We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent place to sleep, but that's it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Admiralty Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Admiralty Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent place to sleep, but that's it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed there because it was available, and relatively inexpensive - so location and price.
The time was short - but really it was not short enough.
There was funny smell - almost musty smell about the place.
Avoid the breakfast - it is slim pickin's at best - if they remember to restock, it will be emptied in about 10-15 minutes.

The internet is so poor as to be non-functional - so don't even bother to connect.
I was traveling for business, with family in tow- and it was a bit frustrating.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday inn nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvonn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    47
    38
    41
See reviews for
62
54
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here because of desperation, we had waited too long and could not find any reservation at any hotel or bed and breakfast, so we booked here,as we were checking in I could here a guest complaining about his room,our room had a old musty smell, it was very large, just old fashioned, hair dryer didn't work,beds were very comfortable ,we had to call management to get our room cleaned and get clean towels, the cleaning person removed dirty towels we had left on the floor and didn't spread beds,put clean towels on rack or empty garbage, my husband saw her and asked if she was finish cleaning our room she said yes,so we called the manager who had her clean our room, we were upset had we had payed much more than we had payed at better hotels,will not visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed one night 8/22/14 with my husband and two grandchildren. Would never consider this hotel again. Very dated and our room was dirty. Grease on the shower curtain and carpet, the stopper missing from the sink, you had a wonderful view of a moldy tooth paste cap left by someone else long ago, the large refrigerator when opened emitted such a stench we had to air the room out. The hotel must have recently updated their mattresses to thicker ones, but they use the old sheets, so the corners pulled away and had to be redone several times. We were placed in the annex building and when I inquired about being nearer the pool I was told by the General Manager Eric that it would mean an additional charge. Breakfast was fair...but the room gets so crowded that you cannot enjoy. The pool area was fine and empty due to cooler temps. The only positive I could find was the have flat screen TV's in the room. Would never recommend this facility to anyone. I have stayed at many hotels at Cape Cod and this is probably the worst. I might also mention that the rates are rather high.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipsgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Absolutely terrible place! Dirty, smelly, very unfriendly staff! The breakfast was the worse they could possibly find. Half of a juice glass was powder!! Also very limited selection. We only had juice, coffee, waffle, bread, boiled eggs and 1 cereal. Everything of the lowest possible quality. Also the breakfast room was really cramped! The room was terrible as well. We could not stay in the room from the smell of dirt. We just slept and quickly got out of there!
My advice is don't go until they learn how to run a place!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdhricndnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

booked here last minute as decided to have a day trip to Martha's Vineyard and it wasnt the worst place available. After having read the reviews on here I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean, the beds were comfortable and the facilities were good. The wi-fi also actually worked well. We stayed 2 nights and whilst we were out the after the first nights stay the television changed from an old CRT to a flat screen. I will agree with the other reviewers that say the place is dated. It really is ready for a refit but for the price we paid it was perfectly acceptable. The worst thing about the inn is the breakfast which is awful. The cereal was stale, the small fruit selection was old and what is described as an extensive continental breakfast is far from that. I would recommend finding anywhere else but here to eat.

Room Tip: A ground floor room in the main building gives you direct access out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was a bit skeptical about reserving at the Admiralty Inn after reading some of the reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and right off the pool. I would heartily recommend it and will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room as you will be very close to both the indoor and outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went to Martha's Vineyard for the day and wanted to stay in Falmouth to get an early start the next morning to our next destination . We booked through Expedia about a month prior to our stay. Our Deluxe King Room was very large but in a building separate from the main building. There was no elevator so we had to lug our bags up and down the stairs. It was raining the next morning, so we had to drive to the main building for the continental breakfast. This property is nothing special but a good value for the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
#16 of 22 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 22 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 22 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#4 of 22 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiralty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiralty Inn

Property: The Admiralty Inn
Address: 51 Teaticket Hwy, East Falmouth, Falmouth, MA 02536-5617
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Admiralty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Admiralty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiralty Hotel Falmouth
Admiralty Hotel Falmouth
The Admiralty Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing