falmouth Village's many boutique shops, restaurants, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Manor Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Manor Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing