We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best restaurant in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucina Casareccia

Cucina Casareccia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Seriously, this place is so delightful, it really is the best restaurant I've ever been to. Pleasant, relaxed, lovely, excellent food. The set menu means there's no haggling over orders and no opportunity cost, just delicious food, beautiful scenery and welcoming friendly waitstaff. It's like having lunch at a friend's house, but with no pressure, great food and a warm atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian Family Food in Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you want to experience authentic Italian family cooking and I mean 'family'..... Then this is a winner! The best 'slow food afternoon' we have had in years! The whole family are there to cook a 4 course taste of Sicily and there is no rush! What a delight! Who needs to travel when we have this in Western Sydney! Thank you Lucia, Maria, Paul and helpers! http://www.cucinacasareccia.com.au/#

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Simply The Best …”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A family-run restaurant that’s gone from zero to number one on Trip Advisor in just 14 months. They’re obviously doing something right and put many long term Penrith restaurants to shame.

Don’t go expecting velvet drapes and luxurious surroundings, etc. Your meal will be served on their back verandah overlooking the paddocks ... very relaxing … and very rural.

We went on the night they had their first ever rain (since opening). It absolutely bucketed down, but they were quick to adapt by shifting tables, moving one large group inside, and lighting their outdoor heater to allow one of our group (who arrived wet) to dry out.

The key to their success is their simplicity, their warm personal service, and their desire to serve fantastic food “just like their Italian Mum used to make”.

Not too many people realise their dream … they’re living it … I suggest you share it with them before they become so popular you can’t get in.

“We Shall Return”

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a culinary gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our delightful neighbours took us for lunch today. Our first visit. It certainly will not be our last. What an exceptional dining experience. Cucina Casareccia...regional cooking indeed. Elio, Lucia, Maria, Paul are a wonderful team. Apart from the delicious food, it was a joy to observe them. Paul at the woodfired oven ..Elio waiting tables so seamlessly...Lucia and Maria and the love that so obviously goes into the food..all night I could happily write about this delightful place..Highly recommended. Antipasti generous, varied, and scrumptious. Next came homemade green fettuccine with mushrooms. I should add that nothing is rushed. It has such a welcoming ambiance...along came lamb cooked Abruzzese style, carrots, and spinach...ah, dessert...a blood-orange marmalade tart and cream...all of this plus surroundings of rolling hills...truly, I cannot praise this delightful spot enough...it was a nourishing experience...far more than simply dining at a table...this had levels that elevated it to joyous other...we four had a wonderful time...hours...I can imagine it would be also delightful at night...as distant lights appear on the horizon...we will return...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madameshawshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The only possible drawback of this restaurant is that now other people are starting to realise how great it is, you need to make reservations a couple of weeks in advance! Really wonderful food and atmosphere and service.

Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Casareccia also viewed

Penrith, Greater Sydney
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Cucina Casareccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing