We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I with our young daughter stayed a week at the Palmer House. The innkeeper were wonderful. We stayed in the quaint little cottage separate from the rest of the inn. The cottage was clean and was decorated beautifully. The innkeepers made some special arrangements for us with our daughter, as well as having many suggestion of great activities for us to do.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank deirdrecarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear Deirdrecarroll, Many thanks for the great review. You have said it all. The cottage is one of the inn's most popular accommodations. Guests seem to like the extra space. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Palmer House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

A couple of my girl friends and I just needed to get away from the rat race for a couple of days and at the end of our long weekend we left refreshed and ready to tackle the impending crazyness of the upcoming holiday season. We took advantage of Columbus Day and made a 4 day weekend out of it. Even that late in the season there was still plenty to do on upper Cape Cod. Sure it wasn't beach weather but there were still lots of museums and shops to visit and an abundance of fine restaurants at which to have a leisurely meal. And the Oconnell's were wonderful about assisting us with suggestions for things to do and see. They provided us with directions to several of our destinations and always offered to make reservations for us at the local restaurants.

Breakfast was outstanding every morning and Lisa (one of my friends) really appreciated the fresh ground coffee. She is a bit of a coffee snob and it is almost impossible to make her happy unless she brews it herself. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the beds were comfortable and every room has its own private bath. Trust me you don't want to have to share a bathroom with Kate (my other friend), you will never get in it. :)

I would definitely recomend the Palmer House to anyone looking for a first class bed and breakfast. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2014

Dear MollyC43, You have said it all. Thank you for the great review. Since your visit we have created a new and improved "Girls' Getaway Package". We would enjoy seeing you and your friends try it out.
Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Palmer House is a beautiful Inn! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts are unique and delicious. And the Innkeepers are gracious, friendly people. I look forward to visiting the Palmer House Inn year after year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed at The Palmer House Inn for three nights in October. Our room was in an annexe, and was a good size and very comfortable. Breakfasts were unusual, delicious,
and excellently presented. Refreshments were freely available, and the chocolate chip cookies were a real bonus. Bill & Pat were very helpful and well informed on the surrounding area. They really have thought of everything to make a stay with them memorable - even to providing weather forecasts for the following day.

I'd thoroughly recommend a stay at The Palmer House Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailway_HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Palmer House Inn for Thanksgiving. It was a delightful place to relax and enjoy family and friends in the Falmouth area. The Innkeepers were welcoming and full of useful information about the surrounding area. We enjoyed talking with the other guest, several from other countries. Interesting conversation with the other guests during the wonderful breakfast added to our stay's enjoyment. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HastingsHampdenMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Cape Cod B&B sets exactly the right tone: subtle elegance throughout, the kind that makes you comfortable (not afraid to sit on the chairs), flawlessly decorated; a gentle mood pervuades your stay and captures your weary soul. We could linger in the breakfast room all day -- for the soft comfort of the muted florals, the calming, unobtrusive background music, and the hidden sophistication of the breakfast fares. The Inn is locate a short walk to the shops and wonderfrul restaurants (a prerequisite for us), and for the adventurous a longer walk down the town bike path that will take you to the beach (and a nature preserve diversion). The Palmer House Inn has the feel that it is nestled off the beaten path, but couldn't be closer to everything from a home-made-soup lunch place to churches and the night life at Liam MacGuire's Irish pub.
We go every year, sometimes twice, and love it in any season.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Cardinal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip to New England in October. Pat made us so welcome from the minute we arrived and couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in the very spacious Robert Frost room, which was so comfortable.The attention to detail was amazing, from the turn down service each evening,with a chocolate left on the pillow, to the slip of paper giving us the weather forecast for the next day, so that we could plan accordingly.The Inn was spotless and so relaxing to be in.It was only a short walk to the restaurants and shops so the location was brilliant,especialy for visiting Martha's Vineyard. A big thank you to our hosts.........you really care and it showed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#2 of 9 in Falmouth
446 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#3 of 20 in Falmouth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $223 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing