We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmer House Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in the the Katherine Lee Bates and it was the nicest room I ever stayed in. I loved that it looked like someone drenched the place in English roses and over the top romance-interior. We had most contact with the two young women (I am so sorry to not remember their names) who worked there at the time and they were very helpful. Great breakfast, great house. Ok great everything. We would probably not chose to live in Falmouth if we returned to Cape Cod (as we found the southern part of the cod a bit to urban) however I would definitely not mind returning to the Palmer House Inn.

Room Tip: Chose Katherine Lee Bates Room if you like over the top English rose-romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theanxioustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear theanxioust, Many thanks for your excellent review. We pride ourselves in our romantic old fashioned style and service. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    31
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
216
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This inn was much as we expected. The decor is very chintzy and fussy and not to our taste but we chose to stay here for it's location as we wanted to make the ferry trip to Matha's Vinyard. It was great for this being just round the corner from the free bus service to Woods Hole. It is also only a few minutes walk into the charming village of Falmouth with a choice of good restaurants and shops. What we were diappointed in was the lack of welcome from the innkeepers who barely spoke to us in the 3 days we were there. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome from Mimi, who was filling in as Bill & Pat were out. She said that they had been informed by our travel company that it was our Ruby Anniversary and they would be providing a bottle of champagne for us the next night. This never materialised.
The rooms were clean although everything was a bit dated and in need of a facelift, particularly the bathroom. The breakfasts were good and the two young waitresses attentive but again the innkeepers stayed in the kitchen and didn't greet the guests in the dining room. We would have reservations about recommending this inn although reading the reviews obviously a lot of people love it!

Room Tip: We had a room in the carriage house annex which was reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LmKSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear LmKsusse, We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and the warm welcome that you received from our staff. We can not apologize enough for your not receiveing the complimentary champagne and chocolates on the promised evening. Over a year's time we deliver hundreds of such gifts to our guests, on anniversaries, birthdays and wedding nights. It is our custom to deliver the gift on the first evening of the stay. Apparently Mimi neglected to inform us of the procedural change. Unfortunately on the week of your visit, our talented chef had a death in her family and was unable to work. When such things occur we close ranks and full in were needed, therefore, we spent additional time ensuring that the service to you and your fellow guests was seamless. As a result we were unable to provide our customary attentive concierge service. Thank you for your review, we are always striving to improve. Bill& Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay here based on the great reviews. The stay was just OK. It's not the friendly greeting one would hope when arriving at a bed and breakfast. We stayed in Room C which was a nice size, but pretty dated. It was clean which is really important. The breakfast isn't that great but you can tell that the staff does take their time in making it nice for the guests. What it comes down to is for the money, we didn't see the value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliePLakeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear JuliePLake, Thank you for your review. As you may have noticed the Palmer House is a Victorian B&B. Room C, the Samuel Clemens Room, is located in our Guest House and is designed using victorian style white wicker furniture. It is a light cheery room and was created to resemble a room in a Victorian summer cottage. We have a wonderful staff and are pleased that you enjoyed interacting with them. Always, Pat & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday getaway. Beautiful inn, wonderful service, comfortable and quaint rooms and a delicious breakfast. It was a beautiful place to celebrate my birthday!
Downtown was walking distance... An added bonus!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoozieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Snoozieqt, Your review is great. We are happy that you had a good birthday at our inn. We enjoy making special occasions a little more special. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago, but I neglected to write a review at that time. We stayed for a weekend a couple weeks ago and the experience was just as delightful as the previous time.

The Inn is immaculately kept, both the common areas and the rooms. The staff are all superbly skilled, be it the receptionist, the morning wait staff or the housekeepers. Everyone is exceedingly pleasant and eager to please and assist guests.

The breakfasts are extensive and delicious.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear No Spin, Thank you very much for the outstanding review. We are happy that you returned. That truly is the highest compliment. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from a Cape Cod vacation where we spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Bill and Pat O'Connell were terrific hosts. The rooms in the inn were very nicely decorated with beautiful furnishings. We brought our bikes with us and Bill allowed us to store them on a covered porch in the guest house which protected them a bit from the elements while allowing us the flexibility of taking them out when needed. Bill provided us with a map of the area that was no longer in print, showing the safest bikeways. Our favorit spot to bike was the Shining Sea Bike Path and the inn is very close to it.

Breakfasts were very nicely prepared and they alternated between sweet and savory dishes. For example one day was broiled grapefruit followed by blueberry johnny cakes, turkey sausage and maple syrup. Next day was spiced warm plums followed by mushroom tomato quiche and bacon. Third day was fresh berry cup with banana walnut pancakes, turkey sauage and maple syrup. On a side board daily was cereal, yogurt, and a bread assortment. Our server each day was Cipriana from Romania who had a delightful smile and cheerful disposition and was extremely attentive.

We enjoyed the afternoon oatmeal raisin cookies and ice tea/hot tea/coffee that were put out at around 3 that stayed out through the early evening. The porch was a relaxing place to sit and enjoy a good book.

While our weather in Falmouth was the best. It was a bit too cloudy, this inn was a bright stop to our days spent in this quaint New England harbor town. We would highly recommend this inn to anyone traveling to this area. It is a great location if you want to bike over to Woods Hole and take the ferry to Martha's Vineyard for the day as well. We were hoping to do that but as I said the weather wasn't so great so we may need to try again another time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robert Frost Room. This room seemed to be right over the kitchen. Since we are ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamingOfTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Dreaming O.., You have said it all! Thank you for the fantastic review. Many guests remark about our breakfasts but you gave the menus. I guess that they were memorable. We had more cyclists this year than ever before. I guess that the word is getting out about our great bike paths. We hope to host you again. Fondly, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Henry James penthouse room at the Palmer House Inn. We booked the babymoon package and loved everything about it!

Upon our arrival, a gift basket with goodies and fun things for our baby was waiting for us - within minutes, someone dropped by with a bottle of sparkling apple juice and chocolates. We were given vouchers to go to Martha's Vineyard for the day, gift certificates for massages at the lovely Bellezza Day Spa, a gift certificate to our restaurant of our choosing (which one of the owners, Pat, actually went out and bought for us while we were there), and much more.

The Henry James room was amazing - it had a jacuzzi tub *in* the bedroom under a skylight which was so neat. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, and well taken care of.

The breakfasts were phenomenal, too - a varying menu every day and lots of local fare - cranberry bread and french toast and egg casseroles - all was amazing and delicious and kept us full until we partook in late lunches.

What was most impressive about our stay was the fact that every single detail was accounted for - the turndown service, the delivery of weather reports, the frequently replaced bottles of water, the amenities in the bathroom (eye makeup wipes!), the cleanliness of the room, the friendliness of the staff - we were treated like royalty. Bill and Pat, the owners, were meticulous about everything and so friendly - it was a pleasure getting to know them.

We have no doubt we'll be back some day - it was a flawless vacation, and a babymoon to remember! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The Henry James room has a jacuzzi in the bedroom with lovely decor and has a prime location on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heybbracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear heybbracks, We are speechless. Thank you for the fantastic review. Of all of our packages, I think that we love the Babymoon the most. It is great to see young couples who are so happy and with their whole lives ahead of them. Helping to make an enjoyable stay for our guests, is one of the many things that we treasure about being in this business. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing