We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and relaxing”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penn yan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy and relaxing”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My stay on Cape Cod involved several types of accommodations, this being my favorite. As a solo traveler this felt like home with a good comfortable 3 nights sleep. The Inn is decorated in Victorian style and is cozy and relaxing. The breakfasts are gourmet with special treats of sorbet between courses, herbs used for flavoring tea and fruits, and cranberries used in a variety of ways creating a breakfast to start the day. The morning juice "The Cape Cod Sunrise" was a favorite. Afternoon and evening treats are available at the dining room table to greet the traveler when finished sightseeing, including tea, coffee, cookies, ice water and snacks. Innkeepers Pat and Bill are available to help with suggestions for touring the area. A place I would return to. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique in different ways. Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weldo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconnelldesign, Manager at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thanks so much for your lovely review. The Cape Cod Sunrise is one of our favorites too. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    31
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
217
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This was our second visit to the Palmer House Inn. Everything was perfect.........from the comfortable bed to the delicious breakfast to the warm welcome from Pat and Bill. We can't wait to go back again!!!! Michelle and Fran

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconnelldesign, Manager at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Fran1963 thank you your lovely review. It was our pleasure to be your hosts on your second visit to the Palmer House Inn, and we certainly look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Enchanting victorian bed and breakfast. Wonderful rooms with modern amenities. Walking distance to center of town that has quant shops and restaurants. Owners, Pat and Bill, are very friendly and welcoming. A bed turn down was done every evening with chocolates left on the pillows. They do all their own cooking for the Inn. Breakfast each morning was delicious with a spectacular presentation. Would definately return to this B&B again! High recommendations for anyone interested in the B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdsopelak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconnelldesign, Manager at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Having you as our guest was a pleasure. We take pride in the details like our turndown service, and breakfasts cooked with a bit of Cape Cod style. We are quite pleased that you noticed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is a lovely B&B run by 2 very thoughtful and helpful inn keepers. They will give you a full run down of things to do, history, dining and shopping tips, or just let you keep to yourself if that is your desire.

All facilities are modern and scrupiously clean while maintaining a quaint aesthetic.

Tip - buy the Palmer House Inn coffee mug before you leave! It is my new favorite at home - a great reminder of a fun time with friends and the heavy pottery keeps the coffee nice and hot!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear abibor, It was a pleasure to host you and your friends at our inn. We are happy that you had a good time. Thank you for writing the review. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If your looking for a victorian Inn a step above the rest, the Palmer House Inn is a good choice. Good location, close to downtown Falmouth's shops and restaurants. Beautifully furnished rooms, great beds & linens. Full breakfast provided was delightful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear niloman, What a wonderful review! We are pleased that you liked your stay at the Palmer House. We have tried to keep the Victorian charm of this beautiful old home without making it into a cold museum. Reviews like yours let us know that we have hit our mark. Many thanks, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have been here several times and have always had a wonderful stay. This particular time was lovely because we got to spend time talking with Pat and Bill O'Connell about the Inn, their family, etc. that is much harder to do during high season! It's a lovely spot for a rest and getaway from the rat race. Even when the weather isn't the best, the Inn's charm and personalized service make for a wonderful stay. We'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Iisaroby, It is always a pleasure to host you. We enjoy chatting with our frequent visitors. It is fun to catch up on your travels and family activities. We almost think that we enjoy the slow season more because we truly get to enjoy our guests more. Thank you for the excellent review, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

After being greeted and briefed on the inns layout and schedule we were shown to our tastefully prepared room. With a four poster bed and an electric fireplace, it was perfect for the chilly evening outside. After heading to dinner, we returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. They were tasty and a great end to our special night.

A quiet night was spent, before we woke and went downstairs for a freshly prepared, personalized breakfast. We chatted with the owners briefly before taking advantage of the tea and cookies left in the snack parlor and heading back home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear llmnn, Thank you for staying with us. We are always pleased when guests choose the Palmer House Inn as a location to celebrate a special event in their lives. We try to do something special for them as a thank you. Your review was great. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
384 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing