We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant - MOST of the time”
Review of Ogil

Ogil
Ranked #26 of 229 Restaurants in Fall River
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - MOST of the time”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been here 5 times now. Three have been GREAT - incredible, well prepared, just perfect. Once it was good, and once just OK. Service is always good. It is a truly authentic experience in portuguese food. I recommend it. If you don't catch it on a GREAT day, make sure you go back. It will be worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Highclasslowrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“portugees food”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

the portugee food is very good and very spicey if you like spicey food and portugee seafood such as "pork and clams" you will enjoy this place . its a little hard to find if you are not from the area so look at their web site for directions

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKEFXWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I've eaten here at least a dozen times in the last 4 years ( always lunch) and have never been disappointed. Whenever I am in the Fall River area I try to visit. Try the Portugese style steak and egg with Portugese fries. Only restaurant of any kind that I will order the cod cakes. This is not elegant dining and not advertised as such. But, it is a nice neighborhood bar with a good kitchen and good service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it or hate it”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I and many of my friends love O'gils (def not for the decor) for their food, but I do know people who dont. It may be one of those places you either love or hate. I love it, so I am going tonight!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Maybe I hit them on an off night...”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

...but things were just average here. After reading the rest of the reviews I had much higher expectations. The steak plate was good but not anything I'd probably need to get again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wi2ny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogil also viewed

 

Been to Ogil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing