We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop after a wonderful walk at Cox Reservations”

Windward Grille Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Antique New England farmhouse with 1800's barn attached. Fireplaces lit during the winter months. Large rustic bar with high-top seating around bar area. Booth and table seating available in several dining rooms. Special value priced specials available Monday thru Thursday. Large parking area with easy wheelchair accessibility.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

Although the service was slightly slow we were understanding as it was very busy on a weekday for lunch. The chicken pot pie was superb, and the haddock was fresh and delicious. All meals were served very hot, and the sides were as good as the entrée. It is a wonderful atmosphere, and a great menu.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank LMAZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2019

Three of us dined on a Saturday evening and were seated at a high top table in the bar. (I am not a fan of the high top table but, no biggie). Our server was very polite and knowledgeable. Two of us had the seared scallop appetizer served with a lobster cream sauce. It was delicious. French Onion soup was salty but I guess it is supposed to be, anyway, I was impressed that it was topped with Gruyere. The third person ordered swordfish with mashed potatoes and vegetable which was a generous size piece of fish and generous sides also. She loved it. It is a bustling restaurant that also manages to be relaxing. Nice!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doubleparked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

I requested reservations (good idea) granted immediately three days before our Saturday visit. We were seated immediately in a keen dining room (note, when full is a little loud but is pleasant noise).
Server Michelle appeared promptly with menus and orders taken.The servers are all hard working, diligent, and cheerful, added knowledgeable. Michelle leads the cadre.
Appetizers of bacon wrapped scallops, Shrimp Lemoncello, and stuffed mushrooms all received strong ratings. The kitchen appears proficient.
Mains of Haddock Windward, Haddock Lemon/Basil and a venerable Rack of Lamb were all outstanding. This writer has never had lamb presented so well; quantity, quality, appropriately roasted and served with an amazing risotto and spinach. The kitchen is definitely a highly proficient group.
Thank you Michelle.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zeno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

My family celebrated my 70th birthday at Windward Grill on a snowy Saturday! We had the upstairs to ourselves! My two grandchildren and two great nieces had a ball! The waitress gave them crayons and coloring books and the kids loved it! They ate from the children’s menu! The waitress was so patient with the kids! The food was delicious as always!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

Excellent place for lunch. The crab cakes and fried oysters were perfect. Very cozy environment on a wintry day.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Curiosity695272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windward Grille Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Essex, Cape Ann
 

Been to Windward Grille Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing