We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Seafood in Seafood Capital of the World”

Gene's Famous Seafoods
Ranked #13 of 64 Restaurants in Fairhaven
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Seafood in Seafood Capital of the World”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This area is full of small seafood restaurants all exploiting the best eafood city in the world, New Bedford. Just across the bridge is the king of thm all,, Gene's. It is not fine dining, just good seafood, fresh and hot. It is what New England seafood is all about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aslanpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

In truth, the last time I was here was November 2010. But the food hasn't changed a bit in the 25+ years that I've been eating here. This was the Friday night standard of my family when we visited my grandparents in Acushnet. It has set the bar for all fried seafood for the rest of my life. The ambiance is nothing special, but it captures the casual saltiness of Cape Cod and their seafaring heritage. Try a can of Moxie with your dinner if you're brave! You'll either love it or hate it, but it's an authentic piece of New England history!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Either You Love It or Hate It”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This establishment has been around for many years and either you love it or hate it. I never did like it and been many times, dragged in by the "lovers" of their food, which you can watch them cook. You sit at picnic tables inside the restaurant that are forever dirty and sticky. Served on cardboard style plates and serve yourself to plastic ware and condiments. I just never cared for the food flavor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiritsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Fried Clam Rolls”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent Fried clam rolls with generous portions. Really fast and friendly service.

The restaurant is old but extremely clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magee41879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was good.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had fried clam strips here a few times. They taste great especially compared to some other places I've been to. Great price for the amount of seafood you get too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrjingles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Famous Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Gene's Famous Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing