We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are just packing to leave the Palmer House. I don't know what I will miss the most. The breakfasts were a culinary and delicious surprise. The room had incredible attention to detail and the hosts were welcoming and provided an excellent concierge advise to the Cape Cod area. I would heartily recommend The Palmer House to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyK0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
DEar IzzyK0627, Guests like you make innkeeping a pleasure. It was delightful to talk with you during breakfast. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the fantastic review. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    31
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
216
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with pat and bill,the inn had a excellent location as everything was near enough on the door step.
We wanted to go to marthas vineyard,and pat was very helpful with information and providing tickets for us.
And we had twos days stay here,and each days breakfast was different,which were both fantastic.
Would recomend this inn as a stay if you are staying around the cape.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemachine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear lovemachin, Many thanks for the great review. It is true that the Palmer House is in an ideal location. We are just a seven minute walk from the downtown area, where guests will find seven excellent restaurants and many unique shops. Also, we are only a ten minute walk from the shuttle bus pick-up that will take them to the Martha Vineyard ferry. We are a great hub around which to plan a wonderful vacation. Fondly, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't think of anything negative about Palmer House. I would advise anyone considering booking a stay here that you will get a great room great breakfasts super clean has all amenities no worries no hassles great location you can walk into town.. A perfect place. It is a little pricey but hey it's Cape Cod in the summer. The A/C is window units not central air, if that matters to you. The walls are quite thin (especially in other bldg) so you can hear everything going on in next room and they can hear you. And you have to climb steps and they are sorta steep, and even more steps to third floor if you book a room on an upper floor in main house, which may matter if you have a condition that makes walking up steps an issue. That's about it. The rooms are great. We stayed in the separate bldg one night, and the next weekend when we came back we stayed in main house for three nights. The staff is soooo great!!! Breakfasts were a delight. The atmosphere is wonderful. The owners are there every day helping make your stay enjoyable. You can hang out in front room or in a chair or rocker on front porch. We're both writers (poets) so we sat for hours on front porch and got some good writing and editing done. This is a great fantastic no hassle place to spend a day a week a month in wonderful Falmouth, MA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Mark W., Thank you for the high marks on your review. We truly do try to think of everything. Yes, our pricing is high, however, it is competitive with other high end accommodations in this area. We also try to give our guests more value for their dollar. We, the owners, are on deck every morning. We oversee your service in the dining room and are eager to help you with printing boarding passes or planning your days' itineraries. We also have placed a complimentary snack basket, filled with Cape Cod treats, into each room.
Thank you also for mentioning the sound proofing problem in the Guest House rooms. We have made sound proofing a priority project for this coming winter. We learn from our guests comments and appreciate your observations. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Palmer House Inn while visiting family in the area. This was our fourth visit to the Cape and we had experienced a variety of lodgings and accommodations from a small care-worn efficiency on the beach, to a small motel, and another historic inn. However, nowhere have we felt as comfortable, pampered, or welcome as we did at The Palmer House. Innkeepers Bill and Pat and their wonderful staff made sure our visit was peaceful, relaxing, and romantic. Our room (the Robert Frost room) was beautifully appointed with period pieces and spotlessly clean. Two comfy chairs offered a lovely spot for reviewing our day, reading, or watching television. The full breakfast offered each morning was a foodie's delight and the complimentary beverages and cookies offered during the day was ever so thoughtful. Now that we've found The Palmer House Inn, I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our trips to the Cape Cod!

Room Tip: The Robert Frost room was spacious with a king-sized four-poster bed, a sitting area, and a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Terry L, Your review says it all. Peaceful, relaxing, romantic, are the words that we enjoy reading. You are telling us that we have attained our goal. We are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Palmer House during a recent trip to Falmouth for a mosaic class at Highfield Hall. Pat and Bill are kind and helpful and very aware of what makes a guest comfortable. The bed is the coziest, the sheets heavenly, the rooms are very clean and well maintained, the breakfasts are wonderful, and having ice tea and cookies available at any time is proof that Pat and Bill are thinking of the guests. There is a power strip on the floor of the room...no crawling around looking for a place to plug in the cell phone. Every morning at breakfast Pat walked around, greeted the guests, asked if everything was alright, and if there was any way she could help. The house itself is very pretty and the rooms without guests are left open to explore. The house is within a short walking distance to Falmouth's center and a little longer walk to the beach. This is on my list of places to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Sharon S, Thank you for the excellent review. We truly enjoyed having the mosaic students staying with us during this past month. There was so much energy in the dining room while you were here. I am hoping that Highfield will continue to conduct the classes in future summers. We hope that you will return. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our third annual week-long stay at the Palmer House Inn was as delightful and restful as the first time we stayed there. Pat, Bill and the staff were as attentive and helpful as ever. This year we reserved a different, larger, beautiful room. We ride our bikes on one of the many Cape bike trails every other day and visit local sights the rest of our time on the Cape. We are partial to original glass works and used book stores. This time, before we left, we placed a reservation for our week's stay for 2014, via their "Next Year The Same Time" offer. Palmer House Inn's attention to the smallest detail continues to impress us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moskowgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Moskowgd, It is always a delight to see you. We are happy that you choose to take advantage of the (STNY) promo. We were not sure that our guests would use it but we have gotten at least one reservation a week this summer. It really is a win,win situation. You book the room that you want, in 2014, before you leave and you will pay this years rates. Your card is not charged until January and our fourteen day cancelation policy applies. It has been our experience that this type of promo. starts out slowly and builds momentum. Let us hope that is what happens, it is good for you and good for us. We are looking forward to seeing you in July. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Every where you look is something that will catch your eye. The effort to present an bygone era is meticulous. The breakfast offerings are some of the best to be had anywhere. The food is not only delectable, but very creative and prepared to accommodate any one's particular dietary needs.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend staying in the rooms of the Quest House. We stayed Teddy Roosevelt room, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Pete W, Many thanks for the excellent review. We are pleased that you liked the Roosevelt room. We think that it is one of the prettiest in the inn. Many guests also like the two way mirror over the fireplace mantle. The TV is located behind the glass. All that the guest has to do is point the remote at the glass and the picture appears. It is simple technology, but fun to use. We hope to see you again, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing