We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Breakfasts!”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent another wonderful Christmas at the Palmer House this year. Once again, the gourmet breakfasts were a highlight. I particularly enjoyed the baked apple during this visit - yum! The Palmer House Inn is in the perfect location to enjoy the town of Falmouth. We were able to walk to all the shops & restaurants, as well as a wonderful Christmas display in the town green!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear tina1111, It was a pleasure to host you during the holidays. You are right, Falmouth is a wonderful Christmas location. The towns lights, decorations and festivities make being here so much fun. We hope to see you at the Palmer House many more times. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Palmer House. It was a beautiful and relaxing place to escape to right after the Holidays! The atmosphere was warm and inviting - full of victorian charm. Bill and Pat are such gracious hosts and have left no detail unnoticed. Our room was beautifully furnished, meticulously clean, and had all of the conveniences you would expect and other little extras such as bottled water, bathrobes, and turndown service with sweets. We also loved the yummy snacks and tea, which were set out in the dining room. So nice to be able to help yourself to tea or cider and a cookie/bread. The gourmet breakfasts were deliciously creative and were served in a beautiful breakfast room where it was so nice to just linger. We felt completely relaxed and comfortable here and will definitely stay here again next time we return to Falmouth for some pampering!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaNww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear tricia Nww, Thank you for the excellent review. Not everyone knows what a charming destination Falmouth and the Palmer House can be in the quiet season. A hot breakfast in our warm sunny dining room is a great way to start the day. There is no rush, so you can relax and get to know the one you love all over again. Then you can bundle up and go for a walk on one of our beautiful beaches or explore one of our bird sanctuaries.
We look forward to your next visit, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Loved this B&B! It was just like staying at Grandma's house...so inviting, comfy, and cozy. Even better, it was all meticulously decorated for Christmas. We felt right at home. The location is perfect within walking distance to shops & restaurants. The 1901 house is beautiful and kept in pristine condition. So many charming details.

The rooms are ultra comfortable and have appreciated little details like bottled water, toothbrush holders, robes, cotton balls & Q-tips, and chocolates at turn down. Sheets and towels are ultra luxurious!

The 2 course breakfast was delicious in the adorable breakfast room. There was even fresh bread from the French bakery in town. Try the Cape Cod sunrise, their specialty juice. We especially appreciated the assortment of tea, cider, baked goods, & snacks that were always out in the dining room. So nice to come back to a snack after a long day or cup of hot tea on a chilly night.

Bill & Pat are wonderful hosts and we'll definitely be back next time we're in Falmouth!

Room Tip: Since it's an old house, some of the bathrooms are tiny. Request a room with a larger bath if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Hotelsnob, You are the greatest! Many thanks for your excellent review. It truly is guests like you who make our jobs a pleasure. Happy New Year, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Palmer House Inn in late December. The owners were very friendly and helpful with local restaurant recommendations. The home was immaculate and the attention to detail in every room was quite impressive. Breakfast was thoughtfully prepared and everything was delicious. This was our first time at Cape Cod and we were especially impressed with the location of the Palmer House Inn. Falmouth, MA is a beautiful New England town with all the traditional decor, perfect for this time of year. We look forward to returning for our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the guest house. All rooms appeared comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS33857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Ana-Patric..., Thank you so mush for the excellent review. We are happy that you liked the chilled blueberry soup. Pat's sister lives in Maine and whenever she and her husband visit they bring lots of wild Maine blueberries. They are tiny and just packed with rich flavor. We enjoy using them to make the soup and it has become a requested favorite among our guests. Fondly, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the Palmer House Inn when we had business in the Falmouth area. This B&B gets high marks for location, period furnishings, luxury amenities, breakfast/afternoon tea, and accommodating innkeepers.

The Inn is located right in the downtown district of Falmouth, which makes it very walkable. There are many good restaurants, art galleries, and high-end shops nearby. At Christmas time, the town green (also within walking distance) is decorated very festively. The Inn, as well, was decorated beautifully for Christmas.

We stayed in the Penthouse room, which has a whirlpool tub under a skylit cathedral ceiling in an alcove in the bedroom, a private bathroom with thick, heated towels, a king bed with high thread-count sheets, crystal wine glasses ready to be filled, a mini-fridge, and coffee maker. Like the rest of the Inn, the room boasted a combination of fine-quality antiques and period reproduction furniture.

I chose the Penthouse after looking at all of the room possibilities online. Their web presence is very informative, providing floor plans, square footage, and multiple photos for each of the rooms.

Breakfast was delicious: fresh berries followed by a sweet bread-based casserole and turkey sausage. Yogurt, toast, cereal, juices, and other beverages made it a substantial meal. From 3 p.m. onward, the drawing room table is laden with tea makings, cider, fresh baked goods, nuts, and chocolate. One will never go hungry here.

I made several special requests, and they were accommodated graciously. Bill and Pat were wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Look online to see which room appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Dr Jill, What can we say? Thank you, thank you for the outstanding and detailed review of the Palmer House. It is guests like you who make or job a joy. We hope to see you again soon. Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Palmer House was very inviting, warm, and comfortable. Pat & Bill the Innkeepers were very helpful on informing us of the town and its activities. They served us a fantastic breakfast, starting with a baked apple, yum. We are looking forward to when we can return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Terry P, Many thanks for the wonderful review and thank you for trying out the the fall season with us. The crowds are down but the weather is still mild and the shops and fine restaurants on Main Street are open. Main Street is decorated to the nines for the season. As you discovered, it is fun to shop and dine on an old fashioned Main Street. We look forward to your next visit. Fondly, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Henry James penthouse. The room was wonderful, and so was the rest of the property. Breakfast in the morning was great, and they have a nice spread of tea coffee and snacks during the day. The service staff and housekeepers are amazing. They were very nice and attentive. The owners are nice, but kind of stand-offish. We have stayed in a few B&B's throughout The Cape, and usually the owners are very out going and personable. The owners here weren't rude, but they weren't very talkative with the guests either. None the less we had a great time. We were able to walk to the beach (10-15min), and walk to the Woodshole Ferry to go to Martha's Vineyard. Downtown Falmouth is only 2-3 mins walk where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. All in all we had a great time. We highly recommend making reservations at The Glass Onion. The food was awesome there.

Room Tip: Make reservations for The Glass Onion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Jason P, Thank you for the good review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try not to smother our guests by constantly looking over them. We provide our guests with a pleasant place to stay and we are always accessible if we are wanted or needed. Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
393 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $217 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing