We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmer House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Inn on the Sound(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Beach Hotel(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$206
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House(Woods Hole)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Motel(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town and Beach Motel(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woods Hole Inn(Woods Hole)(Great Value!)
$249
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treehouse Lodge(Woods Hole)(Great Value!)
$205
$180
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$155
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Breeze Inn(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$194
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
303
34
9
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
34
9
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemily dickinsonthe penthousecape codbed and breakfastour honeymoonwonderful hostseach morningmartha's vineyardrestaurants and shopswonderful weekendlong weekendliving roomyogurtpatcottageaccommodationsquarterdeck
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 354 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a lovely four night stay at The Palmer House. Sheer perfection from the heavenly sheets to the gourmet breakfasts. The property is beautiful and the rooms well appointed and spotless. Our hosts Pat and Bill O'Connell were attentive and gracious. They think of everything to make you comfortable! Did I mention the location? Perfect! We could walk to everything we needed - restaurants, beach and unique shops. We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Prexpress, Many thanks for the fantastic review. You have said it all. You are the kind of guests who make our work a pleasure. Falmouth is a charming town with to much to offer. We are looking forward to your return. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

There is lots to recommend this place. The location is ideal, just on the edge of Falmouth town so a five minute walk in to the centre. It took us 20 mins to walk to the beach and under 5 minutes to cycle to the shining sea cycle way which was a fabulous traffic free cycle route.
Our rooms were across from the main building and were large, well appointed and very attractive. A small fridge was very useful in the room for water.
The breakfasts were fabulous and two girls who served cheerful and lovely. Definitely gourmet breakfasts.
We really appreciated the drinks and cookies set out in the afternoons for when we came in from the day's activities. Criticisms? I think this place is marketed more for couples / romantic breaks and as a family I think we were met with a slight reserve initially.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear AJD_8, Thank you for the good review. We are happy that you enjoyed our inn, the staff, our bikes, and food. We are sorry that you had the impression that we do not welcome families. We often host families with older children and enjoy getting to know them. Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

An excellent place to stay when visiting Cape Cod. Very nice rooms, friendly people, great service and right down the street from restaurants and shops. Short bus ride to Martha's Vineyard ferry. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raptorfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Paptorfan, Many thanks for you excellent review. Moat folks really enjoy our ideal location. We hope to see you again some time. Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I had to delay our trip by one year but finally made it to the Palmer House Inn in July. We spent two nights in a beautiful room. The O'Connell's were wonderful hosts, especially Bill who took the time to make us feel "special guests". This is truly the place to stay when visiting Falmouth and the surrounding areas -Woods Hole, beaches, bike trails and ferries to Martha's Vineyard. Plus the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bokeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear bokeyes, You are special! We enjoy showing our charming town to our guests. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts. When we first came to the inn, we decided to make good old fashioned New England style breakfasts. That approach has worked well for us. Thank you for the wonderful review. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This Victorian inn in beautifully decorated and is a perfect location to walk to the downtown area of Falmouth. The room we had was small but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was very tight and if you are at all claustrophobic might not work for you. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was fine if nothing special.

Room Tip: You might want to check out the size of the bathroom before checking in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllisjean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Phyllisjean 51, Thank you for the good review. We are happy that you liked the inn. We are in the process of posting the square footage of each room on the room description section of the website. However, for right now, a good rule of thumb is, that if the room has a lower price, it is not one of the more spacious rooms. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews