We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful period home with friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful period home with friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the Palmer House Inn when we had business in the Falmouth area. This B&B gets high marks for location, period furnishings, luxury amenities, breakfast/afternoon tea, and accommodating innkeepers.

The Inn is located right in the downtown district of Falmouth, which makes it very walkable. There are many good restaurants, art galleries, and high-end shops nearby. At Christmas time, the town green (also within walking distance) is decorated very festively. The Inn, as well, was decorated beautifully for Christmas.

We stayed in the Penthouse room, which has a whirlpool tub under a skylit cathedral ceiling in an alcove in the bedroom, a private bathroom with thick, heated towels, a king bed with high thread-count sheets, crystal wine glasses ready to be filled, a mini-fridge, and coffee maker. Like the rest of the Inn, the room boasted a combination of fine-quality antiques and period reproduction furniture.

I chose the Penthouse after looking at all of the room possibilities online. Their web presence is very informative, providing floor plans, square footage, and multiple photos for each of the rooms.

Breakfast was delicious: fresh berries followed by a sweet bread-based casserole and turkey sausage. Yogurt, toast, cereal, juices, and other beverages made it a substantial meal. From 3 p.m. onward, the drawing room table is laden with tea makings, cider, fresh baked goods, nuts, and chocolate. One will never go hungry here.

I made several special requests, and they were accommodated graciously. Bill and Pat were wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Look online to see which room appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Dr Jill, What can we say? Thank you, thank you for the outstanding and detailed review of the Palmer House. It is guests like you who make or job a joy. We hope to see you again soon. Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    31
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
216
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Palmer House was very inviting, warm, and comfortable. Pat & Bill the Innkeepers were very helpful on informing us of the town and its activities. They served us a fantastic breakfast, starting with a baked apple, yum. We are looking forward to when we can return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Terry P, Many thanks for the wonderful review and thank you for trying out the the fall season with us. The crowds are down but the weather is still mild and the shops and fine restaurants on Main Street are open. Main Street is decorated to the nines for the season. As you discovered, it is fun to shop and dine on an old fashioned Main Street. We look forward to your next visit. Fondly, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Henry James penthouse. The room was wonderful, and so was the rest of the property. Breakfast in the morning was great, and they have a nice spread of tea coffee and snacks during the day. The service staff and housekeepers are amazing. They were very nice and attentive. The owners are nice, but kind of stand-offish. We have stayed in a few B&B's throughout The Cape, and usually the owners are very out going and personable. The owners here weren't rude, but they weren't very talkative with the guests either. None the less we had a great time. We were able to walk to the beach (10-15min), and walk to the Woodshole Ferry to go to Martha's Vineyard. Downtown Falmouth is only 2-3 mins walk where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. All in all we had a great time. We highly recommend making reservations at The Glass Onion. The food was awesome there.

Room Tip: Make reservations for The Glass Onion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Jason P, Thank you for the good review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try not to smother our guests by constantly looking over them. We provide our guests with a pleasant place to stay and we are always accessible if we are wanted or needed. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We could not have been more pleased with the attention to detail, the courteous staff, the decadently delicious breakfasts... Bill and Pat are the epitome of what innkeepers should be! The property is absolutely gorgeous and immaculate, the accommodations are picture perfect in every detail. We can hardly wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Debbie R, We are so happy that you enjoyed your Honeymoon Package. It took us a while to choose just the right things to include in the package. We are grateful to you for letting us know that we have, "hit the spot". Thank you for writing such an excellent review. Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Palmer Inn is really top notch, i just cant say enough good things about it. The room was clean and very charming as was the whole Inn. The food was phenomenal and the staff was really great. Anything they could provide to help us they did, including getting one of the staff to fix the hem on my wife's wedding gown! They even gave us a wedding gift! I couldnt be happier with our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the guest house, the rooms were as nice there as in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 859colinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Colin B, Thank you for the great review. We introduced our elopement package two years ago. It has been one of our most rewarding and enjoyable packages. It was wonderful to meet and get to know you both. It is fantastic to experience and participate in such a special day. Thank you for choosing the Palmer House. Truly yours, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Palmer House Inn celebrating our 25th anniversary. The Inn exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Emily Dickenson room which was beautifully appointed, including a gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub. A step back in time, but with all the creature comforts we like. The Inn was perfectly situated to walk into town for dinner or to browse the shops. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. The baked apples with yogurt and granola were a favorite. We also enjoyed sitting in the living room and having tea and cookies in the afternoons. That gave us time to peruse the various restaurant menus available and pick out a place to have dinner each night. The Palmer House Inn is certainly a destination we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CStevens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear C Stevens64, Many thanks for the excellent review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the our inn. We delight is helping our guests celebrate the happy milestones of their lives. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

As a Victorian B&B this is probably outstanding. Everything seems authentic, flowery frilly designs everywhere - great attention to detail, Some would say cluttered. Our bedroom was on the small side, and with a huge bed (needed a stepstool to get in) twelve cushions on it, very flowery wallpaper & curtains, Comfortable, but it was somewhat claustrophobic. The owners were very helpful but not exactly friendly. The position is good, very near the town and good restaurants.
On the downside, we had to climb 32 stairs to reach our bedroom (no elevator) and the bathroom was very small (shower and WC - the washbasin was in the room) although well appointed.
And what happened to the "gourmet breakfast" as advertised? On two of the three mornings we had a pretty bog-standard buffet and on the other we were offered the fixed choice of egg bake, bacon and sweet muffin in addition to the aforementioned buffet.
If you like Victoriana, this is your place!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, with bath if you like one. If you are not the fittest, don't go for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear SwindonRo..., There are advantages and disadvantages to traveling in the "shoulder season". the advantages are that the room rates are reduced and that the crowds are smaller. The disadvantage is that our charming European college students, who do our table side service in the dining room, have returned to school. Therefore, it is necessary to switch to a buffet format on the weekends when we are busy. However, no compromise is made in the quality of the food. We are in the kitchen at 5:00 each morning preparing bowels of fresh fruit cup, baked apples stuffed with home made granola and cranberries or roasted plums for the fruit course. We bake corn & blueberry muffins and butter croissants. As the main course one can choose from freshly prepared scrambled eggs, crustless quiche with basil & sun dried tomato, or home made pancakes with New England maple syrup. The herbs that are used in these dishes are grown in our own garden and are harvested moment before they are added to the dishes. An assortment of juices are provided to choose from. Also coffee, tea or hot chocolate are served. This is classic Cape Cod food. Many travelers delight in sampling the cuisine of the localities they visit . We believe that it enriches visiting far away places.

As for your room. Our website clearly states that we are a "Victorian B&B". There are over 200 photos on our site that show the potential guest exactly what the inn and each of the rooms looks like. A floor plan of each of the rooms is on the room page in addition to the size of the bed and square footage of the room. Also, it clearly explains that your room is on the third floor. We have larger rooms with double sized tubs and showers on the first and second floor. That was the room that you chose. Sincerely, Bill and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing