We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corales Punta Rusia
Ranked #1 of 9 Punta Rucia B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A great time with the best food. Rene guided us to fine snorkeling our first afternoon in Punta Rusia. Dinner was delicious. Rene is a great cook. People from 4 countries shared conversation into the night. The next day the hotel hired a boat for us and we spend the day snorkeling on what one DR resident told us was the best snorkeling anywhere in the DR. The rooms are clean and bright with a delicious breeze through the night.

Room Tip: don't worry about it. The hotel is off the main road so all rooms are quiet and all have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We came here first on a diving excursion to Paradise Island. We stopped at Corales Punta Rusia for dinner on the way back to Sosua and WOW!! Is it okay to lick your plate in public? We were so impressed with the food and the hospitality of Rene, the owner, that we came back for a few days stay. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food superb, but it's the serenity of the views and opportunity to see the stars unimpeded by city lights that brought me a special peace of mind. In addition to diving and snorkeling, we took the trekking excursion to the water falls and again WOW! With its proximity to gorgeous reefs and beaches, genuine hospitality, and the very reasonable room rates, this has to be one of the best small hotels in the Dominican Republic. We plan to return at our next opportunity and recommend Corales to anyone who wants to see a different side of the DR, away from the all-inclusive resorts and the busy cities. Bravo Rene!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A small hotel with restaurant just before you enter in Punta Rusia, the atmosfeeer is very familiar with very nice rooms.
Owned by a very friendly German gentleman Rene who speaks 3 languages en also is an excellent cook.

I had some nice days here and the best is the day trip to Paradise Island a little atol in front of the beautiful magroves and hills of the nacional park of Monte Cristi. Here its a must to snorkel or dive and see the nice underwater world and after you can join the fruits and drinks on the island
Also the guided trips into the country, hills with caves and fresh water lagoons is a must

i saw also some manatees at the manatee sanctuarie a few km from the hotel

Thanks to Rene i have a wonderfull memorie from Punta Rusia
I had a wonderfull time here

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0n50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been to this area many times and stayed in several different places. This is definitely the best in the area. The rooms are clean and modern. The owner is extremely helpful and cooks a great breakfast. I will not stay in another place in the area after staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I have a vacation home in Cabarete, Dominican Republic and HANDS DOWN we visit Rene and his group every time we are here! It's a 2 hour drive from Cabarete and well worth the time! We get there and Rene has yummy coffee ready for us. Then he drives us down to the marina, we get in a boat and they drive us directly to Paradise Island. We stay as long as we want (it's a private tour). We snorkel, dive, lay in the sun, sit in the huts if we want to get out of the sun, eat fresh fruit and walk the parameter of the beach which is only 262 steps. Then we get back into the boat and they give us an exciting tour in the mangroves. When we are done we go back to the marina. The fishermen arrive after us and Rene picks the fish he will cook for us. SUPER FRESH FISH! He prepares it I front of us. He is an AMAZING cook and host. I 110% recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ronda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found Corales after giving a look around at different places in Punta Rusia; I had had a terrible day so my humor was really down, as soon as we enter the place i said YES!! Rene wellcomes us with a wonderfull smile and show us the rooms... clean, colorefull and very wellcoming!! we asked him where we could eat and he said.. do not worry i will cook for you anything i can find FRESH!!! we asked him info to go to Cayo Arena and he organized the boat for us at a special price for the day after!!! we only had to relax, sipping our wine looking out at the sunset, waiting for our wonderfull fresh fish dinner in a very tipical dining room!!! the day after he brought us to the boat and made sure everithing was ok!! Thank you Rene for your special attention!!! we will be back!!

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son vista mar!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank and48_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to this small b & b quite a few times, with family and friends and I have plans to always continue going as long as I am in the area! I practice eco tourism all over the Dominican Republic and one of the biggest problems I have with lodging is the fact that sometimes people think simple means ugly and dirty, and Rene (the owner) has proven all these people wrong. This very small hotel (only has about 6 bedrooms) is decorated very nicely, with small touches that make it feel cozy and they are always very clean. Each bedroom has a bathroom, 2 beds and a table with two chairs. But I always prefer to hang out in the hammocks or rocking chairs outside of the rooms and enjoy the amazing views!

What makes this place stand out the most, however, is the owner Rene. He is simply a great host, there is no other way to put it and to top it all off he is by far one of the best chefs that I know in the DR! There is a lounge/bar/restaurant area where I hang out at night, have drinks and listen to good music and then end the night by eating some unique amazing dish prepared by Rene.

I recommend this place to anyone and everyone, it is affordable, fun, clean, kid and dog friendly, what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OlyenkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Rucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Punta Rucia Lodge
Punta Rucia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Rucia
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
CAB EcoHotel
CAB EcoHotel
#2 of 2 in Punta Rucia
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#2 of 9 in Punta Rucia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Paraiso Ecolodge
Paraiso Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Punta Rucia
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Keisyalba
B&B Keisyalba
#4 of 9 in Punta Rucia
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Casa Lulu
B&B Casa Lulu
#5 of 9 in Punta Rucia
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corales Punta Rusia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corales Punta Rusia

Address: Calle Principal | 57000 Punta Rucia, Punta Rucia 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Punta Rucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Rucia
Price Range: $48 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, ecologically oriented hotel and the North coast of the Dominican Republic, far away from mass tourism. We are working of the grid and produce our electricity with solar and wind, the fresh water we have to order by truck. Here you can find the unspoiled nature and perfect recovery. Not only beach lovers, divers or divers and snorkelers will find perfect conditions! Here you can just let your mind wander and relax with a good meal and a nice drink and simply watch the sunset and the stars! Our large and bright rooms with sea view have two beds and a bathroom. Breakfast is inclusive and our restaurant offers you for evening delicous fresh meals. Onlz tell us what zour heart desires! Besides fresh fish, seafood, pastas and meat are vegetarian dishes also available. We also offer trekking tours in the nearby Cordillera with rainforest-like vegetation and natural freshwater pools and cascades. With us you can find one of the few lakes in the world where manatees live in natural surroundings. We are happy to organize other trips for them to get to know the country, culture and the indescribable nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Corales Punta Rusia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing