We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hobart Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Martin Cash Motel(Moonah)(Great Value!)
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$90
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$107
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mona Pavilions(Berriedale)
$495
$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Motel(Hobart)
$67
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claremont Hotel Motel(Claremont)(Great Value!)
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
7
4
7
2
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
7
2
15
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here (Feb 2013) for 2 nights, it really is not suitable for renting out. Really the whole place needs gutting. I have never stayed anywhere this dirty and so badly in need of total refurbishment. I would never have expected this to have passed any inspection at all, we had plugs behind the bed that were really dangerous. The wiring was partly unattached and plugged into a electric blanket.
In the kitchen lino had been laid down on top of an uneven floor and around the edges there were bulges, I wondered what was underneath.
Behind the bed it was just so thick with dust.. Heard enough, just find somewhere else to stay.
Just to put some 'icing on the cake' we had the road outside our rooms being relaid on both of our nights stay.

Room Tip: Don't book
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank dennis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB369brooker, Manager at Hobart Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi, Dennis

we are sorry for any inconvenience we have caused, however since you stayed we have had a ownership changed, new staff, manager and a soft refurbishment is in process.

Please visit our new website we have gone to extreme measures to get this place back in shape

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked this place two months ahead of our planned Tasmanian holidays. Check in time was stated till 8pm. We arrived at about 5.20 pm after ringing them up the day before to reconfirm our arrival time and were standing before a locked door. Ringing the door bell did not have any success. "Luckily" someone turned up a bit later .We were asked for drivers license and credit card, despite the fact that the full payment plus a "credit card surcharge" were taken out of our debit card linked bank account straight away at the time of reservation, two months before our arrival.. Got the key and before we were able to get our luggage out of the car, the staff had disappeared and could not be contacted any more.
The apartments are located on the very busy Brooker Highway and the street noise is horrible
all day and night. Unit was smelly, tried to get some "fresher" air in, but balcony door could not be opened. Kitchen : dripping water tap , ants on the kitchen sink, no dishwasher. Bathroom: Brown rusty water coming out of the shower, squeaking floors . One night there was no water supply at all till 9 am, As there was a major event on in Hobart, we were unable to find alternative accommodation . On departure we asked for a tax invoice, it was promised to us to be sent by email, but it never arrived. They had a "Seniors card welcome" sign on the entrance, my Seniors card was scanned but no discount given .
Unless you are deaf or you can handle loud traffic noise 24/7 we cannot recommend this place at all. The building is very old and in desperate need of renovation and sound proofing.
Never again.....

Room Tip: Choose another place
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We must declare that we were three in a group and did not stay in this apartment. We had originally booked and confirmed with ' Spaciuous 2 bedroom apartment' in this apartment throught internet in Hong Kong. Upon arrival on 28 November 2012 we checked in at the receiption. Due to unknown reason, our booking was not on record and during that period, all
rooms were fully booked. While another male staff, Ah Kit tried to help us to sort out with our booking agent, we were allowed to wait at one of the rooms. The room and the toilet were very clean and the beddings were so white and every thing in the room was so tidy. We waited for about half an hour and the final result was our booking was null and void. While we were so disappointed, the lady staff help us to check through internet for vacant rooms for similar class
in other hotels.Due to there was a special event on 1st December and most of the rooms in other hotels were also fully booked. After she and Ah Kit had tried their utmost effort, we were lucky to have one room for three of us at the Mayfair Plaza Hotel. We were so garteful to them
and even more that they afraid that we did not know where to find the hotel so Ah Kit voluntarily drove his car and escorted us to the Mayfair Plaza Hotel. We were so thankful to both of them sepecially Ah Kit. Here we highly recommen Hobart Apartment.

Room Tip: Eventhough a booking has been confirmed, it is advisable to e-mail or telephone to the hotel concern for double check
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxy163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On arrival my boyfriend and I were charged again, having previously paid and confirmed a booking for two we were told this was an error and we had only paid for one ($79 each a night was INSANE for this place, that price was too much for one!) so we paid and agreed to take this up with the agent we booked through.
Checking in the smell in the hallway was old food, almost unbearable, once inside we sat down for a cup of tea and found a bag of used syringes and small plastic bags in a bathroom bag, hidden in the kitchen cupboard. Obviously not for medical use, but regardless should not have been there. When this was handed in to management she tried to rationalise this by saying 'no one had been in there for a long time' and 'they're probably for insulin'. Neither of these points were comforting, and we should have demanded a refund then, but we were exhausted.

The place was filthy, I mean really awful. Toilet was still filthy from the last 'guests', there were scuff marks, handprints and smudges of makeup and dirt over the walls, above the bed, along the hall and over the couch, which by the way made us both itch terribly and was so sunken inward it was not usable.
The kitchen was not much better, the oven contained a dirty, long forgotten baking dish and some stained, grimy cups.
The water ran yellow from the kitchen taps, from the rust.

The bathroom was mouldy. The roof had clouds of mould growing in cracks, the skirting board had so much water damage it had all but come off, and was blackened and horrible.
The shower was maybe the worst I've ever come across, no pressure at all, if you choose to use cold water you can only have the tap on a tiny bit or the whole shower turns to ice water.
There was hair and dust everywhere.

The linen was clean enough, but no doona cover provided? The doona was just sandwiched between two sheets. The bed was pretty terrible, but this was the least of our worries.

On the second day we asked for access to the aforementioned free wifi, to be handed a password that didn't work, when we asked for a correct one the lady at reception confessed she didn't know it and asked my boyfriend to fix it for them, which he did as he needed internet access, one of the selling points for this place. He got the right password for her, only to have her ask him several times again on our way in or out if he can fix it or do little things for her, even going so far as to tell other guests there was no wifi available until we returned so he could fix it. He was good humoured about it, but I thought it incredibly poor form to have her run out at 8pm as we're returning for dinner and ask him to do jobs etc.

The other reviews are correct, it's not overly quiet, more neighbouring apartments than highway noise we found, but noisy none the less.

Will not recommend this to anyone, it's just not worth it. We could have found a clean place for much less had I known. Also have a feeling we were scammed with the 'only charged for one person through your agent' business on entry. Will most certainly be following this up.

Room Tip: Just look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here on the Easter holidays and booked 2 family rooms on the bottom floor (7 guests in total). We arrived after hours, so we couldn't find the "key box" situated at the front door (we parked at the back, so we had to walk around the building in the dark to find it, then return to the back door to let ourselves in). The rooms are very small and vintage style (ie. the kitchens & bathrooms need refurbishing DESPARATELY). The windows in the bathroom are transparent with lace curtains, and the balcony door locks are dodgy with minimal security. Actually, the balcony is a joke with is a concrete slab about 1mtr x .5mtr, that is dangerous with a steep step down to the dirt. The door swings onto the balcony space and wont stay open. The apartments don't retain the noise, and being located beside a major highway wasn't very pleasant either. One room had no hot water in the top shower and in our room, the toilet is up against the wall, sideways??. The kitchens are a dive too. The only bonuses were the lounge, microwave, queen size beds, flat screen TV, and of course the very friendly lady who appeared on our departure.

Room Tip: If you don't care about noice or where you sleep, or what the bathroom and kitchen are like, then stay here!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews