We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the hyped one”
Review of J.T. Farnham's

J.T. Farnham's
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Skip the hyped one”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Old school service, sweet, fresh, and succulent fried clams. Old school service. They were featured on diners, drive-ins and dives a few years back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    78
    45
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
624 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Joint”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I asked a some people where I could get some really good chowder, and this place was suggested. I gave it a shot. I had the best New England Clam Chowder I have ever had, and this area is seafood heaven. I had a small box of fried clams, (not too small) also very good, but the chowder was not to be outdone ever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stopped at Farnham's to answer a craving for fried clams. The clams were expensive because of problems with the flats but there were worth every penny. They were fresh, nicely battered, and cooked perfectly. We added freshly made onion rings and were thrilled with the meal.
We had our dogs with us so we also needed a place to sit outside and eat. There are picnic tables outside so we could enjoy the meal with the dogs sitting with us. Great food in a great setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Famous Fish Place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a great place to eat...we stopped here years ago and have gone back several times since. The fish is always fresh and delicious..the fries are very good and the service is pretty fast, considering the fact that they have so many people piling in there. They do a large local business which always tells us that the food is good and the prices right, always an easy way for out-of -towners to find the best food while travelling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raindancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Parking is very limited. Don't open your drivers side door without being extra careful if you must park on the side of the road going East. During the vacation season everyone passing through this most dangerous spot is looking everywhere but on the road. Lines are long at times but it's worth the wait, most of the time. I found that if the place is very busy you may get your clams fried to a crisp like potato chips. In the past this has happened to me. I returned them and they were replaced but everyone with we had eaten and left me to fend for myself lol. Don't fret, I got even at our next stop to eat. Enjoy, be careful and have a safe trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank critic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.T. Farnham's also viewed

 
Essex, Cape Ann
 

Been to J.T. Farnham's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing