We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Palmer House Inn”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Palmer House Inn”
Reviewed September 9, 2005

We returned recently from a wonderful 6 day stay at the Palmer House Inn in Falmouth, Massachusetts where 4 of us stayed in its 2 bedroom Secluded Cottage. Pat and Bill, the innkeepers, were friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The Inn is immaculate and is tastefully decorated in a Victorian style.

The cottage had a private entrance and was across the driveway from the main house. We were surprised that it had a private patio which was surrounded by large greenery which made the cottage all the more secluded; we sipped our coffee outside and felt as if we had our own home. Inside were two bedrooms, a parlour, and 1 bath. The beds were so comfortable that we asked Pat and Bill where they purchase the mattresss and the goose-down pillows. The master bedroom had a whirlpool. Each day the likewise unobtrusive staff kept the cottage neat and clean.

They offered a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 to 9:30. Every afternoon beginning at 3:00 there were cookies and juice or iced tea for guests to enjoy. We relaxed on the front porch, reading in their rocking chairs. (The inn-keepers think of everything. In their parlour were post cards with stamps already affixed to them!)

The Inn was perfectly located for our getaway. It had ready access to mainstreet in Falmouth which is a place for familes to stroll. Main Street's shops and restaurants had a local feel. The beach at Falmouth Heights is less than 10 minutes away from the Palmer House Inn. (Pat and Bill provide guests with beach towels each day.) We found this beach perfect for our needs -- with white sand that we could walk on and no commercial establishments near it.

We also took the fast boat to Nantucket from Hyannis (which is only a 20 minute drive from the Inn).

The Inn had bikes and helmets (on a first-come, first-served basis). We biked for the first time in years down a 3-mile path that led to the old boating and whaling town Woods Hole. While we didn't go to Martha's Vineyard this time, Woods Hole is where the ferries dock for that trip.

Bill and Pat provided us with sound recommendations of restaurants along with a coupon for one of their recommendations.

The stay at the Palmer House Inn surpassed our expectations. We are already planning to go back next year!

Joan and Flip

Helpful?
9 Thank joanandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Joan and Kate, It was wonderful to host you at the Palmer House. It is guests like you who make our work a pleasure. We are looking forward to your next visit. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    32
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
219
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed at the Palmer House Inn for three nights and were extremely impressed with the Inn-- including the hospitable innkeepers and the great location. The rooms and the common areas were meticulously cared for and white-glove clean. The breakfasts were superb. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear A Trip Advisor Member, Wow! talk about being clear concise and to the point. You said it all. Many thanks, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

This inn was okay, but not great. It was clean and neat but overdecorated in a colonial style that was suffocating. The owners were not very friendly and the breakfast was not good, with only one choice offered..For the price I would stay somewhere else closer to the water...

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank masulliv_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear masulliv:v_7, The Palmer House Inn is a meticulously maintained 1901 Victorian home. Its interior is deigned in the classic Victorian style. The website explains the furnishings both in words and photos. If Victorian is not what you like, it is best to stay some where else. Bill& Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at the Palmer House, had room A in the separate carriage house-gorgeous room! Turn down service with Lindt chocolates, jacuzzi tub, neat as a pin, every ammenity you can think of in the room including a corkscrew! Excellent breakfast and great hosts. (They have very loud birds though in the main common room, just don't have a hangover! The birds are so cute and they will talk back to you) They are fantastic hosts and are not intrusive. Walking distance to downtown, ate at Quarterdeck, Nimrod, great music at Nimrod and Laim Mcguires. We will stay here again!

Helpful?
4 Thank masstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear masstraveler, Thank you for the good review. You will be pleased to learn that the inn has been sold to Bill & Pat O'Connell. The birds moved out with the previous owners. We now have an antique oak Dutch Colonial dining room set where the bird's cages used to stand. This is where we serve our afternoon tea. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#2 of 9 in Falmouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
391 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing