We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
take the tour

I really enjoyed the guided tour given by Justin Demetri. He grew up in and still lives in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
HillsdaleSteve
,
Atlanta GA
Loved it

This was part of our Road Scholar tour of the area. It really is a great place. The curator of... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2019
likebeach
,
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Read all 39 reviews
  
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
30
6
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
6
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ship building guided tour wealth of knowledge well worth the visit shipbuilding industry two hours new england shipyard ships history fishing information era phases revolution cape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

This was part of our Road Scholar tour of the area. It really is a great place. The curator of the outdoor museum gave us a guided tour of the old wooden ship that is there, lots of old shipbuilding implements with a show and tell about them. Film was not very interesting. When we walked to see the small museum it was in a deconsecrated church and there was a small graveyard. We also got a talk about the graveyard and gravestones that was very interesting.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Loved the Museum. The gentleman gave the best presentation.It was about two hours. What a history of Essex and the surrounding area of ships and the ports .

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Small museum packed with lots of information about the history of the area and shipbuilding. We had an excellent docent tour who really knew so much. We walked through a shipyard which had a number of vintage ships, and also up to an old school house that had more antique objects. It is nice they also have a ship building program for local school kids to try to continue some hands on experience in ship building, making large row boats the get to use. My husband, an engineer and pilot was really engrossed in many of the building processes and materials. I would highly recommend paying a few extra $ for the tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Classydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Odds are that even if you think you're not into shipbuilding and seagoing, you'll be very glad you visited this museum. You can learn about the fishing industry that was (and is) so crucial to the colonies and then the United States, looking at photos and models and asking questions of the very knowledgeable and friendly staff. I thought I knew a lot of early American history but there were things in the museum about which I knew nothing. This should definitely be on your itinerary if you're in Cape Ann.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank nancyaspel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We absolutely loved this small museum and the shipyard behind it. The volunteer who led our tour was very passionate and knowledgeable and contributed greatly to our understanding of New England wooden shipbuilding and the fishing and whaling industries it supported. The main museum building includes a very informative video. Behind it is a collection of working buildings that show the phases of the wooden shipbuilding process. There were actually several boats under construction or restoration while we were there and we enjoyed seeing the work up close. This is a great educational and historical site that deserves support, which is easy to do by buying an item or two in the small gift shop attached to the museum.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank RCSColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews