We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Finally Made It!”
Review of Blue Marlin Grill

Blue Marlin Grill
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad We Finally Made It!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I went out with my parents for dinner and decided to try a new place for all of us. Although we had many friends tell us we should try the Blue Marlin, for whatever reason, we just never had. For a Monday night and quite stormy too, it was pretty busy. (Always a good sign!)
Our waitress was great, very attentive and friendly, while never rushing us at all. Three of us ordered salads with various seafood's (Blackened Salmon, Cocktail Shrimp and Buffalo Shrimp).
All the salads were huge and definitely used high quality local ingredients. Very fresh and tasty!
My father ordered onion soup and steak tips. Again they were great and a very large portion. He will be having a sandwich for lunch today - for sure! Cocktails were made perfectly and very reasonably priced! We will absolutely add the Blue Marlin to our list of favorites, just sorry it took us so long to find out what we've been missing! See you soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our family (me, husband, and 2 teens) stopped here for dinner on a Thursday night and it was great! Great food and good prices. If we are ever on Cape Ann again we will go back here for sure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duxbridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a wonderful lunch there yesterday. The clam chowder is great. We both had haddock, one broiled, one baked. They were both extremely good. Wait staff was very attentive. Will go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retaxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped into this restaurant on our travels through Mass. What a find!! Excellent in all categories. Best lobster roll I have EVER had. Quality & quantity of food was superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Every meal I have had here is great!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My 13 yr old daughter and I eat at the Blue Marlin Grill frequently for lunch. We have never had a bad meal. We have never had bad service. The restaurant has had a facelift last year and looks great inside with a funky blue ceiling and hand painted art on the walls. Anything fried here is to die for ...the onion rings are awesome! I had a vegetable stir fry last time and the waitress suggested I try the scampi sauce with it and it was the best meal I have had to date. We love the Blue Marlin. Great food and a decent price. Lunch until 4pm :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Grill also viewed

 
Essex, Cape Ann
 

Been to Blue Marlin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing